Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.

I would like the game's minimum resolution to be (this will also be the default)

800 x 600
70
74%
640 x 480 (current minimum)
24
26%
 
Total votes: 94

KukY
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1859
Joined: 20 Mar 2009, 21:56

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by KukY » 09 May 2010, 22:22

macuser wrote:Well you can't support everyone, but you can at least continue to support those you already do. Besides what is a good reason to up the min res anyway?
Mainly, more space to make better menus...

Dalton
Trained
Trained
Posts: 361
Joined: 11 Jan 2010, 19:41
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by Dalton » 09 May 2010, 22:24

Buginator wrote:OK, in order to fit more things in the main menu(s) (especially the lobby screen) and such, we were thinking about making the game default to 800x600.

What do you all think?
First Post :)

User avatar
macuser
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1052
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 23:35
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by macuser » 09 May 2010, 22:25

Could you not just autosize the menus for larger res (I have trouble on 1600 x 1200 seeing the menus)
ArtRev Website

ImageImage

System: AMD Phenom II x4, 4GB RAM, 640GB HD, Nvidia GeForce GT 240 1GB, Mac OS X 10.6

User avatar
qubodup
Trained
Trained
Posts: 47
Joined: 18 Jul 2007, 03:30
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by qubodup » 23 May 2010, 20:09

320x240

User avatar
Olrox
Art contributor
Posts: 1999
Joined: 03 Jul 2007, 19:10

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by Olrox » 23 May 2010, 22:23

qubodup wrote:320x240
O_o
What's that? Menu in-game panel size proposal?
Last edited by Olrox on 23 May 2010, 22:51, edited 1 time in total.

KukY
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1859
Joined: 20 Mar 2009, 21:56

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by KukY » 23 May 2010, 22:27

Olrox wrote:
qubodup wrote:320x240
O_o
What's that? Menu size proposal?
Yeah, that would be great! You could fit in WZ logo and nothing else! :stare:

User avatar
Olrox
Art contributor
Posts: 1999
Joined: 03 Jul 2007, 19:10

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by Olrox » 23 May 2010, 22:51

KukY wrote:
Olrox wrote: O_o
What's that? Menu size proposal?
Yeah, that would be great! You could fit in WZ logo and nothing else! :stare:
I meant in-game panel, sorry :stressed:

User avatar
XboxJosh
Trained
Trained
Posts: 259
Joined: 18 May 2009, 02:16
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by XboxJosh » 24 May 2010, 03:38

Olrox wrote: I meant in-game panel, sorry :stressed:
Well, maybe. If you squished in the buttons a little.... :lol2:

I couldn't care less about the minimum resolution, it doesn't affect me (a.k.a. 1600x900 for the win! :P )

Alias: Cipher[SSC]

System Specs:
OPERATING SYSTEM: Windows 7 Professional
CPU TYPE: AMD Athlon II X2 250
CPU SPEED: 3000 MHz
SYSTEM MEMORY: 4 GB (2 x 2GB, DDR2)
GRAPHICS CARD MODEL: NVidia GTS 250

User avatar
BlueMaxima
Trained
Trained
Posts: 431
Joined: 05 Jun 2008, 09:20
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by BlueMaxima » 24 May 2010, 03:39

I'd love to see bigger menus. That is all. Wink.
Bring back...ducks!

User avatar
Nameless
Trained
Trained
Posts: 176
Joined: 03 May 2010, 08:25
Location: Space, the Final Frontier
Contact:

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by Nameless » 26 May 2010, 11:56

Voted for the 800x600 because its that much closer to my 1280 x 800 :)

But keeping the current default as a sort of safe-boot/start/play option would be cool for those of us who still use monitors from the dark ages (CRT) :D
If you're reading this; you're awesome.

Build Orders and Other Such Nonsense; [http://warzone2100.zxq.net].

PkK
Trained
Trained
Posts: 81
Joined: 07 Feb 2009, 21:22

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by PkK » 13 Jul 2010, 13:56

Nameless wrote:Voted for the 800x600 because its that much closer to my 1280 x 800 :)

But keeping the current default as a sort of safe-boot/start/play option would be cool for those of us who still use monitors from the dark ages (CRT) :D
You probably meant to say: "Would be cool for those who use one one of these fancy new LED projectors to play warzone"

While I don't have such a device, they're getting cheaper all the time. One can now get an 800x600 projector at the price of a good monitor and 640x480 ones are even cheaper. They could become quite popular for gaming. However the price increases sharply above 800x600, thus low resolutions should be supported for some more time.

800x600 seems still OK. Requiring even higher resolutions not so much.

Philipp

User avatar
Powzone
Trained
Trained
Posts: 332
Joined: 17 Feb 2008, 17:25
Location: Germany

Re: Make the default resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by Powzone » 13 Jul 2010, 16:59

Infidelus wrote:I can't see many PCs these days running at much less than 1024x768, although I'm sure to be proved wrong :)
I got prove!! :D Most EeePCs got 1024x600 when they are 10" or smaller! I got a 10" as stated in my sig. (That's the 1000 part of the model ;) )

I voted on 800x600! It's ok for most systems and I have tested things on my little netbook if there's a difference in FPS, but it isn't! I play on 1024x600 because of the native resolution and the game already detects it fine. And even not one more FPS at 1024x600. Well, integrated graphics suck a bit, but it's playable! Next generation netbook, look like to come with dual cores and nVidia ION graphics. At least the ones from Asus! :D

EDIT: Oh and setting the graphic cards driver to strech the screen (I think it's default) work with without black borders to the left and right... :D
Manjaro XFCE / Intel Core i7 6700 / 32GB RAM / NVidia GTX1050Ti

User avatar
craigengbrecht
Trained
Trained
Posts: 51
Joined: 21 Jul 2008, 03:49
Location: Red Deer, AB
Contact:

Re: Make the minimum resolution for the game 800x600?

Post by craigengbrecht » 27 Jul 2010, 20:04

GiGaBaNE wrote:if i was evil dictator for a day i would not only insist on 8x6 but i would remove all support for 6x4 altogether, but then what do i know, i laugh at people that still own VHS players ;)
Hey I own a VHS player :augh: , though its hooked direct to my Computer, and I use it to convert VHS to DVD for my customers. :P

Though I do agree with the general sentiment, min 800x600, since most laptops and notebooks even are min 600 tall, and 1024 wide.
AMD FX X8 3.88Ghz
16GB KVM 1333Mhz
ASUS M5A97
ASUS EAH 6850 1GB
3x ASUS 1920x1080 VW246H
1x 5000GB Primary
1x 1TB Internal
1x 3TB Internal

Post Reply