Finally, I uploaded a model for WZ2100!

Improving the artwork in Warzone2100 - not for mod discussions

Re: Finally, I uploaded a model for WZ2100!

Postby MaNGusT » 06 Feb 2010, 15:25

Zarel wrote:PNG supports layers, though they normally aren't used.

You are wrong. It has 1 layer only!
Olrox wrote:Tga doesn't support layers as wel

Yes, I'm wrong.

Also I know that .dds format is very popular in games. It was created for the DirectX but can be used in OpenGL too.
Image
User avatar
MaNGusT
Art contributor
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 22 Sep 2006, 10:31
Location: Polar region, Russia

Re: Finally, I uploaded a model for WZ2100!

Postby Mysteryem » 06 Feb 2010, 15:35

MaNGusT wrote:
Zarel wrote:PNG supports layers, though they normally aren't used.

You are wrong. It has 1 layer only!

Nope, Zarel is right. If you use Adobe Fireworks you can create layers and all sorts of other things with the .png format.

Screenshot from inside Adobe Fireworks CS4:
Image
"...If pure awesomeness were bricks, this would be the Great Wall of China...
The glory of this has collapsed on its self so far, that even the neutrons have collapsed."
User avatar
Mysteryem
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 728
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 19:44
Location: UK

Re: Finally, I uploaded a model for WZ2100!

Postby Olrox » 06 Feb 2010, 15:38

@Mysteryem: That's nice, I didn't know that! ow I like .png even more :rolleyes:

Hmmm, yes.
But it's too bad DDS is complicated to work with (needs to be converted all the time and opens in a few softwares). I remember that Mount & Blade (one of the most moddable games I've ever seen) uses .dds textures, they seemed OK, can't remember the file size.

But oh, well, this is getting off-topic, I'll do my part and go make some textures :cool:
User avatar
Olrox
Art contributor
 
Posts: 1999
Joined: 03 Jul 2007, 19:10

Re: Finally, I uploaded a model for WZ2100!

Postby MaNGusT » 06 Feb 2010, 15:53

Mysteryem wrote:Nope, Zarel is right. If you use Adobe Fireworks you can create layers and all sorts of other things with the .png format.

when photoshop saves in png format, it merges all layers... :-S
Image
User avatar
MaNGusT
Art contributor
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 22 Sep 2006, 10:31
Location: Polar region, Russia

Re: Finally, I uploaded a model for WZ2100!

Postby MaNGusT » 06 Feb 2010, 15:59

Olrox wrote:But it's too bad DDS is complicated to work with (needs to be converted all the time and opens in a few softwares).

There are many plug-ins on the Internet, and for photoshop too. :)
Image
User avatar
MaNGusT
Art contributor
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 22 Sep 2006, 10:31
Location: Polar region, Russia

Re: Finally, I uploaded a model for WZ2100!

Postby Mauricio Yaman Yusuf » 23 Nov 2016, 18:08

I know it's a very old topic but I'm learning about it and anything I can learn from what you write is valuable

What is the size of the model, for example if I made the model in SketchUp to what proportions corresponds?

Or if you model it in BLENDER that there is difference?
User avatar
Mauricio Yaman Yusuf
Greenhorn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Jan 2015, 10:41
Location: México City

Re: Finally, I uploaded a model for WZ2100!

Postby Jorzi » 26 Dec 2016, 20:55

Hi mauricio, every program has its own scaling convention and it's own exporters, but in WMIT, a distance of 256 equals one in-game square. Blender's default .obj exporter has a 1:1 scaling from blender units to the unit-less coordinates of the .obj format. Usually I work in 1/10 scale in blender since it's more practical that way, then I just scale it up by 10 in WMIT.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-
Jorzi
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Previous

Return to Artwork