Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Do you need help? Ask here!

Bug reporting belongs here: http://developer.wz2100.net/newticket

Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby Drosera » 14 Jan 2015, 20:19

From the sounds of things, this problems comes up quite a bit. Sorry to be yet another in a long line of the same.

My husband and I are trying to set up the game to play together. Both on desktop PC's, Windows 7, connected through a router. I'm trying to host the game, and I get the 'port 2100 not connected' error. We are using a Linksys router, and I believe I have set it up properly ( 192.168.1.my number, 2100 for both internal and external ports, udp and tcp selected, and even the checkbox at the end of the line is ticked) I have set this up both on Single Port Forwarding and Port Range forwarding. And for the sake of debugging, I have turned the windows Firewall off altogether.

Still the error message occurs.

Have I done alright so far? Have I missed anything?

Thanks in advance. :)
Drosera
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 May 2011, 02:23
Location: Canada

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby Cyp » 14 Jan 2015, 20:24

Try ignoring the error when hosting, and connect via IP. I think the error means that noone can connect from outside your network.
Cyp
Evitcani
Evitcani
 
Posts: 691
Joined: 17 Jan 2010, 23:35

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby Drosera » 14 Jan 2015, 20:35

Thanks for the response, but no, doesn't seem to work. Hit the 'start hosting button' on my pc, then tried to connect from husband's, and it only gives the lobby, and nothing else.
Drosera
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 May 2011, 02:23
Location: Canada

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby Terminator » 14 Jan 2015, 20:38

make sure on both sides nothing blocks warzone2100, like firewalls or anti-viruses. add application to exceptions.
Death is the only way out... sh*t Happens !

Russian-speaking Social network Group http://vk.com/warzone2100
User avatar
Terminator
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1052
Joined: 05 Aug 2006, 13:46
Location: Ukraine

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby Drosera » 14 Jan 2015, 20:44

Yup, just verified. Warzone, and the ports, are permitted in both his Firewall and Anti-virus. Still no go.
Drosera
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 May 2011, 02:23
Location: Canada

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby stiv » 14 Jan 2015, 21:11

Are you trying to play through the WZ lobby or on your local network?

Is your operating system running a firewall in addition to your router?
stiv
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
 
Posts: 876
Joined: 18 Jul 2008, 04:41
Location: 45N 86W

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby Drosera » 15 Jan 2015, 02:46

I would prefer to be playing just through our LAN. But whenever I type my personal ip in his game, it does bring me to the lobby.

When trying to work on this, I'm disabling the Windows Firewall and the Anti-virus on both machines. If there's anything beyond this, I'm unaware of it.
Drosera
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 07 May 2011, 02:23
Location: Canada

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby vexed » 15 Jan 2015, 04:52

For the router, it is NOT needed to port forward internal ports to the LAN, in fact, that can screw things up.
Port forwarding is used for external connections to the machine hosting the game.
So, if you are hosting on 192.168.1.55, then the port forward should be TCP port 2100 for 192.168.1.55.

You don't mention which specific router you have, but, usually the cheap ones won't let you go through the lobby to connect to your game, if you are both on the same subnet.

Now, with that out of the way:
Step 1: disable AV & firewall. (Some AV's also have firewalls as well).
Step 2: run warzone, select MP, setup what you want, then hit start hosting button. If the router has the ports open for WZ to this machine, then you will be shown in the lobby, so, either make the game private, or change the masterserver_name=lobby.wz2100.net in the config file to masterserver_name=127.0.0.1 or whatever.
Step 3: WZ should be waiting for connections. Verify this by opening a admin level command prompt and typing in netstat -na |find "2100" and you will see:
Code: Select all
  TCP    0.0.0.0:2100           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    [::]:2100              [::]:0                 LISTENING

As you can see, it is saying both IPv4 and IPv6 port 2100 (TCP) is waiting (listening) for connections.

That is all you need to verify.
Now, the other machine should connect via IP to the one hosting, (192.168.1.55 for my example), and it should work.
If not, then something is blocking it on their end, most likely firewall or some AV programs or misconfigured router.
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊 contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.
User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 2411
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 02:07

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby wayward4now » 01 Feb 2015, 21:48

Maybe Win7 doesn't like the idea that you are "serving" anything without a server edition? That's the reason I switched to Linux LONG ago. No a*** license requirements.
User avatar
wayward4now
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 22 Apr 2007, 09:40

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby oOoRE DARKoOo » 29 May 2015, 19:38

io ho provato ha fare tutte le prove di questo mondo, ma nonostante ciò lo stesso non riesco ad abilitare le porte per poter ospitare una partita, il modem che utilizzo è un TP-LINK per favore qualcuno mi aiuti
oOoRE DARKoOo
New user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 May 2015, 18:34

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby vexed » 08 Jun 2015, 03:44

Sorry, don't understand the translation.
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊 contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.
User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 2411
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 02:07

Re: Dreaded Port 2100 topic

Postby himanshu » 06 Aug 2017, 10:28

Drosera wrote:From the sounds of things, this problems comes up quite a bit. Sorry to be yet another in a long line of the same.

My husband and I are trying to set up the game to play together. Both on desktop PC's, Windows 7, connected through a router. I'm trying to host the game, and I get the 'port 2100 not connected' error. We are using a Linksys router, and I believe I have set it up properly ( 192.168.1.my number, 2100 for both internal and external ports, udp and tcp selected, and even the checkbox at the end of the line is ticked) I have set this up both on Single Port Forwarding and Port Range forwarding. And for the sake of debugging, I have turned the windows Firewall off altogether.

Still the error message occurs.

Have I done alright so far? Have I missed anything?

Thanks in advance. :)

Can you help me

Helping
himanshu
New user
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Aug 2017, 18:35


Return to Technical Help / Troubleshooting

cron