Suggestion: Platform independent SDL

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.
Bethrezen
Regular
Regular

Suggestion: Platform independent SDL

Post by Bethrezen »

hi all

So I came across Syndicate Wars Port which as I understand it uses a platform independent code to allow Syndicate to run on modern computers, and it works grate and that got me to thinking has anyone ever considered building warzone using a platform independent code ?

The reason I ask is because this would allow a single build of warzone to run on pretty much any system and might actually make maintenance a bit easier since you would only have to maintain a single build and in theory it should also allow warzone to run on older operating systems like XP without having to do a whole bunch of extra work

Now I'll grant you I'm not a programmer so I don’t know how much work would be involved in this assuming its even possible at all but I figure I'd make the suggestion in case it's something that no one ever considered before.

if you are interested you can find it here https://www.libsdl.org/index.php and here is a bit more info about it https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simple_DirectMedia_Layer

oh also in case any of you RTS fans are interested I also came across M.A.X. Port which also seems to be using the same platform independent SDL to allow M.A.X. to run on modern computers work still seems to be at an early stage so there are no binaries available just yet but it will be nice to finally be able to play a game of M.A.X. without the game constantly crashing and generally malfunctioning because even if you swap out the 1.97 dos extender that comes with M.A.X. which was very buggy and responsible for a lot of the problems with M.A.X. there are several bugs that where never fixed even in version 1.04
pastdue
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member

Re: Suggestion: Platform independent SDL

Post by pastdue »

Hi Bethrezen!