linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Discuss the future of Warzone 2100 with us.

linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Postby parker » 16 Jan 2013, 04:47

I can compile 3.1_rc3 source tarball using the Liunx compile guide, but when compiling the release version 3.1.0 tarball I get the error:
"error: No repo or cache detected."

However I can checkout 3.1 directly from git and it does compile with no errors. In case anyone else runs into this, here's what I did (in a new empty directory). Run "apt-get install git" if you don't have it yet.

Code: Select all
> git init
> git remote add -t 3.1 -f orgin "git://github.com/Warzone2100/warzone2100.git"
> git checkout 3.1

> ./autogen.sh && ./configure && make
parker
New user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 06:00
Location: Iowa, US

Re: linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Postby Emdek » 16 Jan 2013, 09:59

I believe that in case of tarball you need to skip autogen.sh step:
Code: Select all
./configure && make
Nadszedł już czas, najwyższy czas, nienawiść zniszczyć w sobie.
The time has come, the high time, to destroy hatred in oneself.


Beware! Mad Qt Evangelist.
User avatar
Emdek
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1329
Joined: 24 Jan 2010, 13:14
Location: Poland

Re: linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Postby parker » 16 Jan 2013, 18:01

I untared the source again, just to make sure I'm working from a clean start.

This works now, even with autogen:
./autogen.sh && ./configure.sh && make

Taking a second look at my build script I notice the problem was a "make clean"
./autogen.sh && ./configure.sh && make clean && make

Running "make clean" then "make" will give you the No repo error. Both on a freshly untared source (were make clean is unnecessary anyway), as well as after doing a succefull build. The order doesn't matter either. Running make clean first, then the working line from above still gives the error.

Interestingly, it's the same build script I used to compile 3.1rc3 and the make clean didn't break anything there. Oh well, it's all working now and I've been looking forward to this stable build.
parker
New user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 06:00
Location: Iowa, US

Re: linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Postby _Marc0_ » 13 Jan 2018, 17:14

I see a similar behaviour when compiling from git ("$SRCDIR") using cmake and a build directory ("$BUILDDIR") not being the source directory.

The files src/autorevision.cache and src/autorevision.h are missing after running cmake, calling make will result in the given error:
Code: Select all
$ make -j9
...
[ 53%] Generating moc_qtscriptdebug.cpp
error: No repo or cache detected.
make[2]: *** [src/autorevision.h] Error 1
make[2]: *** Deleting file `src/autorevision.h'
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[1]: *** [src/CMakeFiles/warzone2100.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

I was able to work around this problem by executing
Code: Select all
cd $SRCDIR;
./build_tools/autorevision -t h -o "$BUILDDIR/src/autorevision.cache" > "$BUILDDIR/src/autorevision.h";
cd -
make -j 9

Shouldn't this be executed by cmake, actually?
_Marc0_
New user
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Jan 2018, 13:28
Location: Germany

Re: linux compile error: No repo or cache detected

Postby vexed » 14 Jan 2018, 06:03

Please don't necro, you are replying to a 4+ year old post?

Start a new thread, since your issue and the original issue are totally different things.
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊 contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.
User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 2436
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 02:07


Return to Development