Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Improving the artwork in Warzone2100 - not for mod discussions
zany
Trained
Trained
Posts: 303
Joined: 20 Sep 2011, 07:04

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by zany » 05 Feb 2012, 03:32

can we use textures that google found? I see some nice ones in other forums

User avatar
MaNGusT
Art contributor
Posts: 1109
Joined: 22 Sep 2006, 10:31
Location: Polar region, Russia

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by MaNGusT » 05 Feb 2012, 09:35

zany wrote:can we use textures that google found? I see some nice ones in other forums
in ~90% cases - NO.
Image

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2053
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by Jorzi » 05 Feb 2012, 10:23

You always need to check the license. http://gpl.imageafter.com/ is a good site when you want open source compatible stuff. Unfortunately many of the images are not that good...

Edit:
Also, if you have any specific request, I could upload some of the textures I've shot myself, I have a pretty nice collection already.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

zany
Trained
Trained
Posts: 303
Joined: 20 Sep 2011, 07:04

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by zany » 06 Feb 2012, 21:17

Jorzi wrote:You always need to check the license. http://gpl.imageafter.com/ is a good site when you want open source compatible stuff. Unfortunately many of the images are not that good...

Edit:
Also, if you have any specific request, I could upload some of the textures I've shot myself, I have a pretty nice collection already.
how are they going to know if it didn't have a license?

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2053
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by Jorzi » 06 Feb 2012, 21:57

Easy: if it doesn't have a license, you cannot use it. Everything is automatically copyrighted unless otherwise is specified.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

themac
Trained
Trained
Posts: 376
Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: Germany

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by themac » 09 May 2012, 08:39

Maybe I should try to render some textures by myself. That will be hard. o.O

Image

*urgh* that´s terrible. -.-

Image

Mmh, no big difference in this one O.-
Last edited by themac on 25 Sep 2013, 10:29, edited 3 times in total.

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2053
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by Jorzi » 09 May 2012, 18:22

That's actually a pretty good attempt. Have you tried it ingame yet? :)
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

themac
Trained
Trained
Posts: 376
Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: Germany

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by themac » 09 May 2012, 18:51

Ehm, no, I am not too familar with that. I will also have to improve that design I think. :-)

User avatar
Goth Zagog-Thou
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1582
Joined: 06 Jan 2007, 08:08
Location: Delta Base
Contact:

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by Goth Zagog-Thou » 09 May 2012, 19:37

I don't think it's terrible. Far from it. Most would call that very good. I certainly would. :)

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2053
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by Jorzi » 09 May 2012, 23:06

To try it out, make a new folder in the mods folder called autoload. In autoload, make a folder called mymod or something like that.
this folder is supposed to have the same file structure as the one in base.wz (you can open/extract it with winrar/7zip).
In other words, what you need in your mod is a folder called texpages, where you put your texture. Remember also to keep the texture square and power-of-two resolution (i.e. 1024x1024 or 512x512)
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

User avatar
[dark]_Continue
Greenhorn
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Nov 2011, 10:49

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by [dark]_Continue » 26 May 2012, 18:17

Jorzi wrote:To try it out, make a new folder in the mods folder called autoload. In autoload, make a folder called mymod or something like that.
Why adding Hi-Res Textures in MOD folder??? can't they make Hi-Res Textures for all? in new master release 3.1 WZ? pointless

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2053
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by Jorzi » 29 May 2012, 18:42

Because waiting for the next release just to see your new textures ingame is not an option.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2204
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by Berg » 29 May 2012, 22:47

[dark]_Continue wrote:Why adding Hi-Res Textures in MOD folder??? can't they make Hi-Res Textures for all? in new master release 3.1 WZ? pointless
Jorzi wrote:Because waiting for the next release just to see your new textures ingame is not an option.
It is good that add your help to wz but one you don't want to wait for ages as jorzi says and two your changes may not even be put to use.
You can try all your changes locally and you may find you don't like them just replace the local textures with your changed ones and test....you might change a texture 100 times before your happy with it.
When your happy with a texture make a mod let others use it get feedback from the community...

Regards Berg

themac
Trained
Trained
Posts: 376
Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: Germany

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by themac » 30 May 2012, 23:13

Hello,

first of all I have to excuse that I haven´t written again earlier. I am online again now. :-)

I am not that bad at graphics design, but I feel a bit too confused when I have to make tests and changes to the game by myself. It may also be a matter of having time.

Painting alone is very time-comsumpting, so I become in trouble when I will have to do tests or mods too (I never made any mods so I would have to learn how to do, which would cost time too).

I would be happy if someone likes to take my design to give it a try. It´s free. ^^

User avatar
cnceo
Trained
Trained
Posts: 108
Joined: 23 Sep 2013, 11:49
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Higher quality textures for the old models ?

Post by cnceo » 23 Sep 2013, 15:45

Hi everyone,

I just started working on some textures. However what I realised is that some of the tiles seem to have wrong texture coordinates. This also applies to some of the high-res textures and makes them cut at the borders (see screenshot). Actually I think the same problem is even found for the old low-res textures.

I'm not sure if this is a bug or if I'm the only one having this problem. I haven't found a ticket in the bug tracker concerning this. Any information on what the problem could be?
Attachments
decal-1.jpg
decal-1.jpg (34.42 KiB) Viewed 5324 times

Post Reply