Sensors

Here you may talk about Warzone's Gameplay, Strategy & Tactics
Post Reply
User avatar
Rommel
Trained
Trained
Posts: 446
Joined: 03 Nov 2012, 19:44

Sensors

Post by Rommel » 14 Jan 2013, 22:18

Say you create a droid with a sensor turret does it automatically target the enemy with your artillery emplacements or do you need to click on the enemy? Same question with artillery units.
Moving back instead of forward
Seems to me absurd
~
Metallica - Eye of the beholder

User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3459
Joined: 10 Oct 2010, 00:58
Contact:

Re: Sensors

Post by aubergine » 14 Jan 2013, 23:24

Yes, but it works much, much better if you actually tell it to target something.

I often build arty within range of enemy base, or have units with arty turrets in such location, and then send sensor droids in targeted to various structures or enemy units, often taking out enemy sensors first.

If you've got lots of long range weapons, particularly arty/ripples/archs, getting a sensor to lock on to a group of enemy droids can be quite devastating -- once the target droid is destroyed, your long range weapons will usually fire a few more salvos at droids nearby.

If you assign weapon droids to a sensor, they'll still fire at stuff randomly, but will focus their fire on whatever the sensor locks on to, which can be really useful when you want some dedicated units for taking out enemy sensors, etc.
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO

User avatar
Rommel
Trained
Trained
Posts: 446
Joined: 03 Nov 2012, 19:44

Re: Sensors

Post by Rommel » 15 Jan 2013, 22:42

Aubergine, thanks for the info, I appreciate it.
Moving back instead of forward
Seems to me absurd
~
Metallica - Eye of the beholder

User avatar
Stratadrake
Trained
Trained
Posts: 197
Joined: 07 Sep 2008, 09:43
Location: Pacific NW
Contact:

Re: Sensors

Post by Stratadrake » 20 Jan 2013, 20:07

In 3.1 RC artillery emplacements will target anything inside your known total sensor coverage whether you designate it as a target or not, and regardless of who or what did the spotting. Which is a bug. Normally, only commander units can authorize fire-support from artillery pits, sensor units cannot.
Strata @dA, @FAC

User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3459
Joined: 10 Oct 2010, 00:58
Contact:

Re: Sensors

Post by aubergine » 20 Jan 2013, 20:10

IMHO sensor droids are just mobile sensors so why can't they instruct arty to fire at their targets?
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO

Post Reply