WASD?

Here you may talk about Warzone's Gameplay, Strategy & Tactics
Post Reply
Morbotron
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 04:06

WASD?

Post by Morbotron »

Hey all, new here.
Wondering if WASD is a thing to pan the camera. Searched some posts and basically found some that wanted it but it looks like the conclusion is that it is hard coded and it's not able to be changed, is that still the case?

Thanks!
Forgon
Code contributor
Code contributor
Posts: 298
Joined: 07 Dec 2016, 22:23

Re: WASD?

Post by Forgon »

Morbotron wrote: 23 Mar 2019, 04:19 Hey all, new here.
Wondering if WASD is a thing to pan the camera. Searched some posts and basically found some that wanted it but it looks like the conclusion is that it is hard coded and it's not able to be changed, is that still the case?

Thanks!
Yes, currently this is hard-coded.
However, I do have an untested patch that changes this.
If I finish it, your feature request could be implemented.
Morbotron
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 04:06

Re: WASD?

Post by Morbotron »

Sweet. in the mean time i use hotkeynet to change keys for certain games. The code is below if anyone would like.

<Label me Local SendWin "Warzone 2100">

<MovementHotkey W>
<SendLabel me>
<Key Up>

<MovementHotkey A>
<SendLabel me>
<Key Left>

<MovementHotkey S>
<SendLabel me>
<Key Down>

<MovementHotkey D>
<SendLabel me>
<Key Right>
User avatar
WZ2100ModsFAn
Trained
Trained
Posts: 371
Joined: 15 Apr 2018, 17:25
Location: United States.

Re: WASD?

Post by WZ2100ModsFAn »

Forgon wrote: 23 Mar 2019, 20:49
Morbotron wrote: 23 Mar 2019, 04:19 Hey all, new here.
Wondering if WASD is a thing to pan the camera. Searched some posts and basically found some that wanted it but it looks like the conclusion is that it is hard coded and it's not able to be changed, is that still the case?

Thanks!
Yes, currently this is hard-coded.
However, I do have an untested patch that changes this.
If I finish it, your feature request could be implemented.
I think Morbotron is talking about wasd as in drive mode.
Drive mode is usually accessed by shift + d once in debug mode.
It's also unstable it moves the camera far away while it also moves the unit.
Forgon
Code contributor
Code contributor
Posts: 298
Joined: 07 Dec 2016, 22:23

Re: WASD?

Post by Forgon »

Morbotron wrote: 23 Mar 2019, 22:21 Sweet. in the mean time i use hotkeynet to change keys for certain games. The code is below if anyone would like.

<Label me Local SendWin "Warzone 2100">

<MovementHotkey W>
<SendLabel me>
<Key Up>

<MovementHotkey A>
<SendLabel me>
<Key Left>

<MovementHotkey S>
<SendLabel me>
<Key Down>

<MovementHotkey D>
<SendLabel me>
<Key Right>
Nice.

I also recommend to disable the camera's acceleration to increase its accuracy.
To do so, set "cameraAccel" to "false" in your config file.
This is a new feature available in version 3.3.0 Beta 1.
Morbotron
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 23 Mar 2019, 04:06

Re: WASD?

Post by Morbotron »

I'm not sure what drive mode is (haven't played WZ since probably 2004) but moving units with the same keystroke as moving the camera sounds disastrous haha.
Thanks for the tip about the camera acceleration.

Not sure if anyone actually uses HKN but I've used it for about 5 years from playing on multiple EverQuest emulated servers and it's pretty nifty. The last code I posted I realized is meh because it will force focus on WZ whenever you press any WASD making it super annoying for tabbing out and doing any kind of typing. This code will not do that.

Code: Select all

<Hotkey W>
<SendPC Local>
<If ActiveWinIs "Warzone 2100">
	<SendFocusWin>
	<KeyDown Up>
<Else>
	<SendFocusWin>
	<Key W>

<HotkeyUp W>
<SendPC Local>
<If ActiveWinIs "Warzone 2100">
	<SendFocusWin>
	<KeyUp Up>

<Hotkey A>
<SendPC Local>
<If ActiveWinIs "Warzone 2100">
	<SendFocusWin>
	<KeyDown Left>
<Else>
	<SendFocusWin>
	<Key A>

<HotkeyUp A>
<SendPC Local>
<If ActiveWinIs "Warzone 2100">
	<SendFocusWin>
	<KeyUp Left>

<Hotkey S>
<SendPC Local>
<If ActiveWinIs "Warzone 2100">
	<SendFocusWin>
	<KeyDown Down>
<Else>
	<SendFocusWin>
	<Key S>

<HotkeyUp S>
<SendPC Local>
<If ActiveWinIs "Warzone 2100">
	<SendFocusWin>
	<KeyUp Down>

<Hotkey D>
<SendPC Local>
<If ActiveWinIs "Warzone 2100">
	<SendFocusWin>
	<KeyDown Right>
<Else>
	<SendFocusWin>
	<Key D>

<HotkeyUp D>
<SendPC Local>
<If ActiveWinIs "Warzone 2100">
	<SendFocusWin>
	<KeyUp Right>
On an unrelated note - I haven't been able to apply cheats. I do the "left shift" + "Backspace" but that turns on the debugger - so I reset my key bindings (which I hadn't changed anyways) and it still does the same thing. I entered "time toggle" just to see what would happen and it doesn't get rid of the clock. Also for some reason when I beat the mission it told me I cheated haha.
Forgon
Code contributor
Code contributor
Posts: 298
Joined: 07 Dec 2016, 22:23

Re: WASD?

Post by Forgon »

Morbotron wrote: 24 Mar 2019, 18:50 [...]
On an unrelated note - I haven't been able to apply cheats. I do the "left shift" + "Backspace" but that turns on the debugger - so I reset my key bindings (which I hadn't changed anyways) and it still does the same thing. I entered "time toggle" just to see what would happen and it doesn't get rid of the clock. Also for some reason when I beat the mission it told me I cheated haha.
To enable cheats, type either "debug" or "cheat on".
Night_0wl
Greenhorn
Posts: 13
Joined: 12 Jan 2011, 03:57

Re: WASD?

Post by Night_0wl »

Forgon wrote: 23 Mar 2019, 20:49
Morbotron wrote: 23 Mar 2019, 04:19 Hey all, new here.
Wondering if WASD is a thing to pan the camera. Searched some posts and basically found some that wanted it but it looks like the conclusion is that it is hard coded and it's not able to be changed, is that still the case?

Thanks!
Yes, currently this is hard-coded.
However, I do have an untested patch that changes this.
If I finish it, your feature request could be implemented.
Would be very excited to see if you had success with that patch?!
aliswe
Trained
Trained
Posts: 63
Joined: 01 Apr 2020, 22:11

Re: WASD?

Post by aliswe »

The keymapping for camera scrolling is merged to master, so I think it's bound to be released in 3.3.1
theinfouser135
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 May 2020, 02:21

Re: WASD?

Post by theinfouser135 »

I would like to see this too, various other games use the WASD keys too.
Post Reply