How to repair A broken mod.

Get some help with creating maps or modding.
Need a map editor or other tools, look here!
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

i have decided to attempt a repair on scavenger mod. the problem is my skills in coding are shall we say "sketchy at very best" so any and all advice is very much appreciated. the necessary data follows

Code: Select all

(1) STDERR:
info |12:43:36: [SDL_main] mod_mp (Scavenger_Mod_V1.1_Alpha.wz) is enabled
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:43:54: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |12:45:10: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'

(2) STDERR: info |10:38:07: [SDL_main] mod_mp (Scavenger_Mod_V1.1_Alpha.wz) is enabled
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:17: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
error |10:38:28: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
error |10:39:10: [iV_GetCharWidth] Couldn't retrieve a bounding box for the character code 4294967235
error |10:39:10: [iV_GetCharWidth] Couldn't retrieve a bounding box for the character code 4294967209
error |10:40:53: [iV_GetCharWidth] Couldn't retrieve a bounding box for the character code 4294967235
error |10:40:53: [iV_GetCharWidth] Couldn't retrieve a bounding box for the character code 4294967209
Last edited by Kamaze on 26 Dec 2009, 19:38, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tags for better readability.
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

my first a probably most important query... where the heck do i begin? O_o
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
User avatar
Mysteryem
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 728
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 19:44
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by Mysteryem »

By the looks of things in the first stderr.txt it's a problem with one of the .pie files used in the mod, I'm going to guess it's to do with the texturing.

I think the second one is related to the language you are using, if the translation for a unit/structure is too long then it crashes, I think the max size was increased however, so I'm not too sure what this one is about.

I know these simply through making mods myself and learning more about how the game works (not at a code level though) from other peoples' bug reports and their fixes.

I will also sometimes compare files that work and go through the other files until I find a big difference in a similar file. I'll then seperate that file from the rest and test to see if that file is the problem, if it is then I'll go about fixing it using my knowledge and the information from a working file. If I can get that file working I'll put it back into the mod, if the mod still crashes with the same error then I'll conitue the process of finding and fixing the files.

In the end, if I have no idea, I'll ask around like you've done and then see if anyone else knows what's going wrong.
"...If pure awesomeness were bricks, this would be the Great Wall of China...
The glory of this has collapsed on its self so far, that even the neutrons have collapsed."
KukY
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1859
Joined: 20 Mar 2009, 21:56

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by KukY »

When my mod for previous version won't work for new version, I just make it again from new versions files.
So, you can try taking mp.wz from new version, and making mod again.
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

13KukYNexus666 wrote:When my mod for previous version won't work for new version, I just make it again from new versions files.
So, you can try taking mp.wz from new version, and making mod again.
this was a problem pretty much always whenever units attacked a building the entire game would close. this could be a .pie problem or possibly and ai problem maybe it only occurs upon a units destruction... further analysis is in order shouldn't tak too long to analyse ill try looking in warzone.rpt instead of STDERR this time around.
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

Code: Select all

Error occured on Friday, December 11, 2009 at 17:31:48.

Program: C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe(warzone2100)
Command line: "C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe" "--mod_mp" "Scavenger_Mod_V1.1_Alpha.wz" 
Version: Version 2.2.3
Distributor: wz2100.net
Compiled on: Sep 13 2009 16:46:35
Compiled by: GCC 4.2.1-sjlj (mingw32-2)
Executed on: Fri Dec 11 17:29:18 2009

Pointers: 32bit

Compiled against PhysicsFS version: 1.0.1
Running with PhysicsFS version: 1.0.1

Misc Data:
[05:29:20]OpenGL Vendor : Intel
[05:29:20]OpenGL Renderer : Intel 965/963 Graphics Media Accelerator
[05:29:20]OpenGL Version : 1.5.0 - Build 7.14.10.1437
[05:29:21]ALC_FREQUENCY = 44100
[05:29:21]ALC_REFRESH = 40
[05:29:21]ALC_SYNC = 0
[05:29:21]ALC_MONO_SOURCES = 255
[05:29:21]ALC_STEREO_SOURCES = 1
[05:29:21]OpenAL Vendor: Creative Labs Inc.
[05:29:21]OpenAL Version: 1.1
[05:29:21]OpenAL Renderer: Software
[05:29:21]Using language: System locale
[05:29:40]Current Level/map is Sk-Rush
[05:30:22]User has used cheat code: research all


C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe caused an Access Violation at location 004b8e4d in module C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe Reading from location 00000010.

Log message: info    |05:29:20: [SDL_main] mod_mp (Scavenger_Mod_V1.1_Alpha.wz) is enabled
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] _imd_load_polys: texture height = 0
Log message: error   |05:29:39: [_imd_load_polys] Assert in Warzone: imdload.c:168 (tHeight > 0), last script event: '<none>'

Registers:
eax=0000000f ebx=0575a500 ecx=00000000 edx=00000000 esi=0000001f edi=0575a500
eip=004b8e4d esp=0022f940 ebp=0022f968 iopl=0         nv up ei ng nz ac po cy
cs=001b  ss=0023  ds=0023  es=0023  fs=003b  gs=0000             efl=00210297

Call stack:
004B8E4D  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:004B8E4D  establishTargetHeight  /home/admins/wz2.2/2.2.3/src/projectile.c:2085
004BB61C  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:004BB61C  proj_InFlightDirectFunc  /home/admins/wz2.2/2.2.3/src/projectile.c:772
004B925E  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:004B925E  proj_Update  /home/admins/wz2.2/2.2.3/src/projectile.c:1522
0047FEFD  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:0047FEFD  gameLoop  /home/admins/wz2.2/2.2.3/src/loop.c:440
0048207C  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:0048207C  runGameLoop  /home/admins/wz2.2/2.2.3/src/main.c:649
00580F0A  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:00580F0A
005810F2  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:005810F2
00580BA9  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:00580BA9
004010A7  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:004010A7  __mingw_CRTStartup  /home/ron/devel/debian/mingw32-runtime/mingw32-runtime-3.13/build_dir/src/mingw-runtime-3.13-20070825-1/crt1.c:237
00401123  C:\Users\samuel\Desktop\Warzone 2100\warzone2100.exe:00401123
entire problem there now to analyse this...

(N.B. "research all" i used to test the tech tree which is all good and well)
Last edited by Kamaze on 26 Dec 2009, 19:39, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Added code tags for better readability.
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
User avatar
Mysteryem
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 728
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 19:44
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by Mysteryem »

new paradigm leader wrote:
13KukYNexus666 wrote:When my mod for previous version won't work for new version, I just make it again from new versions files.
So, you can try taking mp.wz from new version, and making mod again.
this was a problem pretty much always whenever units attacked a building the entire game would close. this could be a .pie problem or possibly and ai problem maybe it only occurs upon a units destruction... further analysis is in order shouldn't tak too long to analyse ill try looking in warzone.rpt instead of STDERR this time around.
So are you saying it is when any unit attacks specifically a building? And when does it crash? When the weapon is fired? Or when the projectile hits the structure? I can remember having a problem similar to this in one of my mods, I have no idea how I fixed it though.

But by finding out what things do work, you can eliminate a large number of possibilties.

Edit:Another way of testing is to try and create an entirely new mod which gives the same error, that way you will know exactly what you've done. A combination of all of these will probably be the best.
Last edited by Mysteryem on 11 Dec 2009, 19:38, edited 1 time in total.
"...If pure awesomeness were bricks, this would be the Great Wall of China...
The glory of this has collapsed on its self so far, that even the neutrons have collapsed."
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

when any unit engages in combat and is destroyed and you are viewing the combat from what i can gather
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

its somewhat hard to tell as when you break it down so far you realise there are so many possible contributing factors and variables that it becomes a tad difficult to see through the sheer mass of details.
(i.e. god is in the details, the devil too is in the details)
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

just realised how to test that theory thank god for the "kill" cheat

when a projectile hits a target thats what it has to be.

not that, its to do with construction units

seems when a projectile hits a construction unit it causes a crash... this is on 2.2.3 btw ill see about updating once it is fixed thanks guys :)
Last edited by Zarel on 11 Dec 2009, 21:54, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: merged posts
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
User avatar
Mysteryem
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 728
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 19:44
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by Mysteryem »

new paradigm leader wrote:when any unit engages in combat and is destroyed and you are viewing the combat from what i can gather
Therefore, I'm going to guess that it is to do with one of the PIE files used when units are destroyed. Try looking for these .pie files in the mod:
effects\midebr1.pie
effects\midebr2.pie
effects\midebr3.pie
effects\midebr4.pie
effects\midebr5.pie

But you said about construction droids, is it only when you destroy them specifically?
"...If pure awesomeness were bricks, this would be the Great Wall of China...
The glory of this has collapsed on its self so far, that even the neutrons have collapsed."
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

when they specifically are attacked i destroyed many types of thing through "kill" but when an enemy fired on my initial design trucks blam! crash.
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by Zarel »

Arrgh! There's an "Edit post" button! You can use it when your post is the last post in the thread! Please don't double post!
User avatar
Mysteryem
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 728
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 19:44
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by Mysteryem »

new paradigm leader wrote:when they specifically are attacked i destroyed many types of thing through "kill" but when an enemy fired on my initial design trucks blam! crash.
So just the original design trucks? Or the new ones which you design aswell? Try and find out which things can be changed from the original design so you can work out whether it's the truck' turret, it's propulsion or its body. A link to the mod might also be useful.
"...If pure awesomeness were bricks, this would be the Great Wall of China...
The glory of this has collapsed on its self so far, that even the neutrons have collapsed."
User avatar
new paradigm leader
Trained
Trained
Posts: 232
Joined: 23 Aug 2008, 11:21
Location: Who really knows? I don't.

Re: How to repair A broken mod.

Post by new paradigm leader »

its here:viewtopic.php?f=10&t=3591 :) testing now
Return to your designated zone or be destroyed. You are in contravention of the new paradigm.
Post Reply