A couple of thoughts on high-power maps

Other talk that doesn't fit elsewhere.
This is for General Discussion, not General chat.
NoQ
Special
Special

A couple of thoughts on high-power maps

Post by NoQ »

Just a couple of humble opinions. I hope my english won't fail me today. And i'm still not sure if anyone will be able to read this many letters XD

In good old days, i've been playing this Starcraft game. I had no way or thought of playing it online yet, so i've just been trying to beat all kidns of AIs included in the game. How did i do it? I've made a map with almost-unlimited amount of minerals and several gas geisers for both sides, then turtled up my base with all sort of towers, then built 12 or 24 carriers/battlecruisers/whatever and wiped them out. And it was easy enough. But i could not play any of the stock maps: i've just ran out of minerals, and eventually died.

When i started playing Warzone2100 (it was only recently, and i've got a little grown up, and i didn't play Starcraft for quite some time), i've been pretty much trying to do the same thing with one difference: i couldn't make my own maps, so i had to cope with the stock ones. But the AI wasn't that good at that time yet, so even on that Rush2 map i could beat 3 bots with simply turtling up my 4-oils base until i researched everything and then won by better micromanagement etc.

:lecture: See anything familiar here? That's what all noobs around here do. Only when i started playing warzone online, i've realized how much of a noob i was. And i've quickly learned a few lessons and got a little better.