impossible to play game too slow.

Do you need help? Ask here!

Bug reporting belongs here: http://developer.wz2100.net/newticket
Post Reply
andersonaaj
Greenhorn
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2011, 02:27

impossible to play game too slow.

Post by andersonaaj » 23 Mar 2013, 23:10

impossible to play my game is very slow after a while becomes increasingly slower and this only ever happens in version 3.1
someone help me solve this?

my computer and

Process AMD Athlon II X2 220
2GB MM Ram
Video Gforce 9500Gt ddr2 drivens updated

Originway
Trained
Trained
Posts: 412
Joined: 08 Aug 2012, 06:22

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by Originway » 23 Mar 2013, 23:13

viewtopic.php?f=48&t=10722
what speed is 220?

andersonaaj
Greenhorn
Posts: 6
Joined: 27 Jan 2011, 02:27

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by andersonaaj » 24 Mar 2013, 17:55

the processor speed and this
2800 MHz
533 MHz Memory controller
2000 MHz 16-bit

User avatar
effigy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1217
Joined: 22 Jan 2010, 03:21
Contact:

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by effigy » 24 Mar 2013, 19:51

Originway wrote:viewtopic.php?f=48&t=10722
what speed is 220?
andersonaaj, try the T4 version in this link. I assume you are on Windows?
This is why some features aren't implemented: http://forums.wz2100.net/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=7490&view=unread#p87241

bulrush
Trained
Trained
Posts: 32
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 18:03

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by bulrush » 30 Mar 2013, 01:27

I'm also having occasional problems with Warzone 3.1.0 getting slower and locking up. My disk light isn't going so it's probably not my virus scanner. Config:
  • Gateway GT5056 PC from 2006
  • AMD Dual Athlon at 2000mhz each cpu
  • Onboard Geforce 6100 graphics card overridden with new Geforce 8600gt card with 256mb ram
  • 3GB system ram
  • WinXP SP3 5.1.26
After I let it go for 5-10 minutes I get this error: "Exception Handler failed with error 1400: Invalid window handle." This error shows up on the windows desktop with Warzone minimized to an icon. When I click the OK button, Warzone closes.

Also, after I got this error today I blew the dust out of my case. I do this about once a year so we'll see if this was related to heat buildup. However, for older programs like Call of Duty 1 I did have to start the game, then disable 1 cpu.

I never had this problem with 3.1RC3.

User avatar
aubergine
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3459
Joined: 10 Oct 2010, 00:58
Contact:

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by aubergine » 30 Mar 2013, 01:45

@bulrush - try the T4 release from this page to see if that fixes the problem: viewtopic.php?f=48&t=10722

@mods/admins: Would it be worth posting in the announcements forum about the test releases for people who are having problems with 3.1.0?
"Dedicated to discovering Warzone artefacts, and sharing them freely for the benefit of the community."
-- https://warzone.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GO

User avatar
Ezio
Trained
Trained
Posts: 305
Joined: 24 Apr 2010, 16:42

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by Ezio » 30 Mar 2013, 05:00

bulrush wrote: ...

WinXP SP3 5.1.26

...
viewtopic.php?t=8002 same problem with same OS, i'll try to look if there is problem with window creation code, AFAIK we use SDL to create game window.
Image
Please Read FAQ, Dev Wiki and Search forum for same post before posting

bulrush
Trained
Trained
Posts: 32
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 18:03

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by bulrush » 30 Mar 2013, 11:43

Does the game otherwise run fine on AMD CPUs with mutiple cores? Because back in 2006 when I got my PC, this was an issue with many games like Call of Duty 1. I had to download a Microsoft Windows patch to turn off one CPU while playing COD1.

bulrush
Trained
Trained
Posts: 32
Joined: 18 Nov 2012, 18:03

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by bulrush » 30 Mar 2013, 15:15

I'm checking back in. After I blew the dust out of my computer (air intake vent was 80% plugged and fan was running constantly even in the winter), I played a 1 hr game with Warzone 3.1.0. Everything worked fine. I suspect in my case it was an overheating issue.

Oh yes, in the process of blowing out my case, the computer was rebooted. I'm one of those guys that leaves the PC on for weeks at a time and just puts it into sleep mode at night. I really need to reboot every Friday. :)

I have not tried the T4 build yet, as this issue seems solved, for me anyway.

User avatar
effigy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1217
Joined: 22 Jan 2010, 03:21
Contact:

Re: impossible to play game too slow.

Post by effigy » 30 Mar 2013, 15:55

aubergine wrote:@bulrush - try the T4 release from this page to see if that fixes the problem: viewtopic.php?f=48&t=10722

@mods/admins: Would it be worth posting in the announcements forum about the test releases for people who are having problems with 3.1.0?
It's already stickied, but I agree. That, or place it in the Announcements subforum so that it's even more noticeable.
This is why some features aren't implemented: http://forums.wz2100.net/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=7490&view=unread#p87241

Post Reply