Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Did you create a mod, map, music, or a tool? Present them here and earn feedback!
Note: addon requests do not belong here.
Note, everything uploaded to this forum, MUST have a license!
User avatar
Shadow Wolf TJC
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1047
Joined: 16 Apr 2011, 05:12
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by Shadow Wolf TJC » 12 Apr 2013, 02:25

What if said units had low HP? Wouldn't that favor high damage-per-shot weapons?
Creator of Warzone 2100: Contingency!
Founder of Wikizone 2100: http://wikizone2100.wikia.com/wiki/Wikizone_2100

User avatar
NoQ
Special
Special
Posts: 6226
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by NoQ » 12 Apr 2013, 18:05

Only if hp is so low that overkill starts to matter (you probably meant low damage).

User avatar
Shadow Wolf TJC
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1047
Joined: 16 Apr 2011, 05:12
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by Shadow Wolf TJC » 13 Apr 2013, 05:57

Individual units are more likely to die quickly if groups of units battled eachother, focusing fire on one unit at a time.
Creator of Warzone 2100: Contingency!
Founder of Wikizone 2100: http://wikizone2100.wikia.com/wiki/Wikizone_2100

mobius1qwe
Greenhorn
Posts: 15
Joined: 18 Jun 2012, 21:56

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by mobius1qwe » 24 Apr 2013, 20:52

I think there are too few Plasteel towers and Hardpoints. Last time I played, I finished game and started to research everything to see all the structs on end-game phase. I noticed that Plasteel has an awful low ammount of towers. I don't know if you'd agree with me but I think the Proto-Railgun should have a T4 upgrade, like Light Railgun, Medium Railgun and Heavy Railgun all the 3 needing a plasteel hardpoint to be built and replace the proto-railgun.

To make things more balanced, Light Railgun would have 50% the Proto-Railgun's damage and 25% more reload speed; Medium railgun 75% damage and 30% speed and Heavy Railgun 100% damage and 35% speed.

Proto-Railguns are too powerful to have its damage increased. Even having Ramjet Cannon doing more DPS than Proto-Railgun, when that monster fires, it insta-kill any structure, except the Large (3x3) ones.

User avatar
Shadow Wolf TJC
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1047
Joined: 16 Apr 2011, 05:12
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by Shadow Wolf TJC » 26 Apr 2013, 03:25

I'm planning on adding more Plasteel structures later on, so that players wouldn't have to get stuck with the same old Plascrete (and maybe Supercrete) structures.

Proto-Railguns were mainly designed for the role of taking out enemy bunkers and fortresses, so in addition to dealing 100% damage towards bunkers and fortresses (though they do 75% damage towards Tracks and Hardpoints), they were deliberately given very high damage-per-shot (enough to one-shot or two-shot most bunkers), but very low rate-of-fire, so that they would be ineffective against anything that they'd overkill many times over, such as Cyborgs, Light Tanks, and even Towers and Emplacements.
Creator of Warzone 2100: Contingency!
Founder of Wikizone 2100: http://wikizone2100.wikia.com/wiki/Wikizone_2100

User avatar
NoQ
Special
Special
Posts: 6226
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by NoQ » 27 Apr 2013, 07:45

Bad idea to port anything to 3.2 now, as ini file formats are not yet locked.
When they get locked, probably converter scripts will become available.

azzareeve
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Apr 2013, 10:02

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by azzareeve » 27 Apr 2013, 11:17

it doesn't work multiplayer, the just crashes

User avatar
NoQ
Special
Special
Posts: 6226
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by NoQ » 27 Apr 2013, 15:00

Works for me.
You're doing something wrong, provide a proper report please.

mobius1qwe
Greenhorn
Posts: 15
Joined: 18 Jun 2012, 21:56

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by mobius1qwe » 08 May 2013, 19:12

Speaking on Mplayer games I can't Host a match. It always returns me an error saying it cannot connect on lobby server. My router has the port 2100 open and my firewall has as well... Still don't know why this is happening. Any Ideas?

User avatar
NoQ
Special
Special
Posts: 6226
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by NoQ » 08 May 2013, 19:15

This clearly doesn't have anything to do with Contingency.

User avatar
Arreon
Trained
Trained
Posts: 324
Joined: 15 Feb 2009, 05:57
Contact:

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by Arreon » 09 May 2013, 14:59

How do you get the Tier-limiting mods to work? I've tried all kinds of methods but I cannot seem to get it to work. :stressed:
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (6 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM

User avatar
Shadow Wolf TJC
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1047
Joined: 16 Apr 2011, 05:12
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by Shadow Wolf TJC » 09 May 2013, 15:16

Have you tried putting one of them into the autoload folder alongside Contingency? (Note: putting both of them into the autoload folder is NOT recommended due to them overwriting eachother.)
Creator of Warzone 2100: Contingency!
Founder of Wikizone 2100: http://wikizone2100.wikia.com/wiki/Wikizone_2100

User avatar
Arreon
Trained
Trained
Posts: 324
Joined: 15 Feb 2009, 05:57
Contact:

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by Arreon » 09 May 2013, 15:49

Shadow Wolf TJC wrote:Have you tried putting one of them into the autoload folder alongside Contingency? (Note: putting both of them into the autoload folder is NOT recommended due to them overwriting eachother.)
I finally figured out how to get it to work.

I copypasted the text from the .js limiter files into the .inc limiter files.
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (6 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM

User avatar
NoQ
Special
Special
Posts: 6226
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by NoQ » 09 May 2013, 16:02

What you're doing is something really weird. You should not have seen the .js files at all in the process.

User avatar
Arreon
Trained
Trained
Posts: 324
Joined: 15 Feb 2009, 05:57
Contact:

Re: Warzone 2100: Contingency (Beta now released)

Post by Arreon » 09 May 2013, 16:04

NoQ wrote:What you're doing is something really weird. You should not have seen the .js files at all in the process.
That's what happens when there are no clear instructions on how install a mod or any of its components. I start doing weird stuff. :lecture:

EDIT: Or should I say no clear instructions on how to install a mod CORRECTLY.
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (6 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM

Post Reply