Page 1 of 2

3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 11 Feb 2019, 04:48
by vexed
We really need people to be using the 3.3.0 (beta) versions of the game for multiplayer.

Please report any issues you may run into!

We would like to fix things ASAP, so, if something is wrong, SPEAK UP!

Thanks!

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 12 Feb 2019, 18:24
by Prot
Have a problem, the game do not use IPv4, debug:

Code: Select all

net     |08:15:53: [socketListen:1294] Successfully created an IPv4 socket (0x558eddff9cc0)
net     |08:15:53: [socketListen:1299] Successfully created an IPv6 socket (0x558eddff9cc0)
net     |08:15:53: [socketListen:1311] Successfully enabled IPv4 to IPv6 mapping. Cleaning up IPv4 socket.
net     |08:15:53: [socketListen:1351] setting socket (0x558eddff9cc0) blocking status (false, IPv6).
net     |08:15:53: [setSocketBlocking:834] Socket is set to non-blocking.
net     |08:15:53: [NEThostGame:2660] New tcp_socket = 0x558eddff9cc0
net     |08:15:53: [NEThostGame:2741] Hosting a server. We are player 0.
net     |08:15:53: [socketOpen:1136] Connecting to [88.198.45.216]:9990
net     |08:15:53: [socketOpen:1153] setting socket (0x558ede0122c0) blocking status (false).
net     |08:15:53: [setSocketBlocking:834] Socket is set to non-blocking.
net     |08:15:54: [NETregisterServer:2222] Using game ID: 689
net     |08:15:54: [NETsendGAMESTRUCT:811] sending GAMESTRUCT, size: 814
net     |08:15:56: [readAll:970] socket (0x558ede0122c0) has timed out.
net     |08:15:56: [readAll:973] socket (0x558ede0122c0) error.
error   |08:15:56: [readLobbyResponse:2120] Error while connecting to the lobby server: Время ожидания соединения истекло
Make sure port 2100 can receive incoming connections.
I also do not see any 2100 open port in ipv4, the game listen 2100 only on ipv6

Code: Select all

root@powerman:/home/prot# netstat -tnlup | grep 2100
tcp6       0      0 :::2100                 :::*                    LISTEN      11826/warzone2100   
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:41088           0.0.0.0:*                           11826/warzone2100 

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 16 Feb 2019, 00:46
by ThinkSome
In SP, cyborgs are moving inside transports (on the left panel), it looks hilarious.

There is still a really low unit limit and maximum zoom distance is awful. Why is there a 5 cap on maximum research centres? Can't you make maximum unlimited with default 5? Similar for other buildings.

The game does not remember some settings when playing skirmishes, namely the map choice and structure limits are forgotten, as are bot difficulties.

The new challenge is busted, the AI does not build any units other than trucks. Consequently all it ever does is build bases.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 16 Feb 2019, 01:02
by Forgon
ThinkSome wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 00:46 In SP, cyborgs are moving inside transports (on the left panel), it looks hilarious.
Please take the time to write a proper bug report (with a screenshot).
ThinkSome wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 00:46 There is still a really low unit limit and maximum zoom distance is awful.
The unit limit can be increased via mods.
But the more units are allowed, the slower games will run.
Maximum zoom distance will be increased if I fix a few bugs related to it.
ThinkSome wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 00:46 Why is there a 5 cap on maximum research centres? Can't you make maximum unlimited with default 5? Similar for other buildings.
You can increase structure limits with mods.
ThinkSome wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 00:46 The game does not remember some settings when playing skirmishes, namely the map choice and structure limits are forgotten, as are bot difficulties.
This is a longstanding problem.
Saving AI difficulties is easy (although I never published my patch for that), but saving of map settings was disabled years ago due to security concerns and re-enabling this feature will require some work.
ThinkSome wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 00:46 The new challenge is busted, the AI does not build any units other than trucks. Consequently all it ever does is build bases.
I hope you are exaggerating. Could you be more specific?

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 16 Feb 2019, 01:41
by ThinkSome
Forgon wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 01:02
The unit limit can be increased via mods.
But the more units are allowed, the slower games will run.
Maximum zoom distance will be increased if I fix a few bugs related to it.
Sure, but it doesen't have to be limited to 50! In spring the maximum total is around 30000 with 1000 per player being the usual default setting. There are regular 8v8 games going on and noone is complaining. A hard limit of 50 belongs in the past century.
Forgon wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 01:02 You can increase structure limits with mods.
This is needlessly restrictive. The real restriction is income, so let players build however much they want.
Forgon wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 01:02 due to security concerns and re-enabling this feature will require some work.
Security concerns? In singleplayer skirmish?!
Forgon wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 01:02 I hope you are exaggerating. Could you be more specific?
I am not, here:

error spam @ stdout/stderr:
The attachment twofaced3.3.0.log is no longer available
picture in enemy base:
twofaced3.3.0.log
(19.41 KiB) Downloaded 510 times

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 16 Feb 2019, 03:31
by Berserk Cyborg
ThinkSome wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 01:41 I am not, here:
Are you using a 64-bit build on Windows? If so, then #4763 mirrors your log.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 16 Feb 2019, 12:16
by xNEXTx
I do not know how to open the bug report, so I'll write here.
Long maps are not displayed correctly when you rotate the radar. Part of him is out of sight. Checked some maps.
Screenshots are recorded in windowed mode, but this also applies to full screen mode.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 16 Feb 2019, 12:24
by ThinkSome
Berserk Cyborg wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 03:31 Are you using a 64-bit build on Windows? If so, then #4763 mirrors your log.
No, 64-bit self-built binaries from the 3.3.0 tag in the git repository on GNU/Linux.

stdout/stderr that was no longer available:
twofaced3.3.0.log
(19.41 KiB) Downloaded 482 times

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 16 Feb 2019, 17:20
by Forgon
ThinkSome wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 01:41
Forgon wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 01:02
The unit limit can be increased via mods.
But the more units are allowed, the slower games will run.
Maximum zoom distance will be increased if I fix a few bugs related to it.
Sure, but it doesen't have to be limited to 50! In spring the maximum total is around 30000 with 1000 per player being the usual default setting. There are regular 8v8 games going on and noone is complaining. A hard limit of 50 belongs in the past century.
[...]
As far as I know, the current unit limit is 150, rather than 50.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 16 Feb 2019, 17:26
by Forgon
xNEXTx wrote: 16 Feb 2019, 12:16 I do not know how to open the bug report, so I'll write here.
Long maps are not displayed correctly when you rotate the radar. Part of him is out of sight. Checked some maps.
Screenshots are recorded in windowed mode, but this also applies to full screen mode.
This is a known consequence of my new approach to minimap sizing.
Minimap size is now always proportional to map size.
The tickets #4689 and #4708 contain details.

I might implement an alternative model to calculate minimap sizes,
if someone could explain to me how exactly it is supposed to work.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 18 Feb 2019, 01:36
by Berg
Am I seeing different colour user names at times in multi player lobby?

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 23 Feb 2019, 09:56
by Berg
When playing in mutli player mode and having a high selection mode of things with the mouse it often takes 3-4 clicks to make it activate the item you want it too.
The mouse is very inaccurate To the point it is slowing player (me) down dramaticaly,
Please fix this sloppy mouse
Also having unit orders missing my truck and units wander of to do what ever they desire.
Please replace unit orders that were deleted.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 27 Feb 2019, 12:31
by Cyp
Berg wrote: 23 Feb 2019, 09:56 When playing in mutli player mode and having a high selection mode of things with the mouse it often takes 3-4 clicks to make it activate the item you want it too.
The mouse is very inaccurate To the point it is slowing player (me) down dramaticaly,
Please fix this sloppy mouse
It's always been horribly bad, but maybe seems even worse somehow. The input code seems to try to handle some mouse "states" like KEY_PRESSRELEASE¹, but fails to handle states like KEY_RELEASEMOVEPRESSDRAGRELEASEMOVEPRESS² which also need to be handled consistently. If clicking 10 times to try to research something, it's normal to only work the 10th time, despite making a research button click sound each time. I'm taking a look at deleting the input code, to see what happens. It probably won't work when done, but at least it can't make it worse.
  1. KEY_PRESSRELEASE: If you press and then release the mouse button between frames.
  2. KEY_RELEASEMOVEPRESSDRAGRELEASEMOVEPRESS: If you release the mouse button, move the mouse, then press, drag and release the mouse button, move it and press again, between frames, which is quite likely if you don't get 60 FPS consistently.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 27 Feb 2019, 12:38
by Berg
YEah just to confirm the click does not make the working sound i click till i hear it.
Cyp wrote: 27 Feb 2019, 12:31 it's normal to only work the 10th time, despite making a research button click sound each time
When selecting something no sound means it dint work.
Click again situation not 10 clicks.

Re: 3.3.0 (Beta) Multiplayer issues

Posted: 08 Mar 2019, 21:06
by qwerty-man
Sorry if I write not in that topic.
Now the release 3.3.0 we need more players. No one to play with.
Where is everyone? They continue to suffer in 3.2.3 version. This 3.2.3 version must be removed from the host server. If they can't play there, they'll switch to a new version. Life will be easier for everyone.
3.2.3 version of this - horror.
That's what I wanted to know. Can you prevent the server from creating games on 3.2.3 version? I agree that some people don't like it. BUT need to act and not sit "cry as all poorly."
If you leave everything as is, I'm afraid for a project that won't end well...