Requirements for videos in beta?

Warzone 2.2.x series. (Unsupported--read only !)
Locked
User avatar
BlueMaxima
Trained
Trained
Posts: 431
Joined: 05 Jun 2008, 09:20
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by BlueMaxima » 09 Apr 2009, 09:15

I play the 2.2 beta, and the video's don't play. I decide to investigate, and an std_error text file tells me very sweetly - 'You have some really crappy hardware! Videos will not play!'

Is there any way to know what the requirements are for the videos?
Bring back...ducks!

r1ky
Greenhorn
Posts: 10
Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 23:14

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by r1ky » 09 Apr 2009, 11:47

I'm on nVidia 5200fx and my videos are fine (although they are very small due to the resolution difference between my wz window and the video)

Update your crappy hardware and your crappy ogg codecs
---
r1ky

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by Zarel » 09 Apr 2009, 13:47

The ogg codecs are fine - Warzone comes with an ogg player; you don't need separate ogg players.

Try installing drivers for your video card. That fixes most of them.

A known video card that doesn't support FMVs is the Intel GMA series in Windows. Intel is just really bad at OpenGL in Windows. Strange, since their OpenGL is excellent in Mac OS X and Linux.

EvilGuru
Regular
Regular
Posts: 615
Joined: 23 Jun 2007, 22:41

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by EvilGuru » 09 Apr 2009, 19:41

Zarel wrote:A known video card that doesn't support FMVs is the Intel GMA series in Windows. Intel is just really bad at OpenGL in Windows. Strange, since their OpenGL is excellent in Mac OS X and Linux.
Their Linux drivers are written on-contact by a Tungsten Graphics and released under the GPL. As a result bugs are usually fixed quite quickly and they have the support of the open source community.

OS X requires OpenGL to do almost anything (compositing window manager) with almost everything going through the 3D hardware. It is quite likely Apple wrote the drivers themselves or kept poking Intel with a long stick until they did a decent job. Poor OpenGL support and OS X just doesn't happen.

Regards, Freddie.

User avatar
BlueMaxima
Trained
Trained
Posts: 431
Joined: 05 Jun 2008, 09:20
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by BlueMaxima » 10 Apr 2009, 06:38

Wow, three replies in less than 24 hours? I'm impressed.

Unfortunately, I don't have a damn clue what the video hardware is in my laptop, and even if I did, I couldn't update it. Anything else?
Bring back...ducks!

r1ky
Greenhorn
Posts: 10
Joined: 04 Apr 2009, 23:14

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by r1ky » 10 Apr 2009, 13:20

Laptop. That's your problem.

Go to Device Manager in System Options and look under Display Devices
---
r1ky

User avatar
lav_coyote25
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3434
Joined: 08 Aug 2006, 23:18

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by lav_coyote25 » 10 Apr 2009, 20:47

you have linux or windows operationg system...

if windows - right click on the desktop - click on properties in the popup dialog box... click on setings tab - click on the advanced button

that will give you an adapter tab and a few others... click adapter.... should give you all the info you need. - xD


not sure about linux.

User avatar
BlueMaxima
Trained
Trained
Posts: 431
Joined: 05 Jun 2008, 09:20
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by BlueMaxima » 11 Apr 2009, 08:48

I don't have admin rights on my laptop - it's actually a surprise I got Warzone running at all. So I can't find the card I have in it.
Bring back...ducks!

cybersphinx
Inactive
Inactive
Posts: 1693
Joined: 01 Sep 2006, 19:17

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by cybersphinx » 11 Apr 2009, 14:18


Kaldera
Trained
Trained
Posts: 49
Joined: 20 Jun 2008, 22:04
Location: Germany

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by Kaldera » 20 Apr 2009, 21:54

Hit [windows-key] + R and type in: dxdiag . There are much infos about your hardware. The infos of tab display is needed here.
Windows 7 RC / Athlon 64 X2 / NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT

User avatar
BlueMaxima
Trained
Trained
Posts: 431
Joined: 05 Jun 2008, 09:20
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Requirements for videos in beta?

Post by BlueMaxima » 21 Apr 2009, 06:26

Intel GMA 950. Zarel was right. It's my laptop's hardware.
Bring back...ducks!

Locked