New Terrain

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.
Post Reply
User avatar
Buginator
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3285
Joined: 04 Nov 2007, 02:20

Re: New Terrain

Post by Buginator » 14 Dec 2008, 01:33

Zi-Chan wrote: Something about the Textures of the Water: I agree with blue Water because of our Atmosphere. But keep in mind, that Water doesn't shine blue, if not enough Sun comes from the Sky. Because of Fog, because of Pollution in the Atmosphere, because of Thunderclouds and so on. The Water should reflect the current Image of the Skybox, which changes with the Tileset. Recommended is a new moving Texture over the Battlefield, instead of only a sidewise one.
:stare:
wz2100_shot_001.jpg
hehe
;)
and it ends here.

User avatar
Zi-Chan
Trained
Trained
Posts: 180
Joined: 12 Aug 2008, 01:06

Re: New Terrain

Post by Zi-Chan » 14 Dec 2008, 04:09

Buginator wrote:hehe
;)
Don't bug me, Buginator :P
:ninja:

ratarf
Trained
Trained
Posts: 154
Joined: 29 Nov 2006, 09:45

Re: New Terrain

Post by ratarf » 09 Jan 2009, 10:25

This looks great, I'm really surprised... I hope this gets in the trunk soon! :D

elio
Regular
Regular
Posts: 508
Joined: 09 Jun 2007, 22:11

Re: New Terrain

Post by elio » 09 Jan 2009, 20:09

yes, after 2.2 is branched (copied over to a 'seperate' directory in order to kill out all bugs without losing the ability to add new features to trunk)

User avatar
mcdebugger
Trained
Trained
Posts: 65
Joined: 02 Feb 2007, 20:54
Location: Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: New Terrain

Post by mcdebugger » 25 Jan 2009, 23:58

Awesome!
My friend sometimes annoing me saying that Warzone's graphics (and gfx engine) is so old and looks bad. I think when this work will be included in the trunk he'll change his opinion.
Thank you, gerard_ !

User avatar
craigengbrecht
Trained
Trained
Posts: 51
Joined: 21 Jul 2008, 03:49
Location: Red Deer, AB
Contact:

Re: New Terrain

Post by craigengbrecht » 31 Jan 2009, 00:24

Hey, I was just playing with the *Extreme Alpha* build and I was wondering if you guys wanted testers?
hehehe, also it doesn't like playing at 1650x1080 with 4x AA and 16x AntiSub... But it runs about 25-30 FPS no matter what. So I don't know if it was that or the other...
Its awesome, I like the new textures, and the setup, there seems to be a glitch in how it try's to download the music in the installer, but I ignored that since I already had the other normal build installed.

Either way, If you want a beta tester, I am here, I just don.t know what to do, hints or requests would be great.
I am good at posting, I just need to know what you want.
AMD FX X8 3.88Ghz
16GB KVM 1333Mhz
ASUS M5A97
ASUS EAH 6850 1GB
3x ASUS 1920x1080 VW246H
1x 5000GB Primary
1x 1TB Internal
1x 3TB Internal

kdalts
Greenhorn
Posts: 11
Joined: 22 Jan 2009, 21:53

Re: New Terrain

Post by kdalts » 03 Feb 2009, 13:11

So how do you implement the new graphics? I downloaded the newtextures.patch file but it's not executable?

Also, what is 'extreme alpha? Where can I get it?

So many things I dont understand O_o

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: New Terrain

Post by Zarel » 03 Feb 2009, 20:21

craigengbrecht wrote:Hey, I was just playing with the *Extreme Alpha* build and I was wondering if you guys wanted testers?
hehehe, also it doesn't like playing at 1650x1080 with 4x AA and 16x AntiSub... But it runs about 25-30 FPS no matter what. So I don't know if it was that or the other...
Its awesome, I like the new textures, and the setup, there seems to be a glitch in how it try's to download the music in the installer, but I ignored that since I already had the other normal build installed.

Either way, If you want a beta tester, I am here, I just don.t know what to do, hints or requests would be great.
I am good at posting, I just need to know what you want.
Testing is pretty straightforward - you try to make it crash, then you tell us how you made it crash.

Or you just try to make things that shouldn't happen, happen, then you tell us what you did to make them happen.
kdalts wrote:So how do you implement the new graphics? I downloaded the newtextures.patch file but it's not executable?

Also, what is 'extreme alpha? Where can I get it?

So many things I dont understand O_o
Patches are applied to source code - you'll need to compile it. The newtextures.patch is pretty unnecessary, since there's already a terrain branch ready-to-compile. You have to compile it yourself (or get someone nice to compile it for you). See http://developer.wz2100.net/wiki/Window ... de_(MinGW)

"Extreme alpha" just means it's very alpha, which means it's very unstable (and likely to crash).

Makary
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Feb 2009, 15:33
Location: Poland

Re: New Terrain

Post by Makary » 06 Feb 2009, 14:18

Hey it look impressive, try it with Black Project's new gfx and sfx mod. When we will see this in a release?

AdemoS
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Feb 2009, 12:00

Re: New Terrain

Post by AdemoS » 08 Feb 2009, 12:01

Amazing improvement from the previous textures guys, and the water development is equally impressive.

Keep up the awesome work!

User avatar
jaakan
Trained
Trained
Posts: 75
Joined: 15 Jun 2008, 01:51

Re: New Terrain

Post by jaakan » 23 Feb 2009, 04:55

it looks awesome, Glad to see it's in the trunk!
Attachments
wz2100_shot_010.jpg

User avatar
Zi-Chan
Trained
Trained
Posts: 180
Joined: 12 Aug 2008, 01:06

Re: New Terrain

Post by Zi-Chan » 24 Feb 2009, 03:20

O_o Ohhh! I just noticed. But how to play with those new Tiles? Neither the Campaign, nor any Standard-Map works. What to do to get it working? Or do only own Maps work? The Map "greatmap" (If its the one i think) doesn't load too.
:ninja:

User avatar
jaakan
Trained
Trained
Posts: 75
Joined: 15 Jun 2008, 01:51

Re: New Terrain

Post by jaakan » 24 Feb 2009, 06:28

I didn't do anything odd. I do uninstall/clean, svn update ( pull the newest trunk ), compile daily and just run the game.

Code: Select all

jaakan@MYTHTV64:~$ sudo -i 
[sudo] password for jaakan: 
root@MYTHTV64:~# cd warzone/
root@MYTHTV64:~/warzone#  make uninstall && make clean && svn update && ./autogen.sh && ./configure && make && make install

Code: Select all

warzone2100 --sound --debug=all --debugfile=/tmp/wz2100.txt
Mythbutnu 8.10 x64, Q6600, NV8400, 2Gb ram

EvilGuru
Regular
Regular
Posts: 615
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 22:41

Re: New Terrain

Post by EvilGuru » 24 Feb 2009, 13:11

Zi-Chan wrote:O_o Ohhh! I just noticed. But how to play with those new Tiles? Neither the Campaign, nor any Standard-Map works. What to do to get it working? Or do only own Maps work? The Map "greatmap" (If its the one i think) doesn't load too.
Be warned: you will need some half decent hardware in order to play with the new tiles. Integrated chipsets/old ATI/nVidia cards will just not cut it anymore.

Regards, Freddie.

Omikronman
Trained
Trained
Posts: 59
Joined: 06 Aug 2008, 04:19

Re: New Terrain

Post by Omikronman » 09 Mar 2009, 14:01

The new terrain looks really impressive! It doesn´t seem to stress the graphics hardware too much: It works with Intels integrated graphics chipset GMA 950 as well. Here you can watch a preview of the new terrain: click here. Press the HD button for a high quality preview.

Post Reply