The future of AI development in gaming and specifically WZ

Other talk that doesn't fit elsewhere.
This is for General Discussion, not General chat.
MIH-XTC
Trained
Trained

The future of AI development in gaming and specifically WZ

Post by MIH-XTC »

Hey all, I came across an interesting video regarding bot development in video games and thought it would be interesting to share since people here can relate to it. (Also because Siraj is a super good video maker). I’m studying machine learning and AI development IRL so at the moment I’m living and breathing this stuff all day. I wanted to tell you guys about what’s coming down the pipe for future AI development in general (not just video games).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGYU5t8MO7s

To summarize the video, there is new AI and machine learning technology available known as “deep” learning that has been around for a few decades but has only been implemented successfully as of 2012 (Geoffrey Hinton) and it’s a real game changer for the future of society. Basically instead of telling an AI or bot to do X, Y, Z based on some sort of conditions, we only tell it what we want (what winning looks like) and then by playing each game it learns from its mistakes and eventually converges to super-human levels.

The reason this learning is termed “deep” is because of how granular the information being analyzed is.

For example, instead of analyzing how many droids our opponent has, we can analyze every single pixel on the entire map which will not only give us how many droids our opponent has but will also tell us everything we need to know.

The way this would be implemented in Warzone would be to analyze every pixel of every frame. Warzone uses ~100MB of memory at any given time so an hour long game @ 30 FPS would be:
1 hour = 3600 seconds

(100x30) X 3600 = 10,800,000 MB’s (10.29 TB’s) which isn’t too bad.