code style question and droid limits

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.
UrbanVoyeur
Trained
Trained

code style question and droid limits

Post by UrbanVoyeur »

I'm new to C and new to WZ dev (though I've played the game since it was released)

Regarding the code:

(1) The constant definitions seem to be sprinkled at random through the code, rather than at the top of each file, or as in some code, in a separate file all together.  Is this a C thing or just WZ?  Is it worth the effort to clean up?

(2) I was trying to find remove the limits on droids... but can;t seem to find where its tied to a uint8/. any help would be appreciated.

(3) I completely understand the reluctance to port/convert the C structs to C++ objects - if it ain't broke... 

------BUT in looking the code it seems that struct definitions are inter mixed with functional code blocks.  Again, is this a C thing or just WZ and is worth cleaning up for readability and organization

------In rewriting sections like formation and when incorporating new code like a physics engine, do you plan to stay with the C structs or start to build C++ objects. Both can coexist, and it seems to me that some thing would be a whole lot easier to do with objects. Plus with recent processors, the performance hit may not be a big deal.
Watermelon
Code contributor
Code contributor

Re: code style question and droid limits

Post by Watermelon »

UrbanVoyeur wrote: I'm new to C and new to WZ dev (though I've played the game since it was released)

Regarding the code:

(1) The constant definitions seem to be sprinkled at random through the code, rather than at the top of each file, or as in some code, in a separate file all together.  Is this a C thing or just WZ?  Is it worth the effort to clean up?

(2) I was trying to find remove the limits on droids... but can;t seem to find where its tied to a uint8/. any help would be appreciated.