bridges

Ideas and suggestions for how to improve the Warzone 2100 base game only. Ideas for mods go in Mapping/Modding instead. Read sticky posts first!
Post Reply
dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

bridges

Post by dmkp » 13 Jan 2010, 04:20

Was just reading the topic "frequently suggested ideas".

One of the things mentioned was bridges... there is already some code for bridges in the wz source. Why doesn't someone with the know-how work on that?

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: bridges

Post by Zarel » 13 Jan 2010, 05:37

Because no one has the know-how. ;)

If you do, feel free to!

User avatar
lav_coyote25
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3434
Joined: 08 Aug 2006, 23:18

Re: bridges

Post by lav_coyote25 » 13 Jan 2010, 07:09

zarel means we have no one as of yet that can do the coding... we have been looking for same since the warzone 2100 original source was released ( or shortly thereafter...). :)

Fire Truck
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 16
Joined: 23 Dec 2009, 23:49

Re: bridges

Post by Fire Truck » 13 Jan 2010, 07:35

Wait, we have no idea how this game is coded?

User avatar
lav_coyote25
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3434
Joined: 08 Aug 2006, 23:18

Re: bridges

Post by lav_coyote25 » 13 Jan 2010, 07:43

we know how its coded - its just no one has decided to work on the bridges part.... you want to?? :)

dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: bridges

Post by dmkp » 16 Jan 2010, 02:19

I've not got much experience editing games yet. I'm still peeking through the source.

Can't seem to find where it loads the stats? Well I can find that, just not how it finds the files.

Per
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Posts: 3769
Joined: 03 Aug 2006, 19:39

Re: bridges

Post by Per » 16 Jan 2010, 02:48

They are loaded from .wrf files in data/

dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: bridges

Post by dmkp » 16 Jan 2010, 02:53

I meant, the path to the files. Can't find it in the src.

crux
Trained
Trained
Posts: 139
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 03:21

Re: bridges

Post by crux » 16 Jan 2010, 03:45

wrf files are not in the src they are in the data

User avatar
Tenoh
Trained
Trained
Posts: 359
Joined: 18 Nov 2008, 15:06

Re: bridges

Post by Tenoh » 16 Jan 2010, 14:03

If you want bridges why not see how erth 2150 does it? i bet trucks can do it,just like the wall,only a bit differently.
"No, you don't want to buy this Sh[beep]t from me. It shoots sideways, it was built by retard zombies in some f[beep]king outreach program." HL:G

dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: bridges

Post by dmkp » 16 Jan 2010, 14:18

crux wrote:wrf files are not in the src they are in the data

I meant the constants. The directory it uses to locate the files.

Like "\xyz\something.txt"

crux
Trained
Trained
Posts: 139
Joined: 16 Jan 2010, 03:21

Re: bridges

Post by crux » 16 Jan 2010, 20:30

dmkp wrote:
crux wrote:wrf files are not in the src they are in the data

I meant the constants. The directory it uses to locate the files.

Like "\xyz\something.txt"
I don't understand what you mean. data/base/wrf/*.wrf is where most of them are.
Just unzip your .wz file and you should find them.

Assault Gunner
Trained
Trained
Posts: 358
Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 16:40

Re: bridges

Post by Assault Gunner » 16 Jan 2010, 22:28

I wonder how you would limit where they could be placed... though to retain balance they would need to be T2 or T3
"There is no greater Void than the one between your ears." - Void Ray, StarCraft 2.
Especially the Void between the ears of people who think that No VTOL is a good idea, and won't lead to arty wars. I've won one, and I have to say: I hated it.

User avatar
lav_coyote25
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3434
Joined: 08 Aug 2006, 23:18

Re: bridges

Post by lav_coyote25 » 16 Jan 2010, 22:57

Assault Gunner wrote:I wonder how you would limit where they could be placed... though to retain balance they would need to be T2 or T3
limit placement by using cliff tiles - where you think a bridge should go - dont place cliff tiles there. perhaps use blocking features like a car or flipped semi tanker to prevent going over the cliff until bridge is built or build them when in the editor and have them not destructable??? dunno... many ooptions available if / when this comes available. :)

dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: bridges

Post by dmkp » 17 Jan 2010, 04:48

crux wrote: I don't understand what you mean. data/base/wrf/*.wrf is where most of them are.
Just unzip your .wz file and you should find them.

I'm working on the original source.

Post Reply