operating system

Other talk that doesn't fit elsewhere.
This is for General Discussion, not General chat.
suicideidiot123
Rookie
Rookie

operating system

Post by suicideidiot123 »

hey whats happenin i just thought id ask...  what os do you guys recomend?

Right now i use windows xp and im VERY used to it but i can also use my dads vista or maybe if there was a way to get linux... but where do i buy linux... unless its freeware?
2_Late
Rookie
Rookie

Re: operating system

Post by 2_Late »

"Linux" is totally free ware top to bottom, side to side, and front to back. There are some distributions you pay for support on, but they're purely for corporate type peoples. :)

If your looking for some easy to use and at least fairly well documented distributions of Linux I'd suggest Fedora or Debian. Maybe Mandriva, though I have no experience with that one. Fedora is a solid distribution, Debain should still be well maintained. Mandriva should be easy to use.

If your just window shopping, I suggest Knoppix. It's easy to use, has many useful tools, best of all it designed to be boot and run from a CD. So you can insert it, play with all you want, and when your done just reset. No harm, no foul.

As for upgrading to Microsoft Window's Vista? ick, Stick with XP for a wile longer if you can. Few things have impressing be that brandish the Microsoft logo, and they're all ways at least mostly hollow promises. They're easy to use, when it's not broke, but their basic mentality, imo:

1."We'll keep smiling, and be polite, but we have your money now. You're no longer worth spending time on." 2. "Microsoft is such a wonderful product why would you want to use anything else?" 3."We could write a simple tool to fix that, but sense this is a Microsoft Product that never happens so we will not spend the time."
lav_coyote25
Professional
Professional

Post by lav_coyote25 »

ubuntu / kubuntu  is also a good choice -  is one of the easiest distros to set up.