Weapon balance favors machineguns (AP type)

Ideas and suggestions for how to improve the Warzone 2100 base game only. Ideas for mods go in Mapping/Modding instead. Read sticky posts first!
Verin
Trained
Trained

Weapon balance favors machineguns (AP type)

Post by Verin »

Machine guns take diversity out of the game, nothing can beat them, it has no weakness so everyone uses it at early mid game start.

If you try to counter with cannons, the enemy cyborgs will overtake.

I propose the reduction in multipliers of (AP) type weapons, and an increase of cannons Vs Cyborgs. (all rounder)
Discuss.
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.
KenAlcock
Trained
Trained

Re: Weapon balance favors machineguns (AP type)

Post by KenAlcock »

I was just playing Campaign last night and The AI's 10 MG Cyborgs (not Assault Gunners) beat the hell out of my 5 Heavy Cannon Mantis Tracks tanks. That is so unrealistic and out-of-whack it is ridiculous.
My game handle is Cosmic Raven or Cosmic Raven 68
alto1234
Trained
Trained

Post by alto1234 »

Verin wrote:Machine guns take diversity out of the game, nothing can beat them, it has no weakness so everyone uses it at early mid game start.

I propose the reduction in multipliers of (AP) type weapons, and an increase of cannons Vs Cyborgs. (all rounder)
Discuss.
this was already partially ameliorated in 2.3.5 rebalance. light cannons aren't supposed to be able to take on cyborgs by themselves, and pure machineguns also does lose against machineguns + cannons or machinguns + rockets. the weakness of pure machineguns is mini rockets and cannons. the new mini rocket line is nice, and mini rockets for their cost no longer become obsolete, or at least as quickly. if you're having problems with an opponent using machineguns/cyborgs frequently, keep pace with him and then use some light cannon cobra tracks (or something.)