Removing Unit limits?

Did you create a mod, map, music, or a tool? Present them here and earn feedback!
Note: addon requests do not belong here.
Note, everything uploaded to this forum, MUST have a license!
Lord High Unggoy
Greenhorn
Posts: 11
Joined: 13 May 2020, 04:17

Removing Unit limits?

Post by Lord High Unggoy » 16 May 2020, 02:35

Is there a way I can remove unit limits from campaign? Or is there a mod to do so? I understand it would cause massive balance issues in campaign and I might get overwhelmed, but I still want to try it out.

User avatar
Black Project
Regular
Regular
Posts: 745
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 20:53

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Black Project » 17 May 2020, 00:55

To edit the unit limit in the campaign, look for the "rules.json" file. It's located inside the "script" folder.

Go to line "285":

Code: Select all

	setDroidLimit(selectedPlayer, 100, DROID_ANY);
The default unit limit is set to "100". Choose the limit of your liking.

Have fun! :twisted:

Lord High Unggoy
Greenhorn
Posts: 11
Joined: 13 May 2020, 04:17

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Lord High Unggoy » 17 May 2020, 01:13

Fantastic, thank you sir. I will try this out when I get home later.

Spring Chant
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 22
Joined: 09 Oct 2012, 20:55

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Spring Chant » 23 May 2020, 23:13

Please exccuse my ignorance, where do I find the script folder ? I do not seem to be able to find it.

User avatar
Black Project
Regular
Regular
Posts: 745
Joined: 04 Apr 2008, 20:53

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Black Project » 24 May 2020, 15:39

Spring Chant wrote:
23 May 2020, 23:13
Please exccuse my ignorance, where do I find the script folder ? I do not seem to be able to find it.
You have to access WZ2100's root folder (read: the path where you have the game installed), then open one of the core files inside the "data" folder, depending on the game's components you wish to edit.

For singleplayer campaign, you open the "base.wz" file.

For multiplayer/coop, you open the "mp.wz" file.

the ".wz" type is basically a ".zip" file with a different name, you can open it with a file archiver such as WinRAR and 7Zip.

Spring Chant
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 22
Joined: 09 Oct 2012, 20:55

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Spring Chant » 24 May 2020, 21:32

Thank you very much Black Project, will try and have a play. I am not very computer literate and appreciate the help any of you good people provide me with. :)

Blucher
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 Aug 2020, 22:26

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Blucher » 14 Aug 2020, 22:35

Hello Black Project, I have found the base.wz and mp.wz files, cannot find any file called rules.json.

Is it hidden ?

Blucher
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 Aug 2020, 22:26

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Blucher » 14 Aug 2020, 22:47

For singleplayer campaign, you open the "base.wz" file.

For multiplayer/coop, you open the "mp.wz" file.

Found these files cannot find rules.json" file.

User avatar
Counter Back
Trained
Trained
Posts: 58
Joined: 03 Aug 2020, 14:50
Location: Bogor, West Java, Indonesia

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Counter Back » 16 Aug 2020, 03:26

extrack the base.wz file or mp.wz file, base.wz is the campaign, mp.wz is the multiplay or skirmish, after that go to the output folder.

campaign:
for campaign like black project said, go to script folder, you can see rules.js file in that folder.

Code: Select all

setDroidLimit(selectedPlayer, 100, DROID_ANY);
go to line 287. the default is 100, that is you can edit to create unit limit to have more or little in campaign
after edited the rules.js, compress base folder and delete or rename the old base.wz.

skirmish:
for skirmish or multiplay go multiplay/skirmish folder you can see rules.js file in that folder.

Code: Select all

setDroidLimit(playnum, 150, DROID_ANY);
go to line 310. the default is 150, that is you can edit to create unit limit to have more or little in skirmish or multiplay
after edited the rules.js, compress mp folder and delete or rename the old mp.wz.
Last edited by Counter Back on 16 Aug 2020, 04:03, edited 1 time in total.
Someday I will show them the true nature of life! If they know, Regards from CB.

User avatar
Counter Back
Trained
Trained
Posts: 58
Joined: 03 Aug 2020, 14:50
Location: Bogor, West Java, Indonesia

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Counter Back » 16 Aug 2020, 03:42

I not see anything files rules.json but files rules.js
this codes

Code: Select all

setDroidLimit(selectedPlayer, 100, DROID_ANY);
and this codes

Code: Select all

setDroidLimit(playnum, 150, DROID_ANY);
is in rules.js
Someday I will show them the true nature of life! If they know, Regards from CB.

User avatar
ern_sttn
Greenhorn
Posts: 6
Joined: 10 Jul 2020, 02:48
Location: U.S.

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by ern_sttn » 16 Aug 2020, 03:55

cool. could you delete that line and, if so will that mean on limits at all

User avatar
Counter Back
Trained
Trained
Posts: 58
Joined: 03 Aug 2020, 14:50
Location: Bogor, West Java, Indonesia

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Counter Back » 16 Aug 2020, 04:37

ern_sttn wrote:
16 Aug 2020, 03:55
cool. could you delete that line and, if so will that mean on limits at all
did you mean the unit is not limited? O_o
if that is not limit, that is a problem, with RAM, error or something, I never try it.
Someday I will show them the true nature of life! If they know, Regards from CB.

User avatar
Counter Back
Trained
Trained
Posts: 58
Joined: 03 Aug 2020, 14:50
Location: Bogor, West Java, Indonesia

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Counter Back » 16 Aug 2020, 17:34

Counter Back wrote:
16 Aug 2020, 03:26
extrack the base.wz file or mp.wz file, base.wz is the campaign, mp.wz is the multiplay or skirmish, after that go to the output folder.

campaign:
for campaign like black project said, go to script folder, you can see rules.js file in that folder.

Code: Select all

setDroidLimit(selectedPlayer, 100, DROID_ANY);
go to line 287. the default is 100, that is you can edit to create unit limit to have more or little in campaign
after edited the rules.js, compress base folder and delete or rename the old base.wz.

skirmish:
for skirmish or multiplay go multiplay/skirmish folder you can see rules.js file in that folder.

Code: Select all

setDroidLimit(playnum, 150, DROID_ANY);
go to line 310. the default is 150, that is you can edit to create unit limit to have more or little in skirmish or multiplay
after edited the rules.js, compress mp folder and delete or rename the old mp.wz.
Oh ya, or you can edit the rules.js without extrack base.wz or mp.wz file, just open the base.wz or mp.wz file, then open the file rules.js with your text editor to edit rules.js :D .
Someday I will show them the true nature of life! If they know, Regards from CB.

Blucher
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 Aug 2020, 22:26

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Blucher » 18 Aug 2020, 14:28

I have extracted the mp.wz folder

I get a list fo files and folders, none of them named rules.js there is one named ruleset.js.
I have opend that and it just shows the following.

"tag" : "mp",
"type" : "SKIRMISH",
"name" : "Original Skirmish"

I apologise that I am not very computer literate as most of you on here are. What am I doing wrong ?

Really apreciate the help you are trying to give me.

User avatar
Counter Back
Trained
Trained
Posts: 58
Joined: 03 Aug 2020, 14:50
Location: Bogor, West Java, Indonesia

Re: Removing Unit limits?

Post by Counter Back » 19 Aug 2020, 02:08

Blucher wrote:
18 Aug 2020, 14:28
I have extracted the mp.wz folder

I get a list fo files and folders, none of them named rules.js there is one named ruleset.js.
I have opend that and it just shows the following.

"tag" : "mp",
"type" : "SKIRMISH",
"name" : "Original Skirmish"


I apologise that I am not very computer literate as most of you on here are. What am I doing wrong ?

Really apreciate the help you are trying to give me.
it is not correct rules.js file location

after extrack the file mp.wz the output is mp folder, go to mp/multiplay/skirmish folder, that is location for rules.js, not ruleset.json :lol2: .
Last edited by Counter Back on 19 Aug 2020, 05:50, edited 1 time in total.
Someday I will show them the true nature of life! If they know, Regards from CB.

Post Reply