Ground pathfinder enhancement

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.
lamer
Greenhorn

Ground pathfinder enhancement

Post by lamer »

How about changing/optimizing path-finder algorithm?
Specifically talking about ground unit that can't get past the wall of friendly units.

I'm looking into next algo:
1. Consider friendly standing units (in a "hold position" mode) as blocking tiles, find path1. If path1 contains no blocking units then return path1.
2. Find path2 without units as blockers (as it is now in v3.1).
3. Compare complexity of both paths (use speed+distance+something-else as a metric). If path1 better return path1.
4. Move away blocking units (if they are in no "hold position"). After A* computes path we can move several units from path (not only first blocking as it is now).

Is there a point for such optimization? (Can't estimate if it worth the effort as I'm new to this stuff and only did a quick-look of sources in master)
----
on second thought - no need for path2, just add cost of moving to tiles occupied by unit.
Maybe the major problem would be in tracking unit's position/tile, as one small unit can occupy 4 tiles in worst case.
vexed
Inactive
Inactive

Re: Ground pathfinder enhancement

Post by vexed »

Hmm, If you feel like implementing it, give it a shot, and we can see how it goes from there. :)
I do suggest you work on the master codebase though, since there isn't much life left in 3.x.
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.
lamer
Greenhorn

Post by lamer »

Got some results. Not perfect but does what i want from it (need more testing though :) ). Also read about ClearPath, ORCA, Crowd flows, etc and maybe will try to implement some of it later when i have time.

But for now.. how can i share my code? Create another git repo? I did all changes in separate local branch.
vexed
Inactive
Inactive

Post by vexed »