Cartoon tileset experiment

Did you create a mod, map, music, or a tool? Present them here and earn feedback!
Note: addon requests do not belong here.
Note, everything uploaded to this forum, MUST have a license!
User avatar
Merowingg
Regular
Regular
Posts: 2468
Joined: 15 Nov 2009, 13:05
Location: Poland

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by Merowingg » 26 Oct 2012, 13:19

hehe, they seem to be rotated in all kinds of directions :P
Well not only were they drunk while making the train, but also their IQ or shall I say level of technology is not so advanced so the train looks as it looks :P

I really like your models, they are so nice to look at, I dont know if it is the colours or what, but really cool.
“Beneath this mask there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask there is an idea, and ideas are bulletproof.” - V

"Mark my words boy, Mark them well, I have survived your predecessors and I will survive you." - Merovingian

Regards - Mero

felipe
Trained
Trained
Posts: 63
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 20:19

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by felipe » 26 Oct 2012, 18:46

Guy's

can someone explain me what's happening to this building ?
wz2100-20121026_133905-F_structref-T1.jpg
I don't know why things work this way, bus at least I managed to make loog good the painting of the acme commercial on the floor XD

raycast
Trained
Trained
Posts: 131
Joined: 12 Sep 2012, 19:16

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by raycast » 27 Oct 2012, 22:04

I love this idea.

Maybe we can use Toon Shaders for the models? Then we could probably use some very simple textures for the models; mostly solid colors.

http://www.google.com/search?tbm=isch&q ... der+opengl

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1956
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by Jorzi » 28 Oct 2012, 17:16

Toon shaders are pretty simple, the simplest would of course be unshaded mode, which would probably work really well. Edge lines, however, would need to be implemented as a postprocessing filter.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1956
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by Jorzi » 28 Oct 2012, 23:10

Drew some outlines on felipe's grass texture ;)
Attachments
page-88-grass-arizona.png
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

felipe
Trained
Trained
Posts: 63
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 20:19

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by felipe » 29 Oct 2012, 17:46

Nice texture Jorzi.

I'm having some PC problems.
The power went out two times, the second during the filesystem check.... this already happened to me, without conseguences.
But not this time.

The system now is almost ok, there is some weird libs problem that prevent dri/drm/opengl to work.
arghh

I'm bored :augh: .
And really in need of an UPS.

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1956
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by Jorzi » 29 Oct 2012, 19:03

Sorry to hear that... Have you tried reinstalling the graphics drivers?

In the worst case, you can always back up all files and format the whole system partition, reinstalling windows...
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

raycast
Trained
Trained
Posts: 131
Joined: 12 Sep 2012, 19:16

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by raycast » 29 Oct 2012, 20:05

If you are a Debian or Ubuntu user, the following may help to reinstall all packages:

Code: Select all

dpkg --get-selections | while read pkg status; do aptitude reinstall $pkg; done

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1956
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by Jorzi » 29 Oct 2012, 23:43

Got the factory base done today...
Attachments
page-9-player-buildings-bases.png
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

Im_Useless
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 19
Joined: 21 Sep 2012, 18:48

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by Im_Useless » 31 Oct 2012, 15:54

cant wait for this to be finished lol, looks amazing

felipe
Trained
Trained
Posts: 63
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 20:19

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by felipe » 31 Oct 2012, 20:08

I have my home workstation working again. XD XD XD

The crazy thing is that I run into this #3679 bug while restoring/upgrading from the disaster.
Until I casually found that tiket, it drove me really crazy.

I'm on FreeBSD with an ATI card, no way, glew-1.9 make warzone crash (but not the opengl demos....).

At work again :shock:

User avatar
Rman Virgil
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3812
Joined: 25 Sep 2006, 01:06
Location: USA

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by Rman Virgil » 01 Nov 2012, 03:46

felipe wrote:Guy's

can someone explain me what's happening to this building ?
wz2100-20121026_133905-F_structref-T1.jpg
I don't know why things work this way, bus at least I managed to make loog good the painting of the acme commercial on the floor XD
As to those graphic glitches...

I've seen such with the same texture page # used with differing art as can happen when auto loading 2 mods. Recently its happened to me running AR mod and USAI mod. Just a minor graphic glitch manifesting in the oil resource visual (so far the only one I've detected). But if this scenario doesn't fit your circumstance, I don't know of any other possible culprit.
.

Jorzi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1956
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by Jorzi » 02 Nov 2012, 13:38

Textured the command center.
I also remodeled it according to this picture.
What do you think? (the new one is 166 triangles compared to 49 for the old one)
Attachments
page-12-player-buildings.png
hq_preview_1.jpg
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-

User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3459
Joined: 10 Oct 2010, 00:58
Contact:

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by aubergine » 02 Nov 2012, 19:39

That's a big improvement, it looks more beefy and worthy of being a HQ.
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO

raycast
Trained
Trained
Posts: 131
Joined: 12 Sep 2012, 19:16

Re: Cartoon tileset experiment

Post by raycast » 02 Nov 2012, 20:08

As there aren't that many command centers around on a map (and on the screen at the same time) that should not make a huge difference. Does the new model work with the old texture, too?

Post Reply