linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.
Locked
parker
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 06:00
Location: Iowa, US

linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Post by parker »

I can compile 3.1_rc3 source tarball using the Liunx compile guide, but when compiling the release version 3.1.0 tarball I get the error:
"error: No repo or cache detected."

However I can checkout 3.1 directly from git and it does compile with no errors. In case anyone else runs into this, here's what I did (in a new empty directory). Run "apt-get install git" if you don't have it yet.

Code: Select all

> git init
> git remote add -t 3.1 -f orgin "git://github.com/Warzone2100/warzone2100.git"
> git checkout 3.1

> ./autogen.sh && ./configure && make
User avatar
Emdek
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1329
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 13:14
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Post by Emdek »

I believe that in case of tarball you need to skip autogen.sh step:

Code: Select all

./configure && make
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.


Beware! Mad Qt Evangelist.
parker
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 06:00
Location: Iowa, US

Re: linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Post by parker »

I untared the source again, just to make sure I'm working from a clean start.

This works now, even with autogen:
./autogen.sh && ./configure.sh && make

Taking a second look at my build script I notice the problem was a "make clean"
./autogen.sh && ./configure.sh && make clean && make

Running "make clean" then "make" will give you the No repo error. Both on a freshly untared source (were make clean is unnecessary anyway), as well as after doing a succefull build. The order doesn't matter either. Running make clean first, then the working line from above still gives the error.

Interestingly, it's the same build script I used to compile 3.1rc3 and the make clean didn't break anything there. Oh well, it's all working now and I've been looking forward to this stable build.
_Marc0_
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Jan 2018, 13:28
Location: Germany

Re: linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Post by _Marc0_ »

I see a similar behaviour when compiling from git ("$SRCDIR") using cmake and a build directory ("$BUILDDIR") not being the source directory.

The files src/autorevision.cache and src/autorevision.h are missing after running cmake, calling make will result in the given error:

Code: Select all

$ make -j9
...
[ 53%] Generating moc_qtscriptdebug.cpp
error: No repo or cache detected.
make[2]: *** [src/autorevision.h] Error 1
make[2]: *** Deleting file `src/autorevision.h'
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[1]: *** [src/CMakeFiles/warzone2100.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
I was able to work around this problem by executing

Code: Select all

cd $SRCDIR;
./build_tools/autorevision -t h -o "$BUILDDIR/src/autorevision.cache" > "$BUILDDIR/src/autorevision.h";
cd -
make -j 9
Shouldn't this be executed by cmake, actually?
User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
Posts: 2538
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 02:07

Re: linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Post by vexed »

Please don't necro, you are replying to a 4+ year old post?

Start a new thread, since your issue and the original issue are totally different things.
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊 contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.
Locked