Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1+

Did you create a mod, map, music, or a tool? Present them here and earn feedback!
Note: addon requests do not belong here.
Note, everything uploaded to this forum, MUST have a license!

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Merowingg » 31 May 2012, 06:56

we do only want quality maps right?


Be careful now :lecture:

And yes it is interesting as Duda spotted, describe quality :hmm:

About tips.. there is the manual by Bluemaxima in FlaMe's thread, also NoQ did great one, and the link he has already posted :lecture:
“Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, and ideas are bulletproof.” - V

"Mark my words boy, Mark them well, I have survived your predecessors and I will survive you." - Merovingian

Regards - Mero
User avatar
Merowingg
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 2468
Joined: 15 Nov 2009, 13:05
Location: Poland

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby crass » 31 May 2012, 21:48

quality maps are ones that are not high oil and flat
they don't have choke points where units get stuck
they go the extra mile and don't make it look barren
they are pretty much even for all players
they are not flat
they are not high oil
they are not named NTW
crass
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 02:26

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby NoQ » 31 May 2012, 21:49

they don't have choke points where units get stuck
they are not flat
I guess i can derive from this that there are no quality maps (:
User avatar
NoQ
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 5986
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 11:35
Location: /var/zone

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby crass » 31 May 2012, 22:00

some maps only have room for 2-5 tiles to pass they need to have it at least 7-9 tiles wide to let units pass with no traffic jams
crass
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 113
Joined: 21 Mar 2012, 02:26

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Merowingg » 31 May 2012, 22:08

Medusa is that you? :hmm: :hmm: :hmm:

Or did Medusa send you? :hmm: :hmm: :hmm:

they don't have choke points where units get stuck

they are not flat

I guess i can derive from this that there are no quality maps (:


:laughingneq: :laughingneq: :laughingneq: :drinks: :drinks: :drinks: :rofl2: :rofl2: :rofl2: :lachen: :lachen: :lachen:
“Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, and ideas are bulletproof.” - V

"Mark my words boy, Mark them well, I have survived your predecessors and I will survive you." - Merovingian

Regards - Mero
User avatar
Merowingg
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 2468
Joined: 15 Nov 2009, 13:05
Location: Poland

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby JDW » 09 Jun 2012, 02:32

aubergine wrote:If there is a list of map making tips, I'd very much like someone to PM me a link to it as I want to add lots of documentation on that subject to the mods wiki I'm working on. :)


This is nothing to do with mapping tips. Here's a program called Map Printer [Details] which allows you to make like a print out of a map for the purpose of a preview.

Not sure if it is worth being included in your documentation in anyway, and neither am I sure about the license. (Hopefully public domain). Hmmm, not even sure if it works for the current version of maps.

Note: You'll find the Username and Password if you follow the links.
"Speak when you are angry and you will make the best speech you will ever regret."
-- Ambrose Bierce
User avatar
JDW
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1669
Joined: 18 May 2010, 20:44

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Slartifartbarstud » 09 Jun 2012, 14:51

Hey all, I've created some maps that I want to upload.
To what levels should I populate the bases?? For my own testing / playing purposes I give each player a command centre, 1 cyborg factory, 2 factories, 2 generators, 3 research facilities and 4 trucks. Is this enough to cover T3 to T1 starts and advanced/basic bases??? Should I add hardpoints and walls to create better advanced bases?
Also when compiling the maps I use the CC3.0 + GPl v2 setting, is this correct for 3.1??
Plus when I've done 3 and 6 player maps I get a message saying I must enable player support when compiling. Is this standard and will it affect anything in gameplay?
Looking forward to uploading the maps I've made. I use Flame 1.25 as a map creator btw.
Played Warzone since released on PS1 so hope I have made some challenging battle arenas!!
Be great to get some pointers before I upload, but once I do if some of you devs / moderators want to test and point out any improvements I'm always open for new ideas.
Slartifartbarstud
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 19 Mar 2012, 12:20
Location: UK

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Giani » 09 Jun 2012, 15:43

Idk what is the better choice, but for the bases I use 1 tank factory(whit 1 module), 1 cyborg factory, 2 power generators(whit modules), 2 research facilities(1 whit module), the command center and 3 trucks.
But you can't make a T3 and a T1 base, you can make only a base that will be the same in T1, T2 and T3. The only change is the technology you have.
For licenses : viewtopic.php?f=10&t=8094
And this isn't the right thread to ask that...
My maps: http://forums.wz2100.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=9501
User avatar
Giani
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 804
Joined: 23 Aug 2011, 22:42
Location: Argentina

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby aubergine » 09 Jun 2012, 23:59

@NoQ @JDW - thanks for links will check them out.
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO
User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: 10 Oct 2010, 00:58

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby JDW » 10 Jun 2012, 00:22

Slartifartbarstud wrote:To what levels should I populate the bases?? For my own testing / playing purposes I give each player a command centre, 1 cyborg factory, 2 factories, 2 generators, 3 research facilities and 4 trucks. Is this enough to cover T3 to T1 starts and advanced/basic bases??? Should I add hardpoints and walls to create better advanced bases?


You could try asking in the Mapping/Modding subforum. And perhaps the same question has already been asked before by others. You could also have a look at the stock maps which come with the releases. They should give you some perspective on what preferred maps look like.

Giani wrote:And this isn't the right thread to ask that...


Some posts may come off as being slightly off topic, it happens very often. It can't be helped. The best that you could do to help them would be to redirect them to where they could find exactly what they are looking for, rather than just telling them that they are asking in the wrong place.
"Speak when you are angry and you will make the best speech you will ever regret."
-- Ambrose Bierce
User avatar
JDW
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1669
Joined: 18 May 2010, 20:44

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Slartifartbarstud » 10 Jun 2012, 15:19

Cheers for the pointers, I've added a new topic in the showcase forum for a few of the maps I've done, Wanted to submit 3,5 and 6 player maps first as thats what is needed. Working on 7,9 and 10 player maps now, will post soon.
Slartifartbarstud
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 19 Mar 2012, 12:20
Location: UK

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Merowingg » 10 Jun 2012, 18:28

You see the 3, 6, 7, 9, 10 players maps fewer already begun :!:

No worries :!:

:ninja: :idea: < enlightened ninja for free today :lecture:
“Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, and ideas are bulletproof.” - V

"Mark my words boy, Mark them well, I have survived your predecessors and I will survive you." - Merovingian

Regards - Mero
User avatar
Merowingg
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 2468
Joined: 15 Nov 2009, 13:05
Location: Poland

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Slartifartbarstud » 14 Jun 2012, 13:16

Hey Guys, just created a 9 player map. Wanted to go with a lunar landscape pock-marked with meteorite craters and think the snow rendering really helps this. Map looks really good when played with Aubergines' 'starzone' sky mod!! Good luck!

9c-Craters.png


Craters Screenshot.png


9c-Craters.wz
(102.82 KiB) Downloaded 501 times
Slartifartbarstud
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 19 Mar 2012, 12:20
Location: UK

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Merowingg » 14 Jun 2012, 18:17

First thing that came to my mind is.. try to quckly set teams at both sides of thge map! :)
“Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, and ideas are bulletproof.” - V

"Mark my words boy, Mark them well, I have survived your predecessors and I will survive you." - Merovingian

Regards - Mero
User avatar
Merowingg
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 2468
Joined: 15 Nov 2009, 13:05
Location: Poland

Re: Maps needed for inclusion into 3.1

Postby Giani » 20 Jun 2012, 03:11

My maps: http://forums.wz2100.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=9501
User avatar
Giani
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 804
Joined: 23 Aug 2011, 22:42
Location: Argentina

PreviousNext

Return to Addon discussions