new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Get some help with creating maps or modding.
Need a map editor or other tools, look here!
Post Reply
rush2049
Trained
Trained
Posts: 88
Joined: 05 Sep 2006, 01:52
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by rush2049 » 08 Sep 2006, 04:05

Ok everyone, a while ago back on the ole' realtimestategies forum rodzilla said he would make a blend to pie converter for us... I don't know of he is still around, but I finished the model I was making, and here are some screen shots.

[img width=300 height=283]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v149/ ... rk/HQ2.jpg[/img]
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v149/ ... rk/HQ2.jpg

now, if anyone doesn't like it tell me what and I will change it to the bestof my ability...

oh and if anyone wants to texture it for me, I will send you the blend file, or any format you want...
Last edited by lav_coyote25 on 13 Oct 2006, 16:31, edited 1 time in total.
System:AMD Phenom II x6 1055T @3.511ghz, 8GB DDR3 @1672.2mhz 9-9-9-24, Geforce GTX 275

User avatar
C01eMaN
Trained
Trained
Posts: 58
Joined: 11 Aug 2006, 07:17
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by C01eMaN » 08 Sep 2006, 05:56

hmm...could you put a radar on the top... because when you build your base thats when the map comes up and the base acts like a radar

p.s. it looks v.nice
Im Addicted To Warzone!!!!!!!

User avatar
lav_coyote25
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3434
Joined: 08 Aug 2006, 23:18

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by lav_coyote25 » 08 Sep 2006, 07:02

actually that ring around the top - that is the radar = planar radar.  dont need no  .avi files.
‎"to prepare for disaster is to invite it, to not prepare for disaster is a fools choice" -me (kim-lav_coyote25-metcalfe) - it used to be attributed to unknown - but adding the last bit , it now makes sense.

User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by DevUrandom » 08 Sep 2006, 21:50

rush: Cool work! Looks really great!
Now we just need someon to paint a texture for it.

I haven't looked at the code yet, but ain't the radar a radar-part like the one you can put on your units?

rush2049
Trained
Trained
Posts: 88
Joined: 05 Sep 2006, 01:52
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by rush2049 » 08 Sep 2006, 23:08

geuss I could make a dish type radar, but as coyote said I kinda had it internal...

I shall see what I can do.
System:AMD Phenom II x6 1055T @3.511ghz, 8GB DDR3 @1672.2mhz 9-9-9-24, Geforce GTX 275

Grizzly_37
Greenhorn
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Sep 2006, 19:36

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by Grizzly_37 » 12 Sep 2006, 20:04

Yes, I recall when Rodzilla said that, we had a few models, but you can't forget the other part of the deal...

He wanted a texture :D he did say he didn't care whether the texture was any good... just as long as it was a texture :) That's where we fell short last time...

Anyway, looks nice...

Good job.

Ben

rush2049
Trained
Trained
Posts: 88
Joined: 05 Sep 2006, 01:52
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by rush2049 » 12 Sep 2006, 21:22

grizzly is your name ben? cause... well mine is too, or did I tell you sometime..

anyways, I will try my best to texture it using an image map....
System:AMD Phenom II x6 1055T @3.511ghz, 8GB DDR3 @1672.2mhz 9-9-9-24, Geforce GTX 275

Grizzly_37
Greenhorn
Posts: 8
Joined: 12 Sep 2006, 19:36

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by Grizzly_37 » 12 Sep 2006, 21:49

Yeppers, My real name is Ben :)

Ben

rush2049
Trained
Trained
Posts: 88
Joined: 05 Sep 2006, 01:52
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by rush2049 » 12 Sep 2006, 23:28

well, I have spent the greater part of 2.5 hours UV unwrapping....   and I have never UV mapped, or unmapped for that matter before,so I was following some 3 tut's....  I got most of the stuff to unwrap successfully... still got some tweaking to do, but you know how long that can take.

I was wondering if anyone would like to texture it for me, or should I take a stab first then you guys comment...?

Here is how it is so far:
[img width=300 height=218]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v149/ ... turing.jpg[/img]
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v149/ ... turing.jpg
Last edited by rush2049 on 13 Sep 2006, 04:29, edited 1 time in total.
System:AMD Phenom II x6 1055T @3.511ghz, 8GB DDR3 @1672.2mhz 9-9-9-24, Geforce GTX 275

rush2049
Trained
Trained
Posts: 88
Joined: 05 Sep 2006, 01:52
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by rush2049 » 13 Sep 2006, 04:30

I think I finished organizing the UV windows, now on to learn how to make some nice looking textures fit well into distorted areas....
System:AMD Phenom II x6 1055T @3.511ghz, 8GB DDR3 @1672.2mhz 9-9-9-24, Geforce GTX 275

User avatar
lav_coyote25
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3434
Joined: 08 Aug 2006, 23:18

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by lav_coyote25 » 13 Sep 2006, 05:51

concrete texture for the base

tarnished aluminium finish for the ring

stainless steel for the rest.


my 3 cents. :)
‎"to prepare for disaster is to invite it, to not prepare for disaster is a fools choice" -me (kim-lav_coyote25-metcalfe) - it used to be attributed to unknown - but adding the last bit , it now makes sense.

Suprano
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: 04 Aug 2006, 11:44
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by Suprano » 13 Sep 2006, 13:49

What about the blend converter? does it exist already or do we need to wait for rodzilla?

--Ano

rush2049
Trained
Trained
Posts: 88
Joined: 05 Sep 2006, 01:52
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by rush2049 » 13 Sep 2006, 21:09

rodzilla, is he around still?

yes we would have to wait for him or someone expierienced with python to write a nice little plugin for blender....

ok i will look into concrete, aluminum +steel...
System:AMD Phenom II x6 1055T @3.511ghz, 8GB DDR3 @1672.2mhz 9-9-9-24, Geforce GTX 275

rush2049
Trained
Trained
Posts: 88
Joined: 05 Sep 2006, 01:52
Location: Lancaster, PA
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by rush2049 » 19 Sep 2006, 21:16

Okay, I started this last friday....  and sadley because I couldn't post I felt like Ishouldn't continue, lol

so here it is as of now:

[img width=300 height=218]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v149/ ... xture1.jpg[/img]
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v149/ ... xture1.jpg

I have the sides done, or I should say rouged in... Iwill proceed to rough everything in from a few pictures I nabbed off the net...then I will up the resolution to 300 dpi or something and do some fine texturing work...

it turns out the hardest part of texturing UV is laying out the mesh in a usable manner. So the hardest is behind me...

tell me how you like it so far.
System:AMD Phenom II x6 1055T @3.511ghz, 8GB DDR3 @1672.2mhz 9-9-9-24, Geforce GTX 275

Suprano
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 31
Joined: 04 Aug 2006, 11:44
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: new headquarters and modeling - all here now.

Post by Suprano » 19 Sep 2006, 21:43

I knew python a long time ago (a year?) . i tryed to create Multiplayer Lobby for TA spring .

I have no idea of the Plugin Structure of Blender, but if really no one with more experince will do that, i can see what i can find out

--Ano

Post Reply