Removing the max research cost limit

The place to discuss balance changes for future versions of the game.
(Master releases & 3.X)
User avatar
Shadow Wolf TJC
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1047
Joined: 16 Apr 2011, 05:12
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Shadow Wolf TJC »

@Reg312: I'm loving it as well, though it seems as if there's no clear means to automatically replace outdated components or structures in the map with more advanced ones (as was possible in resultcomponents.txt). While Warzone 2100 never used this feature (except that one time when researching Pulse Lasers used to replace all Flashlights on the field with them on accident), some mods may find a use for this feature, such as, for example, secretly replacing a weapon or system with one that was basically the same thing, only with longer range, in an effort to simulate a range upgrade (which, to my knowledge, is unavailable in functions.txt).
Creator of Warzone 2100: Contingency!
Founder of Wikizone 2100: http://wikizone2100.wikia.com/wiki/Wikizone_2100
Reg312
Regular
Regular
Posts: 681
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 18:36

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Reg312 »

@Shadow Wolf TJC
well you understood correct :)

my opinion: better re-implement this feature through functions/scripts
current (old) implementation in resultcomponents.txt has some issues:
e.g. you cannot replace more than 1 redundant components per 1 result components.

hm.. i can keep this function (add new field "replacedComponents").

update: i see this function also used somewhere in cam2... well i have to keep it

(latest variant of patch: https://github.com/crabster/warzone2100 ... 20a082f839)
User avatar
NoQ
Special
Special
Posts: 6226
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by NoQ »

I'm not quite understanding the localization stuff, even though it was probably already discussed; all these "name = " and "name_en = " confuse me a bit. Can we use _() in ini files?
Reg312
Regular
Regular
Posts: 681
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 18:36

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Reg312 »

NoQ wrote:I'm not quite understanding the localization stuff, even though it was probably already discussed; all these "name = " and "name_en = " confuse me a bit. Can we use _() in ini files?
name_en was added only as information and actually not used in loading codes
i need per's advice what to do with names
"name_en" called like that because we have 'logical collision': in warzone code "name" means system codified name (code) of stat item.
so research label(caption) should not be called 'name'

in weapons.ini "name" field also not used anythere (i dont see any usage of name field in loadWeaponStats)
i used loading code for weapons as example
User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3459
Joined: 10 Oct 2010, 00:58
Contact:

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by aubergine »

title or caption instead of name?
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO
Per
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Posts: 3780
Joined: 03 Aug 2006, 19:39

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Per »

I think 'name' should point to the full, English name, enclosed by _(). Then the ID keyword could be in the [] section brackets... But I may not have thought this through, and I know we have not done this consistently so far.
User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3459
Joined: 10 Oct 2010, 00:58
Contact:

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by aubergine »

Well, 3.2 is a good chance to make things consistent :) I like the idea of [id], and name = human readable name.
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO
Reg312
Regular
Regular
Posts: 681
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 18:36

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Reg312 »

Need advice about how to store replaced components in research.ini
I do not want to use 1 more file.
Per
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Posts: 3780
Joined: 03 Aug 2006, 19:39

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Per »

What was wrong with "replacedComponents"?
Reg312
Regular
Regular
Posts: 681
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 18:36

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Reg312 »

Per wrote:What was wrong with "replacedComponents"?
each result component could contain link to "replaced component"
in what format this link should be present in .ini???


here is windows-converter for research.ini:
ResConverter.zip
(308.36 KiB) Downloaded 262 times
[/size]
(executable inside, dont open, dont run, and even dont try to do in on linux)
Per
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Posts: 3780
Joined: 03 Aug 2006, 19:39

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Per »

Does it matter which component replaces which other component? Just have a list of components that are caused to be obsoleted by that particular research... eg obsoletedComponents = comp1, comp2, comp3
Reg312
Regular
Regular
Posts: 681
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 18:36

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Reg312 »

Per wrote:Does it matter which component replaces which other component? Just have a list of components that are caused to be obsoleted by that particular research... eg obsoletedComponents = comp1, comp2, comp3
i tried it :ninja:
when pulse laser become researched, we need replace flashlight with pule laser AND vtol-flashlight with vtol-pulse-laser
Reg312
Regular
Regular
Posts: 681
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 18:36

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Reg312 »

latest version of research.ini for multiplayer
research.ini
(112.25 KiB) Downloaded 284 times
- price of research capped by 450 (as in original)
- components still can be replaced and all exiting replacement was kept

latest version of my patch: https://github.com/crabster/warzone2100 ... f3f30338f6

correct version of research converter [win]:
ResConverter.zip
(332.04 KiB) Downloaded 250 times
[/size]
User avatar
Iluvalar
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1828
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 18:44

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Iluvalar »

I was going to suggest the same syntax as the one in that file, except you dont need replacedComponents at all. Just use resultComponents with that optional bit ":Laser2PULSE-VTOL"
Heretic 2.3 improver and proud of it.
Reg312
Regular
Regular
Posts: 681
Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 18:36

Re: Removing the max research cost limit

Post by Reg312 »

Iluvalar wrote:I was going to suggest the same syntax as the one in that file, except you dont need replacedComponents at all. Just use resultComponents with that optional bit ":Laser2PULSE-VTOL"
but in my case you able set multiplie replacements
when you get assault gun it can replace HMG, TMG, MG :)
Post Reply