Alternate mouse button assignment

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.

Alternate mouse button assignment

Postby gerard_ » 11 Nov 2006, 00:01

Currently mouse buttons are like this:

Left button:
- Select
- Build
- Move

Right button:
- Deselect
- Unit settings (retreat when wounded etc)

What I would like to have is more Warcraft 3 like:

Left button:
- Select
- Deselect

Right button:
- Build
- Move
- Unit settings

So deselect moves to the left button and build and move move to the right button.
This way you can't accidentally deselect your units.

Are there any problems with the proposed layout? Please note that I don't want to replace the current settings,
I would just like to be able to select the different scheme from the menu.

- Gerard
gerard_
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 71
Joined: 02 Nov 2006, 19:56

Re: Alternate mouse button assignment

Postby Watermelon » 11 Nov 2006, 10:08

gerard_ wrote:Currently mouse buttons are like this:

Left button:
- Select
- Build
- Move

Right button:
- Deselect
- Unit settings (retreat when wounded etc)

What I would like to have is more Warcraft 3 like:

Left button:
- Select
- Deselect

Right button:
- Build
- Move
- Unit settings

So deselect moves to the left button and build and move move to the right button.
This way you can't accidentally deselect your units.

Are there any problems with the proposed layout? Please note that I don't want to replace the current settings,
I would just like to be able to select the different scheme from the menu.

- Gerard

yes,the current mouse functionality is sort of uncomfortable,similiar to old CnC and TA but it's somewhat weird,though I am unable to tell why it's weird.

adding a option 'right mouse interface' to switch between 'classic' and 'new' mouse button functions would be cool.

Another useful addition is to make 'double click' on unit to select all units of a type/template within current 'screen',there is a hotkey combo ctrl+z? to do that,but you'll have to select a unit first to use it,it's a bit uncomfortable imo.
tasks postponed until the trunk is relatively stable again.
User avatar
Watermelon
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 08 Oct 2006, 09:37

Re: Alternate mouse button assignment

Postby Troman » 11 Nov 2006, 17:29

Another useful addition is to make 'double click' on unit to select all units of a type/template within current 'screen',there is a hotkey combo ctrl+z? to do that,but you'll have to select a unit first to use it,it's a bit uncomfortable imo.


We had such a feature in original WZ, no idea what happened to it.
Troman
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 424
Joined: 12 Aug 2006, 15:40

Re: Alternate mouse button assignment

Postby Watermelon » 11 Nov 2006, 18:36

Troman wrote:We had such a feature in original WZ, no idea what happened to it.

it's because doubleclick mouse event was unfinished and was on TODO list in input.c...
I just re-added doubleclick mouse event,so it'll be back really soon.  ;)
tasks postponed until the trunk is relatively stable again.
User avatar
Watermelon
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 08 Oct 2006, 09:37

Re: Alternate mouse button assignment

Postby Watermelon » 13 Nov 2006, 11:10

Just send a message to warzone-dev with input patch attached.
I was too lazy to enter the name,so my name becomes 'zz zz' in mailinglist and hotmail added some craps to the attachement,dont know why.Sorry about that...
tasks postponed until the trunk is relatively stable again.
User avatar
Watermelon
Code contributor
Code contributor
 
Posts: 551
Joined: 08 Oct 2006, 09:37


Return to Development