Alpha stops running after 5 min

Do you need help? Ask here!

Bug reporting belongs here: http://developer.wz2100.net/newticket
cybersphinx
Inactive
Inactive
Posts: 1691
Joined: 01 Sep 2006, 19:17

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by cybersphinx » 01 Aug 2011, 03:54

World of Warcraft has an OpenGL mode, and probably all ID games since Quake. Most Humble Indie Bundle games as well I guess, though at least some use D3D on Windows I think.
We want information... information... information.

Sick0
Trained
Trained
Posts: 41
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 01:40

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Sick0 » 01 Aug 2011, 19:55

Yeah I am experiencing issues that point to a mem leak. Suppose I will try and run some other OpenGL pgms as well to see if it's isolated to WZ. BTW: GeForce 9800GT, card / chip are you using?

Other Specs:

Code: Select all

Manufacturer	ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Model	M3A78-CM
Version	Rev X.0x
Serial Number	MF7088G02803222
	
North Bridge	AMD 780G Revision 00
South Bridge	AMD SB700 Revision 00
	
CPU	AMD Phenom(tm) 9750 Quad-Core Processor
Cpu Socket	Socket AM2+ (940)
	
System Slots	4 PCI
	
Memory Summary	
Maximum Capacity	8192 MBytes
Memory Slots	4
Error Correction	None
Sick0

User avatar
Firechkn34
Trained
Trained
Posts: 108
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 22:07
Location: Ijamsville, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Firechkn34 » 02 Aug 2011, 15:27

It's just a built in graphics card on the motherboard. I think my computer refers to it as "Intel HD graphics" or somethings. Nothing special but it should be enough to run Warzone without problem.

Also I have detected another memory leak in another openGL program. Minecraft apparently is an openGL game. I ran it and watched the memory usage in the task manager. Starts at ~370,000K and 3 minutes later? +700,000K! :shock: That might explain the extreme lag I get after a few mintues of playing the game?

Any though after this new devlopment?
Dies Irae: Day of Wrath

cybersphinx
Inactive
Inactive
Posts: 1691
Joined: 01 Sep 2006, 19:17

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by cybersphinx » 02 Aug 2011, 16:21

Complain to Intel about their crappy drivers?
We want information... information... information.

Sick0
Trained
Trained
Posts: 41
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 01:40

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Sick0 » 02 Aug 2011, 16:39

Yeah it's still in this new build as well. I tried several OpenGL games yesterday on my system and none of them had the problems I am getting with WZ atm.

User avatar
Firechkn34
Trained
Trained
Posts: 108
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 22:07
Location: Ijamsville, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Firechkn34 » 02 Aug 2011, 23:04

:annoyed: Guess I'll wait till a stable version comes out and see if the problem continues then. And I really liked this game too :cry:

Well anyway, Thank you all for your help. :D
Dies Irae: Day of Wrath

Sick0
Trained
Trained
Posts: 41
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 01:40

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Sick0 » 02 Aug 2011, 23:35

Can you not play the 2.3.8 Ver.?
Firechkn34 wrote::annoyed: Guess I'll wait till a stable version comes out and see if the problem continues then. And I really liked this game too :cry:

Well anyway, Thank you all for your help. :D

User avatar
Firechkn34
Trained
Trained
Posts: 108
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 22:07
Location: Ijamsville, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Firechkn34 » 03 Aug 2011, 14:49

I can.... but I like all of the new graphics and really wanted to play with them.
Dies Irae: Day of Wrath

test
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 16:46

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by test » 03 Aug 2011, 16:38

maybe try reisntalling ur graphic drivesr?

Sick0
Trained
Trained
Posts: 41
Joined: 06 Jul 2011, 01:40

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Sick0 » 03 Aug 2011, 17:56

Same here! :(
Firechkn34 wrote:I can.... but I like all of the new graphics and really wanted to play with them.

User avatar
Firechkn34
Trained
Trained
Posts: 108
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 22:07
Location: Ijamsville, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Firechkn34 » 05 Aug 2011, 15:43

I shall give that a try.
Dies Irae: Day of Wrath

medusa
Trained
Trained
Posts: 175
Joined: 25 Jul 2011, 01:56

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by medusa » 07 Aug 2011, 05:52

here is a list I found http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_OpenGL_programs
  • 18 Wheels of Steel
    Alien Arena 2008
    America's Army (Mac OS X and Linux versions)
    American McGee's Alice
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent
    Aquaria
    Arkanoid: Space Ball
    Baldur's Gate 2 – Defaults to D3D
    Brink
    BZFlag
    Bus Driver
    Celestia
    City of Heroes
    City of Villains
    Call of Duty (series)
    Commandos
    Cortex Command
    Counter-Strike
    Darwinia - Defaults to D3D
    Deus Ex - Defaults to D3D
    Doom 3
    Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil
    Droid Assault
    Dwarf Fortress
    Earth 2150
    Enemy Territory: Quake Wars
    Far Cry – Defaults to D3D
    Frets On Fire
    FlightGear
    FooBilliard
    Half-Life series
    Half-Life 2 series (Mac OS X versions)
    Heretic II
    Heroes of Newerth
    Hexen II
    Hitman
    Homeworld 2
    Hotei's Jewels: Relax
    IL-2 Sturmovik
    Keepsake
    Left 4 Dead (Mac OS X version)
    Left 4 Dead 2 (Mac OS X version)
    Max Payne
    Minecraft
    Neverball and Neverputt
    Neverwinter Nights
    Nexuiz
    OpenArena
    osu!
    Pacific Fighters [1]
    Penumbra: Overture
    Penumbra: Black Plague
    Penumbra: Requiem
    Performous
    Portal (Mac OS X version)
    Portal 2 (Mac OS X version)
    Prey
    Quake series
    Rage (upcoming)
    Red Faction
    Regnum Online
    Return to Castle Wolfenstein
    RuneScape (High Detail Mode) - Uses the Java OpenGL library
    Savage: The Battle for Newerth
    Savage 2: A Tortured Soul
    Scorched 3D
    Second Life
    Serious Sam
    Serious Sam 2
    Soldier of Fortune series
    Shogo: Mobile Armor Division (in the Linux, AmigaOS, and Mac OS X versions)
    Ski-Doo X Team Racing
    Spore
    Spring
    StarCraft II (Mac OS X version)
    Starsiege: Tribes
    Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy
    Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic
    Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II The Sith Lords
    StepMania
    Stronghold
    The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay
    Team Fortress
    Team Fortress 2 (Mac OS X versions)
    Titan Attacks
    TORCS
    Trainz
    Tribes 2
    Tux Racer
    Ultratron
    Unreal Gold – Defaults to 3dfx Glide
    Unreal Tournament
    Unreal Tournament 2003
    Unreal Tournament 2004
    Urban Terror
    Warzone 2100
    Warcraft 3 - Defaults to D3D in Windows
    Wolfenstein
    Wolfenstein: Enemy Territory
    World of Goo
    World of Warcraft - Defaults to D3D in Windows
    Worms: Reloaded
    Wurm Online
    X-Plane

User avatar
noname1208
Trained
Trained
Posts: 101
Joined: 19 Jul 2011, 13:50
Location: Texas U.S.A.

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by noname1208 » 07 Aug 2011, 21:44

I have EXACT same problem but on windows 7 :annoyed: but i beat you, i reached 1,316,000kb :lol2: :wink:
"The one who looks on from the shadows and silently observes learns the most and is not shunned by either side"

User avatar
Firechkn34
Trained
Trained
Posts: 108
Joined: 06 Feb 2009, 22:07
Location: Ijamsville, MD USA
Contact:

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by Firechkn34 » 07 Aug 2011, 22:56

Mine is windows 7...but I guess you have more memory to allocate to warzone. What graphics card/driver are you using?
Dies Irae: Day of Wrath

User avatar
noname1208
Trained
Trained
Posts: 101
Joined: 19 Jul 2011, 13:50
Location: Texas U.S.A.

Re: Alpha stops running after 5 min

Post by noname1208 » 07 Aug 2011, 23:24

Mobile Intel(R) 4 Seiries Express Chipset Family, I think that this is the right thing :?
"The one who looks on from the shadows and silently observes learns the most and is not shunned by either side"

Post Reply