Modified Locally?? -Debug??

Warzone 2.2.x series. (Unsupported--read only !)
Locked
3drts
Trained
Trained
Posts: 379
Joined: 01 Aug 2007, 03:50

Modified Locally?? -Debug??

Post by 3drts » 03 May 2009, 01:26

So I tried to play a game with Acidjnk/Truckspin today, 2.2 beta 2, and I couldn't see the game he was hosting.

I am using the mac version, and my version says "Modified Locally" when I start up.

Acidjnk/Truckspin's version says "-Debug"

Is this why I couldn't see his game hosted?
How would we solve this problem?

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Modified Locally?? -Debug??

Post by Zarel » 03 May 2009, 03:16

I believe "modified locally" changes the netcode compatibility settings.

Tell EvilGuru not to modify his copy locally the next time he builds Warzone. :P

User avatar
Buginator
Professional
Professional
Posts: 3285
Joined: 04 Nov 2007, 02:20

Re: Modified Locally?? -Debug??

Post by Buginator » 03 May 2009, 06:38

Zarel wrote:I believe "modified locally" changes the netcode compatibility settings.

Tell EvilGuru not to modify his copy locally the next time he builds Warzone. :P
O_o

How do you come up with that? All that means is that EvilGuru changed something in his local copy.
I highly doubt he would touch anything to do with the netcode, or anything else besides perhaps version strings for the build, or something in that nature.

As for the issue at hand:
3drts wrote:So I tried to play a game with Acidjnk/Truckspin today, 2.2 beta 2, and I couldn't see the game he was hosting.

I am using the mac version, and my version says "Modified Locally" when I start up.

Acidjnk/Truckspin's version says "-Debug"

Is this why I couldn't see his game hosted?
How would we solve this problem?
Did you read viewtopic.php?f=28&t=2925 ?
You don't really give enough information.
If you got a connection error, then the fault is with you or your ISP or network issues.
If you got 'no games available' then the fault is with the host, and if you check the above thread, it tells you if the game is seen by others or not.
If you got something else, then... I have no idea.
and it ends here.

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Modified Locally?? -Debug??

Post by Zarel » 03 May 2009, 08:02

Buginator wrote: O_o

How do you come up with that? All that means is that EvilGuru changed something in his local copy.
I highly doubt he would touch anything to do with the netcode, or anything else besides perhaps version strings for the build, or something in that nature.
Well, it's usually not a good idea to change a local copy for what should be a release version.

That said, 2.2 is netcode-incompatible with my locally modified version of trunk, so I thought it was because "locally modified" set a different netcode version.

Locked