Kicking Noobs ok?

Discussions about AI types, units, tactics & strategy.
ajstasic
New user

Kicking Noobs ok?

Post by ajstasic »

I've seen a lot of hosts kick noobs recently for, well, being nothing more than noobs. But that begs the question--how does one get the experience to graduate from noob to one of more experience? Personally, I feel that we need the noobs because it, over time, increases the number of potential players. I feel that many hosts that kick noobs which sends the wrong message. This limits their experience opportunities and we reduce the available opponents. I made many mistakes when I was a noob, but I learned from the more experienced ones. Shouldn't we do the same to the next generation of players?
Rommel
Trained
Trained

Re: Kicking Noobs ok?

Post by Rommel »

Well joining a game with a dummy beside your name is asking to be kicked. Noobs should play enough single player skirmish to get at least some half decent rank before trying to join MP games. I used to let them play as I thought much the same as you, but in the end it just ruins the game and causes arguments, so now I ask if they are a noob, if so I tell them to go practice and then come back.

oh and it also means to define noob... lol I have been playing for months and I still class myself as a noob, or at most an intermediate player - there are some real pros out there :ninja:
Moving back instead of forward
Seems to me absurd
~
Metallica - Eye of the beholder
The Overlord
Trained
Trained

Post by The Overlord »

You cannot get the ranks by playing skirmish - Only multiplayer games can get you rank. I guess you could host a password protected game in the lobby and put only bots then play them that way.

Noobs are kicked from certain games because we, as hosts want to balance the games. Games are just not very fun in you know before the game that you will lose.