All campaign discussions go here.
Tips / tricks & help!
Skrim
Trained
Trained

Hi.

Post by Skrim »

Hi.

I'm new to Warzone. I downloaded WZ 2100 version 2.0.10 about 2 weeks ago, but haven't been able to play much.

I've played the Alpha Campaign up to mission 7, but got tired by the slow trickle of technology in the campaign and headed for Skirmish mode instead to try out VTOLs, Hover propulsion, water maps, Nexus equipment, advanced weapons, etc.

I played a game at Basingstoke(4 player map) against 3 extremely dumb-level AIs to learn some basics and get a bearing on how to handle VTOLs, and eventually won without building a single ground combat unit - just various combat VTOLs, stock-spec Trucks, Combat Engineer cyborgs, and a Cyborg Transport to carry that engineer team around.

The second game I played was on the Valley map, against slightly harder but still sub-normal AIs. Again, I tried a similar strategy of rushing to VTOLs, holding off the enemy attack, and then going on the offensive. I won that game too.

My most recent Skirmish game was on the large 8-player Manhattan map, against 4 almost-normal AIs. I shall now AAR it just for fun, and hopefully for comments on how to improve my play:
_______________________________________________________________________________________________
I started on the eastern side of the central island(presumably what Manhattan would look like after being severely nuked in the story) as Green Faction. I built 5 more Trucks and 3 more Research Facilities, upgrading my Power Generator and Research Facilities ASAP before beginning the VTOL tech rush. I also built a barrier of Machine-Gun Bunkers to the west of my base to hold off the slowly strengthening attack of my island-mate, Blue Faction, before exploring a bit and finding a convenient extra Oil Derrick, which I soon began harnessing.