Help with map editor - on mac

Do you need help? Ask here!

Bug reporting belongs here: http://developer.wz2100.net/newticket
User avatar
Verin
Trained
Trained
Posts: 313
Joined: 11 Jun 2010, 00:08
Location: Chicago suburbs USA
Contact:

Help with map editor - on mac

Post by Verin » 24 Sep 2010, 00:45

Ok Ive been sitting on this for awhile and Now im seriously determined to make some kick ass maps, but im limited to a mac. I know there is something called fire? to make maps on mac.

I don't care what i have to do, as long as it works, im willing. Just include a step-by-step thing if it's complicated.
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.

Dalton
Trained
Trained
Posts: 361
Joined: 11 Jan 2010, 19:41
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by Dalton » 24 Sep 2010, 22:13

Verin wrote:Ok Ive been sitting on this for awhile and Now im seriously determined to make some kick ass maps, but im limited to a mac. I know there is something called fire? to make maps on mac.

I don't care what i have to do, as long as it works, im willing. Just include a step-by-step thing if it's complicated.
flaME for Mac, never tried it but I think it is the only one for Mac's currently. For basic controls see here, BlueMaxima also wrote a guide for it.

User avatar
Verin
Trained
Trained
Posts: 313
Joined: 11 Jun 2010, 00:08
Location: Chicago suburbs USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by Verin » 25 Sep 2010, 02:28

How do i run this from the terminal?
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.

User avatar
skellr
Trained
Trained
Posts: 72
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 15:58

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by skellr » 25 Sep 2010, 14:09

Verin wrote:How do i run this from the terminal?
Try it with mono.

Code: Select all

mono flaME.exe

User avatar
Verin
Trained
Trained
Posts: 313
Joined: 11 Jun 2010, 00:08
Location: Chicago suburbs USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by Verin » 26 Sep 2010, 18:18

Code: Select all

Macintosh:~ austin$     mono flaME.exe
-bash: mono: command not found
Am i doing this right?

i downloaded the file debug2.7z - the topic said it was a mac download for flame.
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.

User avatar
macuser
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1052
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 23:35
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by macuser » 27 Sep 2010, 16:00

you need the mono runtime for it - just google "mono for mac" and download it
ArtRev Website

ImageImage

System: AMD Phenom II x4, 4GB RAM, 640GB HD, Nvidia GeForce GT 240 1GB, Mac OS X 10.6

User avatar
Verin
Trained
Trained
Posts: 313
Joined: 11 Jun 2010, 00:08
Location: Chicago suburbs USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by Verin » 28 Sep 2010, 04:27

Code: Select all

Macintosh:~ austin$ mono flaME.exe
Cannot open assembly 'flaME.exe': No such file or directory.
ok what do i need to download, a link. I downloaded the one in the thread provided by the 2nd poster
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.

User avatar
macuser
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1052
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 23:35
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by macuser » 28 Sep 2010, 15:18

ArtRev Website

ImageImage

System: AMD Phenom II x4, 4GB RAM, 640GB HD, Nvidia GeForce GT 240 1GB, Mac OS X 10.6

User avatar
Verin
Trained
Trained
Posts: 313
Joined: 11 Jun 2010, 00:08
Location: Chicago suburbs USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by Verin » 29 Sep 2010, 04:11

still no go

Code: Select all

Macintosh:~ austin$ mono flaME.exe
Cannot open assembly 'flaME.exe': No such file or directory.
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.

PJTmac
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Sep 2010, 22:39

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by PJTmac » 29 Sep 2010, 23:29

hey all - I'm also hoping to get the map editor up and running is OSX . . . can't get either of the files linked by macuser to extract though, terminal says they do not have a valid CIL image . . . I was also confused by the instructions to rename them and put them in the same directory (which i did) . . .

i tried using EZ 7z at first, didn't work, then i tried extracting them in terminal using mono as suggested above - very much a fish out of water here, i admit . . . help?

has anyone got the mapeditor working on OSX from those files?

viewtopic.php?p=54545#p54545

User avatar
macuser
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1052
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 23:35
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by macuser » 30 Sep 2010, 04:25

Verin wrote:
still no go

Code: Select all

Macintosh:~ austin$ mono flaME.exe
Cannot open assembly 'flaME.exe': No such file or directory.
No no no. You type "mono" then drag flame.exe onto the terminal to get the path to it and THEN hit enter

It should look like this "mono /folder/folderb/flame.exe"
ArtRev Website

ImageImage

System: AMD Phenom II x4, 4GB RAM, 640GB HD, Nvidia GeForce GT 240 1GB, Mac OS X 10.6

User avatar
Verin
Trained
Trained
Posts: 313
Joined: 11 Jun 2010, 00:08
Location: Chicago suburbs USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by Verin » 30 Sep 2010, 21:46

Making progress??

Code: Select all

Macintosh:~ austin$ mono
Usage is: mono [options] program [program-options]

Development:
    --aot                  Compiles the assembly to native code
    --debug[=<options>]    Enable debugging support, use --help-debug for details
    --debugger-agent=options Enable the debugger agent
    --profile[=profiler]   Runs in profiling mode with the specified profiler module
    --trace[=EXPR]         Enable tracing, use --help-trace for details
    --help-devel           Shows more options available to developers

Runtime:
    --config FILE          Loads FILE as the Mono config
    --verbose, -v          Increases the verbosity level
    --help, -h             Show usage information
    --version, -V          Show version information
    --runtime=VERSION      Use the VERSION runtime, instead of autodetecting
    --optimize=OPT         Turns on or off a specific optimization
                           Use --list-opt to get a list of optimizations
    --security[=mode]      Turns on the unsupported security manager (off by default)
                           mode is one of cas, core-clr, verifiable or validil
    --attach=OPTIONS       Pass OPTIONS to the attach agent in the runtime.
                           Currently the only supported option is 'disable'.
Macintosh:~ austin$ /Users/austin/Desktop/MonoFramework-2.6.7_3.macos10.novell.universal.dmg 
-bash: /Users/austin/Desktop/MonoFramework-2.6.7_3.macos10.novell.universal.dmg: Permission denied
after the textwall popped up i added the file tot he terminal and it said permission denied.
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.

User avatar
macuser
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1052
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 23:35
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by macuser » 30 Sep 2010, 21:57

steps

1. install mono from the link i provided
2. download and extract the 7z files that contain flaME
3. open terminal
4. type mono and then hit the spacebar once
5. navigate to the location where you extracted flaME and select flaME.exe
6. drag flaME.exe onto the terminal window
7. hit enter once back in the terminal window
8. it may take a while to launch the first time - be patient

what you did was to drag the mono install dmg onto the terminal instead of typing mono + space and THEN dragging on flaME.exe
ArtRev Website

ImageImage

System: AMD Phenom II x4, 4GB RAM, 640GB HD, Nvidia GeForce GT 240 1GB, Mac OS X 10.6

User avatar
Verin
Trained
Trained
Posts: 313
Joined: 11 Jun 2010, 00:08
Location: Chicago suburbs USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by Verin » 01 Oct 2010, 02:05

How do i extract debug7z?

clicking it opens a console with a billion symbols.
My multiplayer name is Verin
Usually in ideas and suggestions.
I Am also an ASE certified technician.

User avatar
macuser
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1052
Joined: 19 Mar 2010, 23:35
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Help with map editor - on mac

Post by macuser » 01 Oct 2010, 15:50

First download a program to extract this kind of zip file - http://wakaba.c3.cx/s/apps/unarchiver.html

rename: (note: they must be done exactly as is written)

Debug.7z to Debug.7z.001

Debug2.7z to Debug.7z.002

the reason you have to go through these hoops is because of the forum upload system.
then extract Debug.7z.001 with the unarchiver linked above. (note: by extracting the first file, both will be extracted - that is why we did the renaming)
ArtRev Website

ImageImage

System: AMD Phenom II x4, 4GB RAM, 640GB HD, Nvidia GeForce GT 240 1GB, Mac OS X 10.6

Post Reply