Campaign difficulty spikes (version 4.2.0+)

The place to discuss balance changes for future versions of the game.
(Master releases & 3.X)
SneaksieRUS
Greenhorn

Campaign difficulty spikes (version 4.2.0+)

Post by SneaksieRUS »

Hello!

I've been playing through the campaign for the first time since 2019 I think and wanted to share my opinion on its current (Dec 21) balancing.

Since I completed it before and remember how it goes in general I decided to go for Hard difficulty this time (thank God I didn't choose Insane).

:arrow: Alpha campaign was mostly straightforward, it was hard in a good way, but not impossible. The only abnormal dificulty spike was in the away mission where you get the 'enemy transport approaches' messages literally every couple of minutes. First time I took too much time and the enemy base became completely filled with units produced by factories and airdropped, they barely could move because of this. I loaded a save from the beginning of this mission and made a nearly suicidal attack to bust the cyborg factory and then a tank factory so only constant airdrops remained. Only the fact that I had many units at the base saved me since I airlifted them to the mission as quickly as possible. I suggest this mission should have longer pauses between the enemy airlifts otherwise it becomes unwinnable quickly. I feel that this kind of challenge should be left for Insane difficulty.

:arrow: Beta campaign was harder, but still manageable. NASDA central mission was brutal since you have nearly no land and enemy comes quickly and locks you up from reinforcements because while you're handling the first group another one arrives. It took several attempts, I think I succeeded when I brought bunker buster VTOLs and busted the factory first, then cyborg factory. Then I had time to bring reinforcements and do a (costly) advance.