Showing how much something costs

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.

What to do?

Show "-62"
31
69%
Show "-62 = 2662"
11
24%
Don't change anything, price display is fine the way it is
3
7%
 
Total votes: 45

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Showing how much something costs

Post by Zarel » 14 Jul 2010, 20:17

Hey, guys.

So you know how, when you mouse over something in the manufacture/build/research menu, your visible power will decrease by a certain number representing how much it costs? I was always frustrated by how it didn't display the exact cost, and it's kind of difficult to calculate the exact cost when your power is constantly rising. I've also heard people who didn't even know that that's what it did.

Plus, a lot of confusion with power stems from that power shown is after whatever you're mousing over. For instance, say you have 1000 power, and you mouse over something that costs 50. The power bar will show 950. Now, you click on it, and (in 2.3) the power bar shows 900 (since your new total is 950, and what you're mousing over costs 50).

So I wrote a patch that displayed the price of the item underneath the power bar, when you mouse over something, instead of changing the displayed price. It looks like this:
Screen shot 2010-07-13 at 6.03.46 PM.png
I also considered putting the resulting power after, like "-62 = 2662", but I was afraid that might be too ugly.

What do you guys think?

User avatar
effigy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1217
Joined: 22 Jan 2010, 03:21
Contact:

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by effigy » 14 Jul 2010, 20:29

I voted for -62 but either is better than the current system. I agree when you're engaged in battle it's annoying to calculate this mentally.

Additionally, I think it would be nice if the $ amount of whatever it is was became a tooltip over the menu item like in the design menu. Emphasis on "like" because it's annoying how small the radius is (you have to hover right on the yellow bar, also annoying when engaged).

Referring to the same pic above, perhaps the cost of the truck could appear in the same tooltip as the word "truck."
This is why some features aren't implemented: http://forums.wz2100.net/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=7490&view=unread#p87241

User avatar
JDW
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1669
Joined: 18 May 2010, 20:44

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by JDW » 14 Jul 2010, 21:08

effigy wrote:Referring to the same pic above, perhaps the cost of the truck could appear in the same tooltip as the word "truck."
Or, perhaps, even have it's own little box somewhere in that same menu window.

Edit: I think the point of both sugestions is to not have the player glance repeatedly way down near the power bar every time he wants to know how much power will be deducted for a particular item.
"Speak when you are angry and you will make the best speech you will ever regret."
-- Ambrose Bierce

User avatar
Powzone
Trained
Trained
Posts: 332
Joined: 17 Feb 2008, 17:25
Location: Germany

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by Powzone » 14 Jul 2010, 23:57

"-62", but without the "-" maybe... ;)

I like the idea in the screenshot with the extra box below the energy bar, but it could go even hovering like "Machinegun (50E)" or something.
Manjaro XFCE / Intel Core i7 6700 / 32GB RAM / NVidia GTX1050Ti

User avatar
KenAlcock
Trained
Trained
Posts: 192
Joined: 25 Nov 2009, 03:50
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by KenAlcock » 15 Jul 2010, 08:24

The one aspect of the current behavior I really like is when I have little or no power left and I select to produce a unit or research a technology the power bar goes negative (and turns red) by the amount of power I'm short. As my power rises this number counts upward toward zero. This behavior can really help one make prudent decisions in the heat of a crisis, as it visually and dynamically gives one a sense of how long it will be before the unit or technology research can be funded. I would hate to see this aspect be left behind in any changes you make.

Perhaps a better location to list unit cost or technology research cost, would be in the bubble that appears when hover the mouse over the item? So in your screen grab above, Instead of the bubble saying "Truck" it should be "Truck - 62". That would be far more intuitive for most users, especially since their eyes are already focused where the mouse pointer is hovering anyway. :idea:
I'm on the forums on a limited basis. I play MP late Saturday night or Sunday afternoon/evening; my game handle is Cosmic Raven.

Per
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Posts: 3768
Joined: 03 Aug 2006, 19:39

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by Per » 15 Jul 2010, 11:19

I'm fine with stuffing the cost in the tooltip, as several have suggested already.

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by Zarel » 15 Jul 2010, 12:01

Tooltips take a while to appear. This display appears instantly. Plus, this display appears in the power bar, which makes it easier to compare how much power something costs with how much you have. Plus, Warzone players are conditioned to looking at the power bar to get price information, so for a 2.3.1 -> 2.3.2 change, I'd like to keep it near there.

And then there's the thing that we don't actually allocate space to store the strings for the tooltips, we just use a pointer to the name of the item in question, which means we're gonna have to malloc a lot if we want to stuff prices there. As opposed to this, for which I already have a working patch ready to commit.

User avatar
Powzone
Trained
Trained
Posts: 332
Joined: 17 Feb 2008, 17:25
Location: Germany

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by Powzone » 15 Jul 2010, 16:13

Ahh... Ok... Instant popup it is then! :D But still not really happy with the "-" in front... ;)
Manjaro XFCE / Intel Core i7 6700 / 32GB RAM / NVidia GTX1050Ti

User avatar
JDW
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1669
Joined: 18 May 2010, 20:44

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by JDW » 15 Jul 2010, 17:49

Powzone wrote:Ahh... Ok... Instant popup it is then! :D But still not really happy with the "-" in front... ;)
Me thinks it's the simplest way to educate the gamer that "Hey buddy! That's gonna cost you!" :wink:
"Speak when you are angry and you will make the best speech you will ever regret."
-- Ambrose Bierce

User avatar
Terminator
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1065
Joined: 05 Aug 2006, 13:46
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by Terminator » 17 Jul 2010, 01:10

why not leave as is, but add a price to Units name pop-up msg(when cursor on unit, like it's show on screenshot )
Death is the only way out... sh*t Happens !

Russian-speaking Social network Group http://vk.com/warzone2100

User avatar
Crymson
Trained
Trained
Posts: 289
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 21:08

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by Crymson » 17 Jul 2010, 07:34

Why not do "Truck : $62" in the tool tip ?

User avatar
KenAlcock
Trained
Trained
Posts: 192
Joined: 25 Nov 2009, 03:50
Location: Detroit, Michigan, USA

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by KenAlcock » 17 Jul 2010, 09:12

I'm sorry, but I cannot resist the urge to post this.

Truck: 62 Dollars
AssaultGun-Vengence-Hover : 200 Dollars
Hellstorm Emplacement: 525 Dollars
Watching Your Enemies Die All Afternoon: Priceless
I'm on the forums on a limited basis. I play MP late Saturday night or Sunday afternoon/evening; my game handle is Cosmic Raven.

KukY
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1859
Joined: 20 Mar 2009, 21:56

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by KukY » 17 Jul 2010, 09:45

KenAlcock wrote:I'm sorry, but I cannot resist the urge to post this.

Truck: 62 Dollars
AssaultGun-Vengence-Hover : 200 Dollars
Hellstorm Emplacement: 525 Dollars
Watching Your Enemies Die All Afternoon: Priceless
:lol2: :lol2: :lol2:

User avatar
CptFireFox
Greenhorn
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 18:23
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by CptFireFox » 22 Jul 2010, 22:14

I like the idea of including the $62 next to the unit name, or something to that effect.

User avatar
Luigi
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 25
Joined: 23 Jul 2010, 01:55
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Showing how much something costs

Post by Luigi » 03 Aug 2010, 08:05

Should show how much I'll spend when I do multiple units :P
I'M NOT A CHEATER!!!!

Post Reply