I got bored…

Did you create a mod, map, music, or a tool? Present them here and earn feedback!
Note: addon requests do not belong here.
Note, everything uploaded to this forum, MUST have a license!
User avatar
Black NEXUS
Trained
Trained
Posts: 100
Joined: 12 Sep 2009, 14:11
Location: Germany

Re: I got bored…

Post by Black NEXUS » 11 Jan 2010, 21:28

5, I thought would be the maximum of 4 weapons?

Anyway, someone has a solution for the problem found? If not, the developer would assume the Case?
Join NeoX-Virt - The Software-Forge on neox-virt.de

User avatar
Mysteryem
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 728
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 19:44
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I got bored…

Post by Mysteryem » 11 Jan 2010, 22:00

Black NEXUS wrote:5, I thought would be the maximum of 4 weapons?

Anyway, someone has a solution for the problem found? If not, the developer would assume the Case?
Glad to see you've arrived from the german forum Black NEXUS. And yes, I have noticed numerous problems with the SAM fortress including the one you described. Again, you are correct, the maximum is 4 weapons. Being able to design your own defences has been talked about a lot, I'm not sure how far it got though.
"...If pure awesomeness were bricks, this would be the Great Wall of China...
The glory of this has collapsed on its self so far, that even the neutrons have collapsed."

User avatar
Black NEXUS
Trained
Trained
Posts: 100
Joined: 12 Sep 2009, 14:11
Location: Germany

Re: I got bored…

Post by Black NEXUS » 11 Jan 2010, 23:24

Ok, it was the problem that the weapons can operate independently of each other, what the combination of weapons, either ground targets only, or only attack air targets makes this impossible.
I hope everyone can now understand, my english is not very good.
Join NeoX-Virt - The Software-Forge on neox-virt.de

Thyranim
Trained
Trained
Posts: 188
Joined: 20 Dec 2008, 16:35
Location: Germany

Re: I got bored…

Post by Thyranim » 13 Jan 2010, 01:22

Black NEXUS wrote:Ok, it was the problem that the weapons can operate independently of each other, what the combination of weapons, either ground targets only, or only attack air targets makes this impossible.
I hope everyone can now understand, my english is not very good.
to hopefully correct this one:

the weapons are assigned to the unit
so when the unit targets another unit, than all weapons are going to attack the target
so black nexus wanted to say, that the weapons "can not" operate independently, right ?
System: Intel C2D E8400 3,0GHz // 8,0 GB RAM // nVidia GTX285 2GB // Windows Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

User avatar
Mysteryem
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 728
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 19:44
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: I got bored…

Post by Mysteryem » 13 Jan 2010, 12:46

Yes, multiple weapons on a structure cannot operate individually. Each weapon attempts to shoot at the unit which is closest to the center of the structure. This means that if two enemies aproach it from both sides the fortress will target the first one and then the second one, instead of having two of the turrets take down one enemy and the other two take down the other enemy.
"...If pure awesomeness were bricks, this would be the Great Wall of China...
The glory of this has collapsed on its self so far, that even the neutrons have collapsed."

User avatar
Tenoh
Trained
Trained
Posts: 359
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 15:06

Re: I got bored…

Post by Tenoh » 15 Jan 2010, 22:10

Nice work,makes me drool!
I have an idea.Since 1 hardpoint cant handle more then 1 weapon with out bugs,why cant we make the fortress be put together by more then one hard point but build as one building.Hope this makes sense.
"No, you don't want to buy this Sh[beep]t from me. It shoots sideways, it was built by retard zombies in some f[beep]king outreach program." HL:G

User avatar
TheBurlak20
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 19
Joined: 22 Jan 2009, 01:45
Location: Poland

Re: I got bored…

Post by TheBurlak20 » 15 Jan 2010, 22:59

Excellent fortresses. Somebody has mod with these buildings ?

Mod isn't work with the latest version of the game. I found it on previous sides of this topic.
I am using the version 2.3 Beta 7
My English sucks...

Mr Noob
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 21
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:45
Location: UK, england

Re: I got bored…

Post by Mr Noob » 23 Mar 2010, 11:39

Thyranim wrote:
Black NEXUS wrote:Ok, it was the problem that the weapons can operate independently of each other, what the combination of weapons, either ground targets only, or only attack air targets makes this impossible.
I hope everyone can now understand, my english is not very good.
to hopefully correct this one:

the weapons are assigned to the unit
so when the unit targets another unit, than all weapons are going to attack the target
so black nexus wanted to say, that the weapons "can not" operate independently, right ?
if the turrets targets the enemy units that is closest to centre of the building, then why don't you change it.
so that the turrets will target the enemy unit that is closest to the turret and not the centre of the building, there for each weapon will work individual.

that's if it's even possible to do this, without too much work.

Mr Noob
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 21
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:45
Location: UK, england

Re: I got bored…

Post by Mr Noob » 23 Mar 2010, 11:40

ps,is there a mod and will it work on warzone 2.2.4 and nice work

Armalizilto
Greenhorn
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Apr 2010, 07:56

Re: I got bored…

Post by Armalizilto » 14 Jul 2010, 13:52

Wow :shock:

User avatar
Verin
Trained
Trained
Posts: 313
Joined: 11 Jun 2010, 00:08
Location: Chicago suburbs USA
Contact:

Re: I got bored…

Post by Verin » 17 Sep 2010, 01:52

MAKE IT
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: I got bored…

Post by Zarel » 17 Sep 2010, 02:10

Verin wrote:MAKE IT
He already did. o_O

User avatar
Wibble199
Trained
Trained
Posts: 194
Joined: 21 Feb 2010, 13:58
Location: Object(root)

Re: I got bored…

Post by Wibble199 » 18 Sep 2010, 02:49

Is it a mod then?

User avatar
Roach
Greenhorn
Posts: 7
Joined: 11 Sep 2010, 05:58

Re: I got bored…

Post by Roach » 18 Sep 2010, 03:06

Ah, I remember downloading this a few weeks ago. I coded it ingame to work as a heavy vehicle factory and it works well but with major drawbacks:

1. After being built, the team color texture of the fortress goes nuts as it keeps cycling its team colors per second in order green, orange,...and so on and repeats. (this could be a good reason why factories visually don't have team colors by default)

2. Loading save game causes the fortress to be replaced with a factory module. (very odd, to over come this I have to demolish and rebuild it so it can appear as a fortress again.) :S

other than that, the only benefit is that its a factory with guns. :P

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: I got bored…

Post by Zarel » 18 Sep 2010, 03:55

Wibble199 wrote:Is it a mod then?
Yes, it's a mod that can be downloaded here: viewtopic.php?p=24467#p24467

Post Reply