Page 1 of 1

Updating the models removing alpha

Posted: 11 Mar 2018, 02:20
by Berg
The idea is to convert the models to remove the need for alpha this means the models need updating
Any help will be nice.
here is my first attempt at the HQ it ment adding poly count and it is rather high
wz2100-20180311_105215-Sk-Rush.png
updated HQ
We need to have the poly looking good but the count kept low maybe having just 2 faces like the old method was but each real part drawn

Re: Updating the models removing alpha

Posted: 11 Mar 2018, 02:49
by Berg
hq.png
hq.png (392.43 KiB) Viewed 1030 times
do note how the ortiginal was a flat 2 sided poly with texture on each side im not sure if you can make a flat 2 side piece by piece

Re: Updating the models removing alpha

Posted: 12 Mar 2018, 13:18
by MaNGusT
alpha channel was always a good way to save some tris count in any game. Don't see a reason to not use it in places where it really saves high amount of tris.

Re: Updating the models removing alpha

Posted: 12 Mar 2018, 19:24
by Per
It is a current engine limitation. You can have shadows OR you can have alpha. (Yes, this is really stupid. We need to change the shadow drawing implementation. But I doubt that will happen before the forthcoming release.)