Stats path

Warzone 1.x series. (Aka retail version) (Unsupported!)
Post Reply
dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Stats path

Post by dmkp » 18 Jan 2010, 23:54

I'm editing the stats in the game using the Pumkpin database. I've added a new version of Lancer.


When I go to load up a game, it says that it is missing the string resource for this weapon. So I was wondering if someone could tell me where abouts in the wz source code it stores the path to the stats files when loading them, so I can work out where to put this string resource.


Thanks.

KukY
Regular
Regular
Posts: 1859
Joined: 20 Mar 2009, 21:56

Re: Stats path

Post by KukY » 19 Jan 2010, 00:08

dmkp wrote:I'm editing the stats in the game using the Pumkpin database. I've added a new version of Lancer.


When I go to load up a game, it says that it is missing the string resource for this weapon. So I was wondering if someone could tell me where abouts in the wz source code it stores the path to the stats files when loading them, so I can work out where to put this string resource.


Thanks.
That new weapon hasn't got name.
Look at names.txt.

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Stats path

Post by Zarel » 19 Jan 2010, 00:41

To be exact, look at messages/strings/names.txt

dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Stats path

Post by dmkp » 19 Jan 2010, 01:12

Ah yeah. Found it now..


Can you tell me where in the wz src it stores these paths? I'd like to rearrange them a bit.

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Stats path

Post by Zarel » 19 Jan 2010, 02:19

wrf/stats.wrf, I think.

dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Stats path

Post by dmkp » 19 Jan 2010, 04:02

Oh right.. that's different. Like a bunch of config files.


How does it locate "stats.wrf" then? I can't see anywhere in the source code where it explicitly defines a path to this file.

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Stats path

Post by Zarel » 19 Jan 2010, 04:33

I don't know. That's about as far as I traced the data loading code before giving up in disgust. ;)

dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Stats path

Post by dmkp » 19 Jan 2010, 19:37

I see :p



I did notice it used the windows file finding functions. I guess it relies on the fact the current directory is by default where the exe is. So they didn't need to tell it a path?

User avatar
Zarel
Elite
Elite
Posts: 5770
Joined: 03 Jan 2008, 23:35
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: Stats path

Post by Zarel » 19 Jan 2010, 19:52

Well, it uses PhysFS. I'm pretty sure it uses few direct file read/write functions.

dmkp
Trained
Trained
Posts: 182
Joined: 08 Jan 2010, 20:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Stats path

Post by dmkp » 19 Jan 2010, 20:48

What's physFS?

I was talking about the original src anyway.

Post Reply