Warzone 2100 vulkan build

For code related discussions and questions

Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Vincent » 01 Oct 2017, 21:15

Hi,

I'm generating build of my vulkan branch on appveyor (for Windows only atm) so that people can test it.
There are know bug and limitation:
  • VSync is always on.
  • Anisotropic filtering is always enabled (at 16x) as well as trilinear filtering.
  • No MSAA (I'm planning to implement post processing so I'm likely to leave it unimplemented before PP in order not to write a code that will disappear later.
  • There is a crash when leaving warzone 2100 if console text has been printed (WzText destructor is not called when wz is closed)
  • Some tooltip are replaced by a black box.

I'm interested in report about crashes and visual glitches I didn't spot.
To run the build you'll need qt5 and qtscript installed and accessible from your path (I need to include the dlls in the cmake based installer) and vulkan sdk (so that the debug layer is enabled).
Performance wise the debug layer is crippling fps so don't expect good numbers.

Here is the link :

https://ci.appveyor.com/project/vlj/war ... /artifacts
Vincent
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 06 Aug 2016, 17:24

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Vincent » 01 Oct 2017, 21:24

BTW GL is disabled in this build so wz2100 can launch, it will use Vulkan.
Vincent
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 06 Aug 2016, 17:24

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Vincent » 07 Oct 2017, 13:27

Current build includes Qt5 libs now.
Vincent
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 06 Aug 2016, 17:24

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby MaNGusT » 08 Oct 2017, 12:43

Still asks for it.
Image
Image
User avatar
MaNGusT
Art contributor
 
Posts: 945
Joined: 22 Sep 2006, 10:31
Location: Polar region, Russia

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Vincent » 08 Oct 2017, 19:48

oops sorry, forgot the plugin, should be fixed now
Vincent
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 06 Aug 2016, 17:24

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby xShadow421x » 11 Oct 2017, 21:54

Greetings,

So far I have noticed various images/icons are blacked out.
For example, the incompatible version icon seen in the mp lobby I've marked with red arrows: Image
Additional examples in this spoiler tag:
Spoiler:

Other than that, everything else in the menus appear OK and functions as expected. Although, if the game itself is supposed to be able to run, it crashes for me; so I haven't been able to test anything else.
These are the only errors in the terminal and the logs don't provide anything else: Image
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
xShadow421x
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 13 Apr 2013, 17:22
Location: Earth

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Vincent » 12 Oct 2017, 21:47

Both issues should be fixed. BTW to run Vulkan you need to pass the --vulkan flag now otherwise GL is used.
Vincent
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 06 Aug 2016, 17:24

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Vincent » 15 Oct 2017, 22:14

I think I fixed all gfx issues I found in the vulkan backend (I could play several campaign mission on Intel HD), more testing appreciated.
Vincent
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 06 Aug 2016, 17:24

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby xShadow421x » 17 Oct 2017, 05:11

Most if not everything so far looks normal and I haven't noticed any major issues or crashed yet, so good work so far.
I've only really found a couple minor things, but I'm not sure if it's related to vulkan. Just in case it is or if you're curious, when I loaded a new game/mission, the images used as backdrops tend to disappear to black and reappear during the loading phases. Also anything that uses a sprite animation goes through the frames slower than usual (things like explosions, smoke, the steam on top of the factory, etc). Another minor detail, which you can see it in the second image below; the progress bars overlap the research/manufacturing timers. That's about it until I have time to look at it more, but there doesn't seem to be any glaring issues.

One thing though, I played a skirmish game and noticed a weird glitch that makes all the 3D objects in the menus disappear like this:
Image Image.
Unfortunately I can't figure out a reliable way to reproduce that, so I don't yet know if it happens on its own or if I'm causing it. Everything returns to normal after about a minute if I close the menus though.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
xShadow421x
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 13 Apr 2013, 17:22
Location: Earth

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Terminator » 17 Oct 2017, 20:17

Black decals or terrain textures & flickering building platforms.
And savegame doesn't work
Attachments
wz2100-20171016_204005-Sk-BeggarsKanyon-T3.jpg
Death is the only way out... sh*t Happens !

Russian-speaking Social network Group http://vk.com/warzone2100
User avatar
Terminator
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: 05 Aug 2006, 13:46
Location: Ukraine

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Vincent » 17 Oct 2017, 22:18

Was there a regression concerning savegame lately ?
Vincent
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 06 Aug 2016, 17:24

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby moltengear » 18 Oct 2017, 01:39

Terminator wrote:Black decals or terrain textures & flickering building platforms.
And savegame doesn't work


The call to render these terrain textures is in the src/texture.cpp.

There is another long-standing rendering error.
I'm studying the source. I can't understand what happened to the shadows on the objects.
I see only the shadows cast from the objects on the landscape. Everything was fine in version 3.1.5.
moltengear
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 22 Jul 2017, 15:05

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Vincent » 18 Oct 2017, 06:29

It's an issue in rendering order, shadow are rendered before objects and not terrain.
Vincent
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 06 Aug 2016, 17:24

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby xShadow421x » 18 Oct 2017, 21:21

Terminator wrote:Black decals or terrain textures & flickering building platforms...

Are you running the game with Vulkan or the default GL? I don't see stuff like that unless I run the game without Vulkan enabled.
ImageImageImageImage
User avatar
xShadow421x
Rookie
Rookie
 
Posts: 26
Joined: 13 Apr 2013, 17:22
Location: Earth

Re: Warzone 2100 vulkan build

Postby Terminator » 18 Oct 2017, 22:44

xShadow421x wrote:Are you running the game with Vulkan or the default GL? I don't see stuff like that unless I run the game without Vulkan enabled.


Man you are right. I'm noob, have forgot to add --vulkan to shortcut. Visualy, fine, but a little noticed,
1) if zoom camera too close to terrain, in menus all models in these are disappears.
2) progress bars hovering a remaining time.
less relevant * 3) in horizon line when moving camera - gliching artifacts.

upd: saves dont work at all. On openGL backend - I've saved the game, but on vulkan I cant do that at all. Loading game dont work on both.
Attachments
warzone2100.mdmp.zip
(13.34 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Death is the only way out... sh*t Happens !

Russian-speaking Social network Group http://vk.com/warzone2100
User avatar
Terminator
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: 05 Aug 2006, 13:46
Location: Ukraine


Return to Coding