The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the videos .

Improving the artwork in Warzone2100 - not for mod discussions

Pie to skp is the goal.

Postby trevormanaze » 20 Nov 2015, 07:59

There are currently 73 extension's for skp.
73 ways to port into a universal animation format that has millions of 3d models.

Can we utilize at least one? Pie to skp is the goal.

http://extensions.sketchup.com/en/searc ... egory%3A33
Last edited by Cyp on 20 Nov 2015, 09:09, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Make entire link clickable.
trevormanaze
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Nov 2015, 04:21

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby Jorzi » 20 Nov 2015, 09:51

You told me in the pm that iClone can import .obj, .3ds and .skp
https://copy.com/emU3EfwGetMxLo6x <= There's all my models in .obj format. I use that format to export to .pie from WMIT so they were readily available.
Really, if .obj and .3ds works, why would you want .skp files?
Almost every 3d software can convert to .obj and .3ds, while .skp is not very supported.
The .zip doesn't contain any textures, you will have to get those from the other .zip, or you can get them here.
Also, get WMIT, it's much better than pie slicer.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-
Jorzi
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Warzone2100 iclone cut-scene 3d model success.

Postby trevormanaze » 21 Nov 2015, 01:20

Im seeing almost all of your warzone2100 3d models are now working in iclone. ".pie to .iclone " pie + .iclone .
1. 100$ Successful integration of .iclone and .obj !!!
2. Warzone2100 + iclone are now successfully combined.
3. Warzone2100 Cut-scene videos are now on the way..! :augh:
4. Warzone2100 new cut-scene's will be available as soon as I figure out the following last tasks:


3dxchange5 is only allowing me to paint the object one texture. Also I "blend multiple .imtl into still a single image looks a little better".

I need to find the setting inside 3dxchange5 to allow me to edit the .obj to paint all sides of the building,

For instance: All the original textures need to be cropped out of .bmp and added to each model ( takes 5 minutes or so each one). The hut has 4 sides and a roof. Painting them all a single color is working too fast, and not part of the true recreation process. (more to follow on that side of things).

Pictures will be soon, once I have something thats cool enough to post.
trevormanaze
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Nov 2015, 04:21

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby trevormanaze » 22 Nov 2015, 15:53

update:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-koHAjT5Enw

Heres a video where I was messing around with satmap size along with 3d model's and the palm tree.

What are the acceptable upload file types for video uploading?

pictures soon
trevormanaze
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Nov 2015, 04:21

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby vexed » 26 Nov 2015, 09:34

You can't upload video files here, if that is what you are asking?
As for your sample, it is a good start, but, lots of content and overall direction wasn't included, so hard to comment more about it.
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊 contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.
User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 2385
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 02:07

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby trevormanaze » 04 Dec 2015, 15:57

warzone bunker finished.jpg
warzone bunker finished.jpg (50.44 KiB) Viewed 3391 times


This is the final version of the regular bunker. I can fix height later, this one is movie ready.
trevormanaze
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Nov 2015, 04:21

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby Jorzi » 07 Dec 2015, 08:54

Hi
The deep base is a feature. That way you can put it on uneven terrain and it will still look good.
Also please multiply the AO and color maps in an image editor.
If you want a specific RGB for your teamcolor, I could do that for you.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-
Jorzi
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby Berg » 08 Dec 2015, 02:26

trevormanaze wrote:This is the final version of the regular bunker. I can fix height later, this one is movie ready.

What format is that model using?
I see that the bunker slots are not #000000 this will show as not being a hole in the cement.
Just curious.

Please upload the texture and the model of that bunker.


PS @jorzi if the deep base is a feature where is the model centre below ground level?
PPS This will make it impossible to hit in game ...I know this one is for cut-scene!
User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1811
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby Jorzi » 08 Dec 2015, 20:04

You are right Berg. I had this problem and thus I had to cut off the deep base for the ingame version. I still think it's a bit problematic that the graphics should impact the targeting and thus also the game balance.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-
Jorzi
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby stiv » 08 Dec 2015, 21:52

Interesting, Jorzi. Random thought: I'm not sure (yet!) how we do targeting. Are we using the bounding box of the target or a specific center point? If it is the latter, maybe we could add a fake connector to the models to designate the center.
stiv
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
 
Posts: 876
Joined: 18 Jul 2008, 04:41
Location: 45N 86W

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby Jorzi » 08 Dec 2015, 23:14

I think to guarantee balance we would need some way to define graphics-independent hitbox rules for all ingame items.
I think I also had the problem that mg towers were slightly different height and could no longer fire over walls etc.
ImageImage
-insert deep philosophical statement here-
Jorzi
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1944
Joined: 11 Apr 2010, 00:14

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby cybersphinx » 08 Dec 2015, 23:21

Maybe the game should have a set of models that are used for engine calculations (balance) in addition to those used on screen. At the moment, someone with e.g. the artrev models playing against someone without them doesn't work either I guess (could that be the reason for the desyncs people are seeing?).
We want information... information... information.
cybersphinx
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 1660
Joined: 01 Sep 2006, 19:17

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby trevormanaze » 09 Dec 2015, 06:38

This adding texures to obj files is very difficult for me.
Can you guys send me OBJ files that are texured please.

I process .obj files and .3ds .fbx .skp very easily that come pretexured.

If u guys that are model makers can send me those file types that are pre-texured,

I can actualy get started on the actual process of turning things into a cutscene. :?:
Attachments
heavy cannon.jpg
heavy cannon.jpg (23.71 KiB) Viewed 3299 times
Last edited by trevormanaze on 09 Dec 2015, 07:05, edited 1 time in total.
trevormanaze
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Nov 2015, 04:21

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby trevormanaze » 09 Dec 2015, 07:00

Berg wrote:! can convert models to object format but im not sure what you wona do with them please show example work?


may I please have your email. Send me an instant message of your e-mail please.
trevormanaze
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 60
Joined: 18 Nov 2015, 04:21

Re: The Animator cut-scene thread. Post Here about the video

Postby stiv » 09 Dec 2015, 08:48

If I were me, I would grab some of the Art Revolution models and start working with them for the animations. They are quite pretty. A little heavy for the game itself, perhaps, but they would look great animated. Jorzi is your friend.

If you use Empties or Proxies (or whatever your animation system calls them), you can easily swap out models.
stiv
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
 
Posts: 876
Joined: 18 Jul 2008, 04:41
Location: 45N 86W

PreviousNext

Return to Artwork

cron