#4722 Broken widget frames, and poor FPS after set commits

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.

#4722 Broken widget frames, and poor FPS after set commits

Postby Prot » 28 Jan 2018, 11:17

In our circle have noticed bad FPS somewhere between versions 3.2.1 and 3.2.3, I decided to investigate it.
I found this series of commits that break frame widgets and degrade performance.
Starting from https://github.com/Warzone2100/warzone2 ... 4483c09ccc - is broke widgets, and have some loss FPS at NVIDIA Cards.
Ending with https://github.com/Warzone2100/warzone2 ... 854aa24ec7 - even worse performance.
After this, still problem not fixed. Now we have a bad performance and broken frames of widgets.

Additional to http://developer.wz2100.net/ticket/4722

Using notebook
OpenGL renderer string: AMD Radeon R7 M260DX
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.5.13416 Core Profile Context 15.302
OpenGL core profile shading language version string: 4.40
I did some measurements on Arch Linux:
Before first problematic commit, game building with 1ce7e09bab668d06022fdae33c4132043658bbc4:
01.wz2100-before.png

After a6017da6a838ba17630a629d6c3c8c4483c09ccc:
02.wz2100-brokenframes.png

as we can see, this is all widget menu has no frames, and minimap has no corners, but corners of minimap flying in up-left of the screen as black pixels, near by oil.
And then finally commit ae2e4c0e23d824dee6dde7464237fb854aa24ec7:
03.wz2100-lowfps.png

Now you can see FPS loss
Last edited by Prot on 28 Jan 2018, 19:30, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Prot
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 29 Nov 2010, 12:41

Re: #4722 Broken widget frames, and poor FPS after set commi

Postby Prot » 28 Jan 2018, 11:21

Lastest master:
wz2100-master-e2a4e25aca48315af35f4156dcfd0759985e7547.png



Now same thing with NVIDIA 680 GTX Debian 8:
Before a6017da6a838ba17630a629d6c3c8c4483c09ccc:
before_680.png

After ae2e4c0e23d824dee6dde7464237fb854aa24ec7:
after_680.png

A huge fps loss
Last edited by Prot on 28 Jan 2018, 19:31, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Prot
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 29 Nov 2010, 12:41

Re: #4722 Broken widget frames, and poor FPS after set commi

Postby Prot » 28 Jan 2018, 11:29

Same on NVIDIA 440 GT, debian 8:
Before:
before_440.png

After:
after_440.png


For now i have no Intel graphics machine, but if get, i can get measurement too.
But I see no reason to do more measurements.
It is unclear what these comments are that they fix? As it looks now, they only messed up graphics and performance.
Last edited by Prot on 28 Jan 2018, 19:31, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Prot
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 29 Nov 2010, 12:41

Re: #4722 Broken widget frames, and poor FPS after set commi

Postby Prot » 28 Jan 2018, 19:28

Add some screenshots from Windows 10.
Game version 3.2.1:
wz2100-win10_v321.png

Game version 3.2.3:
wz2100-win10-v323.png
User avatar
Prot
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 29 Nov 2010, 12:41

Re: #4722 Broken widget frames, and poor FPS after set commi

Postby Bethrezen » 02 Feb 2018, 17:25

Interesting I wonder if these broken widgets might be related to the crash that i get when I alt tab to the desktop ? because when I load up v3.1.2 of the game the crash doesn't happen when I alt tab to the desktop so what ever was changed happened some time after this point, because
3.1.3 / 3.1.5 / 3.2.0 / 3.2.1 wont load for me at all and while 3.2.2 / 3.2.3 do work both exhibit the crash when i alt tab to the desktop.

so it definitely appears as though someone changed something after 3.1.2 that resulted in the problem of the game crashing when i alt tab to the desk top.

The fact that you are saying that you see issues with nvidia cards is interesting as well as my computer uses a GForce 9500 GT on Windows XP running the last drivers that where realised for my card v340.52 Release Date: 29.7.2014

In addition I also noticed the little group of black pixels as you can see it in this image, although I though this was just an issue with my monitor didn't realise something was broken.

Image

You will probably have to zoom the image to see the little group of black pixels that I have circled

I also noticed that the black borders around the the various UI elements had vanished as you can see in this side by side comparison

Image

Although I have to admit I though this was a deliberate change which is why i didn't say anything humm ... apparently not.

Again you will probably have to zoom the image to see the effect clearly.
Bethrezen
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 584
Joined: 25 Sep 2009, 02:05


Return to Development