Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Warzone 2.2.x series. (Unsupported--read only !)

Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby Arreon » 18 Nov 2009, 18:47

This happened immediately after my 2.3 beta download. I know that they are supposed to crash, but come on - to the point to where I can't even play the game?

I click on the building limits button and I get this error message:

[resLoad] Could not open file wrf/limiter_tex.wrf


Here is the contents of my stderr file:

error |04:38:55: [openLoadFile] file wrf/limiter_tex.wrf could not be opened: File not found
error |04:38:55: [openLoadFile] Assert in Warzone: frame.c:310 (!"unable to open file"), last script event: '<none>'
feature |04:38:55: [resLoad] Could not open file wrf/limiter_tex.wrf
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (6 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
User avatar
Arreon
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 324
Joined: 15 Feb 2009, 05:57

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby cybersphinx » 18 Nov 2009, 19:22

Arreon wrote:This happened immediately after my 2.3 beta download. I know that they are supposed to crash, but come on - to the point to where I can't even play the game?
The betas are not supposed to crash, but it can happen - and you can play the game, unless you click the limits button (else we would have noticed earlier). Fixed in r8408, thanks.

To fix it manually, download the two files from the link above and put them into base.wz into the wrf directory.
cybersphinx
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 1666
Joined: 01 Sep 2006, 19:17

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby SagitarriusCZ » 18 Nov 2009, 19:23

I have the same problem, but there are so many problems and i´m getting sick of it. I really like how much work you done on this.
SagitarriusCZ
New user
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 15:46
Location: Czech republic

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby Mysteryem » 18 Nov 2009, 19:26

SagitarriusCZ wrote:I have the same problem, but there are so many problems and i´m getting sick of it. I really like how much work you done on this.

Remember that it is a beta after all, if you want a version which doesn't have as many problems then get the latest stable release.
"...If pure awesomeness were bricks, this would be the Great Wall of China...
The glory of this has collapsed on its self so far, that even the neutrons have collapsed."
User avatar
Mysteryem
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 728
Joined: 22 Sep 2008, 19:44
Location: UK

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby Zarel » 18 Nov 2009, 20:31

SagitarriusCZ wrote:I have the same problem, but there are so many problems and i´m getting sick of it. I really like how much work you done on this.

...lol, these two statements are contradictory. Are you missing a "don't" or a "not" somewhere? ;)
User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby SagitarriusCZ » 18 Nov 2009, 20:49

No, i really like how the game looks, how it works and what changes you made. But the main thing (multiplayer) doesn´t work properly and i´ve got headache everytime it crushed.

Sorry for my English if you´ve got headache too. xD
SagitarriusCZ
New user
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Nov 2009, 15:46
Location: Czech republic

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby cybersphinx » 18 Nov 2009, 21:37

Mysteryem wrote:if you want a version which doesn't have as many problems then get the latest stable release.
Well, if you're satisfied with the stable release, that is. If you want a stable new release, test the betas and report the bugs so we can fix them.
cybersphinx
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 1666
Joined: 01 Sep 2006, 19:17

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby Arreon » 18 Nov 2009, 22:04

cybersphinx wrote:
Arreon wrote:This happened immediately after my 2.3 beta download. I know that they are supposed to crash, but come on - to the point to where I can't even play the game?
The betas are not supposed to crash, but it can happen - and you can play the game, unless you click the limits button (else we would have noticed earlier). Fixed in r8408, thanks.

To fix it manually, download the two files from the link above and put them into base.wz into the wrf directory.


I did that, but now I can't even start the menu.

It said the the game data was lost. Here's what I did.

1: I made a copy of the base.wz file and put it in a folder.

2: I changed the format from .wz to .zip.

3: I extracted everything in the folder.

4: I put the files inside.

5: I rezipped the folder (and lost 1/3 of the data)

6: I changed the file from .zip to .wz.

7: I replaced the original base.wz with my new copy.

8: I tried to play the game, and *Crash*.

I had about 30MB in the original base.wz. My one now has around 20MB.
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (6 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
User avatar
Arreon
Trained
Trained
 
Posts: 324
Joined: 15 Feb 2009, 05:57

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby Berg » 19 Nov 2009, 00:08

I have same error except it crashed on startup.
I was using DYDOG Ai and I understand it limits structures
here is that error

info |07:56:33: [SDL_main] mod_mp (dydo-ai_1.0.2.wz) is enabled
error |07:56:43: [openLoadFile] file wrf/limiter_tex.wrf could not be opened: File not found
error |07:56:43: [openLoadFile] Assert in Warzone: frame.c:310 (!"unable to open file"), last script event: '<none>'
feature |07:56:43: [resLoad] Could not open file wrf/limiter_tex.wrf

So then I placed the 2 files as per instuctions in this thread

It started ok but when I pressed the limits button in single/skirmish I crashed and got this error


info |09:00:32: [SDL_main] mod_mp (dydo-ai_1.0.2.wz) is enabled
error |09:00:40: [res_error] RES file parse error:
syntax error at line 1
Text: '<'
feature |09:00:40: [resLoad] Failed to parse wrf/limiter_tex.wrf

Hope this is helpfull


PS i also got the same error without the mod enabled..
I was just checking

error |09:13:41: [res_error] RES file parse error:
syntax error at line 1
Text: '<'
feature |09:13:41: [resLoad] Failed to parse wrf/limiter_tex.wrf

This happened on pressing limits button
User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1840
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby cybersphinx » 19 Nov 2009, 01:16

Berg wrote:error |09:13:41: [res_error] RES file parse error:
syntax error at line 1
Text: '<'
feature |09:13:41: [resLoad] Failed to parse wrf/limiter_tex.wrf
Sounds like you downloaded the html page, not the file itself. Direct links to the files: http://developer.wz2100.net/export/8408/branches/2.3/data/base/wrf/limiter_data.wrf and http://developer.wz2100.net/export/8408/branches/2.3/data/base/wrf/limiter_tex.wrf.
cybersphinx
Inactive
Inactive
 
Posts: 1666
Joined: 01 Sep 2006, 19:17

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby Berg » 19 Nov 2009, 01:42

Ok Error is gone
Thank you
I edited this post
User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1840
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby Berg » 19 Nov 2009, 02:00

More errors.

info |10:53:04: [SDL_main] mod_mp (dydo-ai_1.0.2.wz) is enabled
error |10:54:07: [strresGetString] Could not find string for id "R-Cyborg-Wpn-Thermite"
error |10:54:07: [strresGetString] Assert in Warzone: strres.c:100 (string), last script event: '<none>'
feature |10:54:07: [allocateName] Unable to find string resource for R-Cyborg-Wpn-Thermite

Maybe I am incorrectly adding files to the base.wz
i open Base.wz with 7zip
extracted all files to a folder
opened wrf and placed the two files there
then I achived all the folder contence and renamed it base.wz

should i uninstall all
and replace it from downloads .Is the windows install updated?
User avatar
Berg
Regular
Regular
 
Posts: 1840
Joined: 02 Sep 2007, 23:25
Location: Australia

Re: Game crashes when I click on Building limits button

Postby Buginator » 21 Nov 2009, 07:45

Beta 2 will be out sometime today...
and it ends here.
User avatar
Buginator
Professional
Professional
 
Posts: 3285
Joined: 04 Nov 2007, 02:20


Return to 2.2.x