2.3 Beta 4 is out!

The projects speaking tube.
Add your two cents if you want to.
winsrp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 417
Joined: 14 May 2008, 17:00

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by winsrp » 15 Dec 2009, 21:38

--cheat does works.

You first have to be in game and press shift+backspace to active the cheat mode, and then you can enter all the cheats you want.

This is how I tested the problem with the AI... cheat and research all, then put a satellite, and see what the AI does.

User avatar
DylanDog
Code contributor
Code contributor
Posts: 347
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 15:15
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by DylanDog » 16 Dec 2009, 14:46

Zarel wrote: Erm, what does the AI use units for, if not attacking enemy bases?
To defend his own base, and is definitely worth repairing those droids once the enemy attack has stopped.
My Warzone 2100 mods:
Download DyDo-AI for Warzone skirmish/multiplayer games.
Download A2C-HM (Alpha 2 Campaign - Hard Mode).
Download A3C-HM (Alpha 3 Campaign - Hard Mode).

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by Zarel » 16 Dec 2009, 18:34

The AI can still repair its own units with mechanics and repair turrets.

User avatar
DylanDog
Code contributor
Code contributor
Posts: 347
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 15:15
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by DylanDog » 16 Dec 2009, 18:53

ok
My Warzone 2100 mods:
Download DyDo-AI for Warzone skirmish/multiplayer games.
Download A2C-HM (Alpha 2 Campaign - Hard Mode).
Download A3C-HM (Alpha 3 Campaign - Hard Mode).

User avatar
yamar
Trained
Trained
Posts: 68
Joined: 10 Aug 2009, 01:27
Contact:

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by yamar » 16 Dec 2009, 22:38

ach... on hard 3 v 5 AI, they were crazy powerful! I got wiped by AI, I've never been wiped by only the AI!

User avatar
DylanDog
Code contributor
Code contributor
Posts: 347
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 15:15
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by DylanDog » 17 Dec 2009, 14:08

I was playing DyDo AI 1.2.5a in the MAP 8c-FPL and WZ crashed generating an error which I am not sure if it could be related to the AI script or not, therefore before opening a bug ticket I thought I ask you developers what you think.

stderr.txt:

Code: Select all

fatal   |12:50:37: [scrValDefLoad] scrValDefLoad: couldn't find template id 272
Attachments
warzone2100.RPT
(2.96 KiB) Downloaded 348 times
My Warzone 2100 mods:
Download DyDo-AI for Warzone skirmish/multiplayer games.
Download A2C-HM (Alpha 2 Campaign - Hard Mode).
Download A3C-HM (Alpha 3 Campaign - Hard Mode).

KukY
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1859
Joined: 20 Mar 2009, 21:56

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by KukY » 17 Dec 2009, 14:41

DylanDog wrote:I was playing DyDo AI 1.2.5a in the MAP 8c-FPL and WZ crashed generating an error which I am not sure if it could be related to the AI script or not, therefore before opening a bug ticket I thought I ask you developers what you think.

Code: Select all

fatal   |12:50:37: [scrValDefLoad] scrValDefLoad: couldn't find template id 272
It is in your script. It cannot load template 272. It probably doesn't exists.

User avatar
DylanDog
Code contributor
Code contributor
Posts: 347
Joined: 08 Apr 2009, 15:15
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by DylanDog » 17 Dec 2009, 15:06

13KukYNexus666 wrote:It is in your script. It cannot load template 272. It probably doesn't exists.
I know this seems to be a wrong template AI tries to build but usually the errors generated by the AI script look totally different on the stderr.txt file (always multiple rows also showing the event affected), that is the reason why I am asking.

Also I played on the same MAP with the same AI in 2.2.4 and all went ok, this is strange.
My Warzone 2100 mods:
Download DyDo-AI for Warzone skirmish/multiplayer games.
Download A2C-HM (Alpha 2 Campaign - Hard Mode).
Download A3C-HM (Alpha 3 Campaign - Hard Mode).

themac
Trained
Trained
Posts: 372
Joined: 17 Jul 2009, 19:14
Location: Germany

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by themac » 17 Dec 2009, 15:59

Testing the multiplayer part is difficulty because in games with eight players some of them bring the game with rushes to a early end after a few minutes. For a good test play it would be great to spend some more time with playing instead of beginning, being overrun in the first 10 minutes and then begin a new game. :-/

Revenant86
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 16
Joined: 13 Dec 2009, 10:51

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by Revenant86 » 25 Dec 2009, 20:09

thats why we need scavengers in the eight player maps. so they can prevent bs truckrush like this poor fellow described
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

themac wrote:Testing the multiplayer part is difficulty because in games with eight players some of them bring the game with rushes to a early end after a few minutes. For a good test play it would be great to spend some more time with playing instead of beginning, being overrun in the first 10 minutes and then begin a new game. :-/

KukY
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1859
Joined: 20 Mar 2009, 21:56

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by KukY » 25 Dec 2009, 22:05

Revenant86 wrote:thats why we need scavengers in the eight player maps.
Scavangers must be seperate player.
Game allows only eight players; 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7.
It would require major changes. I think.

User avatar
DonRulio
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Dec 2009, 02:28

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by DonRulio » 27 Dec 2009, 02:34

WOW..2.3 series ...
Prevusualisation construction and big yellow line as construction progress must be delete.....
2.2.4 is realy good job but this...must stay test

sg1efc
Trained
Trained
Posts: 376
Joined: 30 Dec 2009, 03:14

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by sg1efc » 02 Jan 2010, 08:48

First I'd like to Thank everyone who is working on this game as I have had lots of fun playing it. :D

I'm no expert and I apologize in advance if this has already been asked and answered. However I did try searching bug reports, wiki, faq's and this forum but did not find results to really help me. When I start the following mission, it starts and ends saying objective failed, in only about 4 seconds of game play.

The incoming mission's details are:
Commander, we are attempting to return to base.
This is our current position.
Take control of our forces and lead us.
Control transfer successful.
Incoming Transmission...
Elements of Team Gamma have contacted us.
They claim to be free of NEXUS, and offer their base as a site of operations.
Base coordinates download in progress.


I am on Ubuntu 9.10 playing Warzone Beta 4 through Wine, which so far has worked awesomely for me (I have no idea how to compile as I am an Ubuntu newbie still, LoL). Has this problem happened to anyone else? I did play the previous mission over completely but the same few seconds objective failed message happened once again in this mission. Attached a screenshot so you can see which map I mean.

Already completely reinstalled 2.3 beta 4, but that did not make a difference. Thank you very much for any help and suggestions. :D
Attachments
Screenshot-1.jpg
My Thanks to everyone past, present and future who have helped to create & continues to improve WZ2100, you're all Awesome! :)

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by Zarel » 02 Jan 2010, 09:05

Can you attach a savegame? It should be a file and a directory; just zip them up.

sg1efc
Trained
Trained
Posts: 376
Joined: 30 Dec 2009, 03:14

Re: 2.3 Beta 4 is out!

Post by sg1efc » 02 Jan 2010, 09:20

Zarel wrote:Can you attach a savegame? It should be a file and a directory; just zip them up.
Wow, Thank You very much for your quick reply. :) I really miss not being able to play this great game. Attached is the saved game of the mission I'm having the problem with.

Thanks again for your and everyone else's help. :)
Attachments
Warzone.zip
(200.98 KiB) Downloaded 380 times
My Thanks to everyone past, present and future who have helped to create & continues to improve WZ2100, you're all Awesome! :)

Locked