connection timed out ???Oo?

Do you need help? Ask here!

Bug reporting belongs here: http://developer.wz2100.net/newticket
Korusray
Trained
Trained
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 23:21

connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Korusray » 22 Nov 2009, 23:47

for some reason ive had trouble hosting a game
all ports that should be open are but everytime i try to host it say this (screeny lol)


any one have a fix fer this???

um wuts the ip of the lobby server if it has one....
Attachments
hostingprob1.JPG

GiGaBaNE
Trained
Trained
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Jun 2007, 17:51

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by GiGaBaNE » 23 Nov 2009, 02:47

double then tripple check your ports, had same problem for a while, for me it turned out that pesky windoze firewall turnined itself back on...again,

3 layers of ports.
firewall
windows firewall
router

Korusray
Trained
Trained
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 23:21

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Korusray » 23 Nov 2009, 03:23

have done so SOO many times its not funny always yeilds same results xD

but should i turn windows firewall off???
never mind my last edit, doesnt work even then /fail

oh and ive also got the result of

"failure to obtain Game ID"......O_o

GiGaBaNE
Trained
Trained
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Jun 2007, 17:51

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by GiGaBaNE » 23 Nov 2009, 13:22

Are you using a router?
is dynamic dhcp set up, and if so has the ip address that you forwarded to moved to another computer?
if you could list the following it could be helpfull

game version
router make/model
firewall software

im only doing same as you, but 2 people find a needle in a haystack faster than one ;)

Korusray
Trained
Trained
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 23:21

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Korusray » 23 Nov 2009, 20:04

im not using a router just a modem and a linksys 5 port workgroup switch
dynamic dhcp is not enabled
game version is 2.3 beta 2
modem is motorola 2210-02-1022, switch is ezxs55w version 4.2
windows firewall wih nvidia anti hacking, lol

GiGaBaNE
Trained
Trained
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Jun 2007, 17:51

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by GiGaBaNE » 23 Nov 2009, 21:30

Korusray wrote:im not using a router just a modem and a linksys 5 port workgroup switch
dynamic dhcp is not enabled
game version is 2.3 beta 2
modem is motorola 2210-02-1022, switch is ezxs55w version 4.2
windows firewall wih nvidia anti hacking, lol
ok might wanna double check that modem for built in functions like the 1006

here this may help
http://www.portforward.com/english/rout ... e_2100.htm

also nvidia sucks, they make good graphics and should stick to what they know.
and fyi, the windows firewall is a horrid thing that is massivly flawed and should never be relied upon.
i personally reccomend that (if you like your security free) ditch all that crap and replace them with.

Comodo and back that up with MalwareBytes

Korusray
Trained
Trained
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 23:21

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Korusray » 23 Nov 2009, 22:17

my modem doesnt have anything remotely suggesting ports or NAT ive done that many many many times

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Zarel » 23 Nov 2009, 22:41

portforward.com's Warzone 2100 information is designed for the retail version, though...

Korusray
Trained
Trained
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 23:21

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Korusray » 23 Nov 2009, 22:45

lol portforward.com doesnt list my modem lmao

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Zarel » 23 Nov 2009, 22:48

GiGaBaNE wrote:ok might wanna double check that modem for built in functions like the 1006

here this may help
http://www.portforward.com/english/rout ... e_2100.htm
The Motorola 2210-02-1022 is a dedicated modem, not a modem/router combo. I don't think he's behind a hardware router/firewall.

I don't know enough about switches to know if there's anything about that he needs to do with that.

My personal recommendation is to turn off all your software firewalls and see if you can host. If you can, then just turn them back on, and add exceptions for Warzone.

GiGaBaNE
Trained
Trained
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Jun 2007, 17:51

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by GiGaBaNE » 23 Nov 2009, 23:18

Zarel wrote: I don't know enough about switches to know if there's anything about that he needs to do with that.

My personal recommendation is to turn off all your software firewalls and see if you can host. If you can, then just turn them back on, and add exceptions for Warzone.
that switch is very nice, and completly passive, no work needed there, and i looked harder for info on the modem and agree thats not the problem either (yes Korusray i know you said, but double check everything is a golden rule ;) )

as to disabling all firewalls whilst not behind a hardware one, thats not advice i would ever give or use myself, but then i would be hurt by file damage. i do stand by my advice to download comodo or another one and get rid of that nvidia crap, that thing lasted a day on my machine.

Korusray
Trained
Trained
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 23:21

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Korusray » 24 Nov 2009, 01:30

lolz the nvidia is hardset into my pc its part of the mobo but got comodo tho still cant get through i think r4pture summed it up
mi isp is prolly blockin it

GiGaBaNE
Trained
Trained
Posts: 262
Joined: 24 Jun 2007, 17:51

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by GiGaBaNE » 24 Nov 2009, 02:36

well adding another layer of firewall will not open ports blocked by an earlier layer, all firewalls need to allow thru to work.

it would be very interesting if the isp was blocking, not exactly a problem we get a lot with this game.

im pretty sure its possible to config the ports this game uses, but thats beyond the scope of my knowlege as ive never met an isp blocked warzone player before.

what mobo do you have pls? im curious about this nvidia thing now, mine was a software element that rapidly went in the bin, lol.

edit: hmm hang on a sec, modem and switch. whats the switch for, are you using ICS perchance?

Korusray
Trained
Trained
Posts: 37
Joined: 08 Nov 2009, 23:21

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Korusray » 24 Nov 2009, 04:01

lol
my mobo is an Nforce 4-ma
the switch is for networking my intarnet with another pc/laptop

and i have no idea wut an ICS is lmao

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: connection timed out ???Oo?

Post by Zarel » 24 Nov 2009, 05:41

Motherboards can't block anything; it's not your motherboard...

It's extremely unlikely that your ISP would block port 2100.

I bet it's one of your software firewalls.

Post Reply