Research tree editor

For code related discussions and questions
winsrp
Trained
Trained

Research tree editor

Post by winsrp »

Is there a program to be used to modify the research tree without having to go thru all the txt files that most of them are not even explained in the guide.??

Something like drag and drop maybe?

I was looking into the mp.wz\stats\research\multiplayer and man... i don't get crap of it.

Now for the ones thinking... heck stop complaining and do something about it, then here it goes, I'm a windows application developer on .net 2008, and I CAN make a program that visually modifies the research tree, research topics, names for upgrades, stats, and all that stuff, IF i can get details information on how all those files actually work together. I'm more than willing to help the devs and every other modder out there to help create a tool that will enhance the experience of modifying upgrades and the research tree, which in the end will make adding new buildings, units, upgrades a walk in the park.... so 2 condition on me working on this

#1 need someone that really know what the heck is he doing to help out here since I'm not going to waste time trying to figure out all the files since there might be lost of guys out here that already know.
#2 need some voluntaries to actually test the app for errors, which can get to screw up your files, so user with files back up experience is preferred since I wont take any blame on screwing up your game

I will make this tool free of charge, free of distribution and free of what ever can be free.

If you want this to be more graphical I can even import the images from the bmp or what ever format they are files, to have researches look the way they look in the game, or as similar as possible to help on the graphical part of the tool. I know that maybe a drag and drop thing might be a little to complex, but maybe an easier assignment of pre-requirements and post-requirements would ease everyones life here.