Anyone in the Ashes of the Singularity early access?

Other talk that doesn't fit elsewhere.
This is for General Discussion, not General chat.
Post Reply
User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
Posts: 2538
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 02:07

Anyone in the Ashes of the Singularity early access?

Post by vexed » 30 Nov 2015, 06:40

While this is currently a windows only, Direct X 12 game, they do have plans to port it to Vulkan!
What platforms will Ashes of the Singularity be on?
Windows PC for now, but we are entirely confident that we’ll release Ashes on MacOS, SteamOS, and Linux. Oxide Games is part of the Khronos group, which is developing the next-gen Vulkan graphics API that should be the API of choice on those platforms. This gives us great confidence in getting Ashes and Nitrous running on those platforms in the not-too-distant future.
Image

So, anyone try this early access game yet?
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊 contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.

Per
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Warzone 2100 Team Member
Posts: 3769
Joined: 03 Aug 2006, 19:39

Re: Anyone in the Ashes of the Singularity early access?

Post by Per » 30 Nov 2015, 10:22

If they make a Linux+Vulkan release, I'll pick it up for sure!

User avatar
vexed
Inactive
Inactive
Posts: 2538
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 02:07

Re: Anyone in the Ashes of the Singularity early access?

Post by vexed » 09 Apr 2016, 05:02

They finally released the game (Vulkan coming, but no hard ETA yet), however, this RTS just seems to be a glorified tech demo than an actual RTS game.
The campaign is a joke, there is barely a story, and the units are bland looking, and not enough variety, and no real tech tree to speak of, but they do have "upgrades" available, and no LAN games.

Warzone 2100 still reigns supreme in most of those categories.

It does look nice in terms of battle lights, but, there really isn't much substance at this stage, though, they do have a ton of units, something the WZ enigne will choke on.
Was reading that their map editor needs 32GB+ RAM to make big maps. :shock:
/facepalm ...Grinch stole Warzone🙈🙉🙊 contra principia negantem non est disputandum
Super busy, don't expect a timely reply back.

Post Reply