Lobby Server - Improvement

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.
Fastdeath
Trained
Trained

Lobby Server - Improvement

Post by Fastdeath »

Since i'm new to this forum first little bit about me:
I play Warzone 2100 since 1999, but online for only a few few weeks / months.
I'm a full time programmer and Work mainly with the "Python" programming language and network related stuff.

Now, after I had seen through the code of the masterserver, I thought I could help.
Above all, I am talking about to install a failover so that if one is down another server can do that work.

Principally i would imagine it like this:
  • 1.) Round Robin DNS for lobby.wz2100.net
    2.) All masterservers keep data in sync with each other (master - master replica)
Befor i forgott that: i have enough free server space for a second masterserver.

Thank you for your answers and suggestions,
Fastdeath aka Rene Jochum
Nightly builds available here see buildbot for more infos about them
Lobby Server: here and here
SharpFlame the new WZ Map Editor
Giel
Regular
Regular

Re: Lobby Server - Improvement

Post by Giel »

Fastdeath wrote:Now, after I had seen through the code of the masterserver, I thought I could help.
Above all, I am talking about to install a failover so that if one is down another server can do that work.
Using non-volatile storage (e.g. an on-disk file as opposed to an in-memory list) would already be an improvement. The thing is, we keep track of games' lifetimes by holding on to an open TCP socket. Unfortunately you cannot store sockets to disk.
Fastdeath wrote:Principally i would imagine it like this:
  • 1.) Round Robin DNS for lobby.wz2100.net
    2.) All masterservers keep data in sync with each other (master - master replica)
The DNS round robin part would definitely work (just checked the code for it again, and I see I wrote it to simply loop over the query results and use the first address we can succesfully connect to).