Artillery rethink and some other thoughts.

Ideas and suggestions for how to improve the Warzone 2100 base game only. Ideas for mods go in Mapping/Modding instead. Read sticky posts first!
Dangus
New user

Artillery rethink and some other thoughts.

Post by Dangus »

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum, but I began playing WZ2100 when I started learning Linux years ago. This is an awesome game, with customization unlike any other RTS. I really enjoyed playing the single player campaign but found several things very disappointing. I know the AI doesn't really compare to humans, but I do animal rescue and really don't have time to commit to multiplayer games, especially not long ones like WZ2100. Obviously though, the single player gameplay degrades over time into massive artillery batteries used to wipe out everything in sight. This "Expand your base toward the enemy" type gameplay is not that great, and artillery in general really ruins the unit-on-unit combat. Sure you can VTOL the batteries and AI tends to not rebuild them, but that also just doesn't seem right.