installing the package gave an error!

Do you need help? Ask here!

Bug reporting belongs here: http://developer.wz2100.net/newticket
Post Reply
bromsnor
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Jan 2007, 21:28

installing the package gave an error!

Post by bromsnor » 01 Jan 2007, 21:45

Hi,

I tried to install the new 2.0.5 version and got an error. ( linux ubuntu 6.10 edgy eft )
In my frustration forgot  to note which error.

But when i am trying it again i get a
"An unkown error has occured ( exit status 14 )"
And the installer stops. How can i get any further ? :'(

Bromsnor

Hitman
Greenhorn
Posts: 13
Joined: 28 Dec 2006, 22:35

Re: installing the package gave an error!

Post by Hitman » 01 Jan 2007, 22:49

You could compile it from source.

User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: installing the package gave an error!

Post by DevUrandom » 01 Jan 2007, 23:09

Did you try to run the installer from a console?
If yes: Was "An unkown error has occured ( exit status 14 )" the only output?

bromsnor
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Jan 2007, 21:28

Re: installing the package gave an error!

Post by bromsnor » 02 Jan 2007, 23:46

Yes it is the only output.

Tried now on a command line : sudo ./warzone2100-2.0.5.package
That gave: FAIL:Install the package with the command 'package install' instead.
So i tried: sudo package install ./warzone2100-2.0.5.package
Which results in: Protocol version mismatched (expected 6, but got 7).
Please ensure your installation of autopackage is correct.

Tried also to compile but configure says their is no physfs lib.
But the normal version is installed but not dev version.

Bromsnor

User avatar
DevUrandom
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1690
Joined: 31 Jul 2006, 23:14

Re: installing the package gave an error!

Post by DevUrandom » 03 Jan 2007, 01:30

Well, to compile you need the dev version (additionaly), as that's the one with the headers.

That protocol version mismatch looks like there is some AutoPackage version installed which is somehow incompatible...

Run "package list" both as your normal user and root and "package uninstall" all packages with autopackage in their name. Then try to install the package again. I'd recommend to not install it systemwide, as long as it is not going to be used by other useraccounts also.

Post Reply