path finder + strange propulsions

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.
izno
New user

path finder + strange propulsions

Post by izno »

Hello!

I just discover your project team. It's long time I know WZ2100 and I'm studying developper, so I couldn't resist to check-out on yhe SVN. Different points took my attention:

-The path finder part of code (wich contain an a* implementation) can probably be improved for performance. One of those modifications could be saving a pre-full array for each kind of propulsion wich contain places where a kind of propulsion given can never know (like mountains for wheel) for the current map. Better: modifying this if a pre-war element is destructing. This look better than test those places each time. [fpath.c => BOOL fpathBlockingTile(SDWORD x, SDWORD y, PROPULSION_TYPE propulsion) ]. What do you think about that?

-Lot of propulsions wich don't appear in game are in code (like ski!): did you add it (and mean you will add this) or it was already written in pumpkin studio (and not used)? Important point is propellor wich is not in game is in pathfinder (increase number of tests to know if unit can go in a place or not).

I'm really happy to see people working hard on their free time to improve the game, and would like maybe help for development (actually, the facts different technologies are used here look also very interesting). Congratulation for your work!

Julien

PS: English is not my mother tongue, sorry if some sentences are not good ;)
Buginator
Professional
Professional

Re: path finder + strange propulsions

Post by Buginator »

Hi, we would be glad to have any help you can offer! :)

Currently, as you have noticed, the path finding code isn't doing a very good job at what it should be doing.
It has issues, and is in need of fixing.

That said, improvements have been made (mostly in svn trunk), so you may want to check that out also.
http://svn.gna.org/viewcvs/warzone/trunk/